Why I Prefer Buying Second Hand Mobile Phones

39 69
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Phone, Buying, Spending, Money

Most of you probably buy your brand new mobile phones in the mall or physical store because it's safer and you are assured that you are purchasing an authentic version of the phone you want to buy.

Meanwhile, I, on the other hand, prefer to purchase second-hand mobile phones for a very obvious reason, and that is to save myself some money because second-hand mobile phones are actually sold at a cheaper price compared to when you buy them in the mall or store.

I was around 16 years old when I first purchased a second-hand phone, and that was Samsung Galaxy J5 2016. During that time, a brand-new one can be bought in the mall or store at approximately 11,990 pesos ($230). It was my dream phone but because I was just a poor gal, I opted to look for ways where I could buy it at a cheaper price. So I searched it up on Facebook and looked if there were second-hand units that are up for sale. And I found one that was being sold at around 7,000 pesos ($134) and I thought I could save a pretty amount if I buy it. So I meet up with the seller and bought the mobile phone. I used it for almost 2 years and the phone is still functional today, so it's been serving its purpose for 6 years now.

Then before I graduated from Senior High School last March 2018, I decided to upgrade my phone and buy Oppo F5 since Oppo phones were really popular at that time. I told myself that I need a better phone with better specifications for me to use in college. The Oppo F5 was sold at an official price of around 15,990 pesos ($305) and because I'm really just a poor girl, I looked it up on Facebook again to see some second-hand units, and I found one that is up for sale for only 11,300 pesos ($216), which was just as good as the brand new one. So I bought it and it's still functional today but I'm not using it anymore so I'm planning to sell it too.

And when I was in my second year in college around July 2019, I wanted to buy a backup phone for me to use on my travel to Sagada and because I'm really quite frugal, I decided to buy a discounted brand new phone from an online seller instead of buying it directly from the mall to save money again. So instead of buying it at an official price of 6,990 pesos ($134), I only bought it for 6,500 pesos ($124), so I saved around 500 pesos ($10) for this purchase. The mobile phone is still functional but I lent it to my friend when her phone was defective. And after months that she uses it, I decided to just sell it to her but up until now, it's still not yet fully paid so I guess I'll just forget about it. Lols!

And the last second-hand mobile phone that I bought almost 2 years ago, around July 2020, is the phone that I'm currently using, which is the Oppo A9 2020. I wanted to buy this phone because of its specification and it was good to use for my online classes. The original price of it for a brand new unit is about 15,990 pesos ($305) and had a price drop after a couple of months that became 13,990 pesos ($267). Meanwhile, I bought mine for only 9,000 pesos ($172) as it was on a rush sale. I even wanted to ask for a discount but the seller refused so I just bought it right away. It's still working perfectly fine and not lagging even after almost 2 years of using it already.

As you can see, I really was able to save a decent amount of money whenever I bought a second-hand mobile phone. I didn't have any problem at all with the phones I bought as they were all in good condition and work just like a brand new one. I prefer to buy second-hand phones because it's cheaper and I don't really like buying a product at a high price when I know that there is an option where I could buy it at an economical price and it functions just the same.

Plus, I put in mind that whenever I'm buying second-hand phones, it's as if I'm also helping the seller, especially if they really need money instantly.

While buying second-hand mobile phones has its own risks as there are times when the seller would trick the buyer, I guess the buyer still has an upper hand as you get to check the phone before you give the payment. Well, being broke and frugal that I am, I really prefer to buy second-hand mobile phones.

Cheers to being frugal in buying a phone!

14
$ 5.54
$ 5.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kingofreview
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 7
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Phone, Buying, Spending, Money

Comments

Grabe mukang okay sayo mga second hand no? As long as working at no issue okay lang yan dzai. Ako naman ung laptop ko nabili ko lang ng 9k sa isang page sa facebook, good thing napaak honest din ng seller at up to this day nagagamit ko opa sya maayos.

I believe nasa tamang pag iingat din iyan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang mura naman nung 9K. Haha! Naghahanap nga din ako ng laptop pero nasa 15K kasi, di ko pa afford. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Check mo Leo Commerce super worth it ng mga laptop nila doon. Kung magalinh ka yumingin ng spec eh di ka magogoyo ng ibang seller sa totoo lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madami na talaga bumibili Ng mga second hand phones Ngayon kagaya Ng mga iphones mas mahal Kasi kapag sa Icenter wlaa ka na ding makikitang Iphone 5s sa Icenter puro na latest kaso Ang bigat sa bulsa

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Karamihan sa mga second hand na Iphones po defective or pangit na ung battery niya kaya di din maganda bilhin. Kung bibili ng Iphone, bili nalang ng brand new kung afford naman. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda talagang bumili ng mga second hand phones since makakatipid ka talaga ng malaki pero sometimes yung iba kasing nagbebenta hindi sinasabi yung mga defects ng mobile phones. That's why I chose to buy in the physical stores or in the malls para talagang sure yung gadget na mapupunta sayo plus may warranty pa.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May mga sellers din kasi na mapanlinlang kaya dapat wise ka at hindi magpapaloko kung second-hand ang bibilhin mo. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Prefer ko din to sis ano kasi kung every year din namn nagrerelease ng mga bagong version ng phone eh edi mas okay na 2nd hand na lang tyaka di talaga ko mainvest sa mga new mobile gadgets parang sayang kasi same din namn na gumagana eh haha pero isang beses pa lang ako nakabili ng second hand haha panlaro lang dati.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Tsaka mabilis magsawa mga tao sa phones. Ung iba, 4-5 months lang, ibebenta na agad sa murang presyo eh. Kaya mas sulit din un kesa bumili ng bago. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's certainly a good idea to save costs wherever possible. However you need to be especially carefully when purchasing second hand mobile phones because of the associated security risks that could be attached such as the device being used in committing a crime or it being a stolen one. Hence it will be better to Only get such devices from sources with a track record of only selling devices obtained legitimately.

$ 0.01
User's avatar M3i
2 years ago

Of course. Ehe! Be wise enough and don't get fooled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have tried to buy a second hand iphone,and I'm very unlucky because it was already having a bad battery performance,it will easily get low bat and even drained,that's why I decided not to used it .pero makabili ulit ako this year and it only last for 1 month,it's so sad,another iphone again,but it was not charging already,so i just put it on a tray and it's not usable anymore.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. That's why I don't like second-hand iPhones at all because they have that kind of issue. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it a coincidence πŸ™„ the first phone I bought is j5 and then 2nd it was oppo f5 πŸ˜† but my 3rd mobile phone is oppo f19

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! It's a coincidence. I switched from F series to A series tho. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natatakot ako ate bumili sa marketplace ng phones🀣 pero sa shopee bumili ako haha para sure saka safe. Nakatipid lang naman ako ng slight sa cashback haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bibili din sana ako sa Shopee kaso ayoko magcheck out dun. Iniiwasan ko un eh. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love your mindset sis. Ngayon ko lang nakita advantages when we chose to buy secondhand phones.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Basta wise ka lang sa pagpili, maganda talaga bumili ng second hand phones. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako dindati mga second hand phone lang ako kasi may kakilala akong nagbebenta ng phone or nagpapa swap ,ang mahal kasi pag brandnew at ito lang na phone ko ang brandnew kong binili using my bch earnings ,medyo natatakot ako pag hindi ko kilala ang nagbebenta baka ilang days ko lang pwedeng magamit . Good thing na magaganda yung nabili mong secondhand phones sis.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Sanaol po nakabili na ng brand new phone gamit ang BCH earnings. Anong phone po binili mo?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am kinda scared to buy second hand phone to be honest because it's really hard to find good deals in second hand phone for me in Facebook and in real life. I am also scared because my cousin have a bad experience in buying one. But I am also looking for a good second hand phone overed for us by a friend I want to buy it but I still don't have any money.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Perhaps, your cousin didn't check it first before buying it. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that's what other say to him because he didn't ask for every details about it before buying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pagiging wise nadin yun sis. Well, kung ako man ang nasa situation, go na din ako sa second hand. Pero yun nga madami ring risks talaga. Mga phones na gamit ko, sa physical store ko talaga binibili kasi gusto ko makita talaga, mahawakan ko muna bago talaga ako mag.decide na bumili. As of now, hindi pa ako nakakabili ng bagong phone, pero isa siya sa goal ko this year na makabili. Honestly, madalang lang din ako bumili kasi nga poor gal din ako.. Haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya maiging bumili sa mga kilalang seller talaga kesa sa mga nakita lang out of nowhere. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama ka diyan sis. Pero, ulats muna oka this days kasi walang pambili nang bago.. Tiis muna sa current phone. Ang importante, may magagamit pa. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Till now I have only purchased one second hand phone and it worked fine. But here I can't find a nice deal in second hand phones, clever people here! So I pretty much go for the new ones. Also I prefer the new ones but as long as these things serves their purpose be it new or old it doesn't matter at all to me. As sometimes I buy new phones but some of my cousin with their puppy eyes ask me to try it for days and give their old one , and poof bye bye. Let me use it for one more week. But at last I get my things back haha. Win-win situation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! That's why it's better to buy second-hand phones that are sold in a rush. Lols! Your cousins are wise tho. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Back then I really love buying brand new ones that have all those awesome specs. When I was still in college, I used to ask high end brands for my phone like samsung and sony which are 15k plus. Now, that I am earning and buying my own phone I only use phone that are 10k below hahaha. We can really see the value of money if it's hard-earned personally.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow. College but you can afford 15K+ phones. I bet you're rich. Hahaha! But yeah, we value money when it's us who work hard for it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swerte mo sa mga nabili mo na second hand phone beh kasi di pa sira.. Yun iba kasi eh talagang ilang buwn lang na gamit eh sira na..

Fon ko is oppo f5 til now, binili ko sya nun bagong labas sya, salamat kay home creditπŸ˜‚and until now eh yun pa din ginagamit ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya sa mga babae po ako bumibili kasi mas maingat sila sa phone. Hahaha! Ung F5 ko po, plano ko ng ibenta. Di kasi ginagamit. Hahaha! Pero antagal talaga lifespan ng Oppo. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama, rtong sa akin ilang beses ng humiwalay ang screen eh, dinidikit ko lang ng glue, hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As for me I don't prefer buying second hand phones as they always have one issue of the other on my end,I prefer buying it new so it doesn't come with any fault.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. You should ask if it has issues or not before buying. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, you've been lucky down the years. But many haven't been so...and I happen to know a few of them. I've never bought a second hand phone - I prefer them new.

I can't tell you to do otherwise since you are happy with what you bought and you get extra value from doing so.

What really matters in the products we buy, is consumer satisfaction. New, old, second hand - are all labels.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree with that too. To each their own. Do or buy whatever makes you feel satisfied. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. If the product serves its purpose, then it's a good buy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago