Some Real Friends Are Not Meant to Stay!

34 47
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Friendship

I used to believe that when a "real friend" leaves our lives, that means they were not real in the first place. In other words, they are "fake friends".

To be honest, I don't have a lot of friends at the moment. I choose to keep my circle small. Three to four real ones are more than enough for me. These people who know me and people whom I can always count on are more than enough.

Back in Elementary, I had a circle of friends. There were 6 of us. We were an all-girl group. We were always the ones together. During break time or recess time, during lunch breaks, and during playtime, we were always intact. I thought they were the best kind of people back then. We even had a name for our group which is "the heartbreakers". We were so silly that we call ourselves heartbreakers. If I remember it right, it was because of a slum book that one of our teachers gave to us as an activity.

Then our all-girl group expanded. We welcomed 4 boys into our group. It was during our last 2 years in Elementary that this group was created. We were an almost perfect group back then. We were all doing great in our Academics. In fact, one of the girls graduated as a Valedictorian. I also graduated as a Salutatorian. The other girl was 1st Honorable mention, and some also belonged to the top 10.

Then High School came. Some of the members went to another school. Most of us went to the same school. However, we were not able to keep our group intact. Some of us found a new circle of friends, and some of us stayed together.

During my grade 7 days, I stayed with my original group. From 10, there were only 4 of us left. But we were doing fine. We were also friends with other groups. In grade 8, we joined the other group, so our group became bigger. As months and years pass by, all of my classmates became our friends. Well, there were still a few ones whom we were not easy to befriend because they have their group. And probably, they don't like us.

There were so many dramas back in High School. There were issues where one girl was accused of flirting with another girl's boyfriend. There were also issues that one group is backstabbing another group, or one friend backstabbing another friend. I also had a "best friend" back in Grade 8 who became a stranger because of some sort of misunderstanding.

Of course, these things are normal back in High School. It was just so amazing that even if we had a lot of fights, and misunderstandings, we became stronger over time. We became a huge family.

Then I stepped into College. On my first day, I didn't know anyone. I was quite scared if I will be able to survive my college life without my High School friends near me. I remember, when we were still in High School, we used to plan to live in a single dormitory or rent an apartment so that no one will be away from us. Sadly, some of my friends studied in Manila, some also entered private colleges, and some are studying in the same university like mine, but we never get the chance to see one another because our colleges are very far.

Back in my first year, I found a potential "best friend" during the first day of our classes. We were in the same section, so it was easy to get to know her. We became really good friends until 2nd year. We were always going out to eat. I would always go to her apartment. We would always wait for each other before we go to our classes. We would always talk about anything. We were "best friends".

Then, as days pass by, we met 3 girls from our section who also became our friends. The 5 of us would always find time to spend together. We made happy memories. There were sleepovers and eating out. There were group activities that became our way to bond together.

Sadly, my "best friend" found another group to go with. We became distant that we were not able to save our friendship because she found a new "best friend" in that group.

So there were only 4 of us left. I transferred to their dormitory to be closer to the 2 girls because the other 1 was living in an apartment. My decision was great in the beginning until our closeness and friendship got worse. There were a lot of misunderstandings and silly fights after living with them. We would go for days without talking with each other. The environment was kind of toxic for me.

To cut the story short, I decided to be distant and just stay neutral. Not friends, not enemies, just acquaintances.

It was a hard decision for me but it was what I needed that time to save myself from toxicity.

I have always been that person who can live alone, so it wasn't difficult to adjust.

The bottom line is that some of our real friends are not meant to stay in our lives forever. You see, I believe that I have a few good and real friends from High School to College. But losing them doesn't mean they were fake friends.

Alex Gonzaga says that we meet people in our lives for a season, for a reason, and for a lifetime. Maybe my Elementary friends were only there for a season. Maybe I met my college friends for a reason. And maybe my High School friends are and will always be there for a lifetime.

I am no longer worrying if I outgrow some of my friends and if they outgrow me because I believe that if it is what it's needed for us to be who we are, then we should be thankful that we have shared some good times together.

16
$ 9.51
$ 9.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Friendship

Comments

Honestly lahat Ng nasa paligid ko nung nag aaral pa ako friends ko silang lahat pero walang best friend Kasi mahirap pag nagkalayo kayo masakit sa kalooban na lumayo sya pero mas masakit pa dun Yung tinuring mong Best friend ay sya pang mag tatrayor sa iyo sa pag dating Ng panahon kaya gusto ko friend lang hindi best 👍

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww true din po. Medyo naexperience ko din yan. Kaya mahirap na magtiwala ngayon. Baka sila pa tatraydor sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako very neutral since then hahahaha. Wala ako gaano friends pero lahat naman ng closest friends ko simula non e close ko padin though sometimes dahul nga busy na sa kanya kanyang life e syempre understandable Naman kung minsan nalang magchikahan

$ 0.02
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Aww. Ung mga close ko noon, wala na. Apat nalang natira. 🤣 Pero kapag nagsama-sama kaming lahat uli, parang walang nagbago. Lols! Totoo din po. Kapag busy na sa mga sariling landas eh wala na talagang time sa barkada minsan. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same goes for me, friends will gave us the best and amazing memories, but as we grow older, we begun to live our separate lives but it's okay cause that's life, people come and people go, and to the one that stays thank you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true and that's normal. We should just accept it if people go, and continue to live our lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako na ang dami ding friend noon, pero ngayon wala na ata. Di ko na feel ee. Ako din kasi ang dumistansya sa kanila. Ewan parang iba na kasi talaga. Maigi pa sa virtual world maghanap ng friend mawala man di gaanong masakit

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Same. Ako din dumistansiya dati. Hahaha! Totoo din. Pero minsan, virtual friends pa ang nagtatagal. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga din ee no, maigi pa doon nalang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was just like that before not until they slowly move out of my life. We cannot force people to stay. You will know who are the real ones, those who walked away and they mean to stay. They are the ones that are for keeps.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all have to outgrow each other for us to grow. But those who are for keeps will stay no matter what. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

as I grew older, I realized that for some friends it's better to keep our circle of friends small but true unlike having lots of so-called friends but secretly backstabbing you

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truee. Quality over quantity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I ince had a very close friend but nothing happened and she suddenly didn't call or text me anymore...and when I do she doesn't reply either. Seems she was never real afterall.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. That's sad. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

She used to be my best friend but not anymore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because of this article I reminisced my old friends especially in elementary, they're true friends who was no bad intention of be friend with you but to just have fun and fulfill elementary life

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah. Trueee. Ang saya ng Elementary days because of them. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We dont need a lot of friends, its really hard to find true one nowadays

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True po. Just a few good ones okay na. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't have best friends too, sometimes I felt sad that I don't have one I mean I have friends way back but it became just an acquittance now as we are far from each other and had our own lives. So yeah don't have some in rl rn. Haha but well, I can live with my own so it doesn't matter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I still have some from my main circle naman, but yeah, as long as we can live on our own, it doesn't matter how many friends we have. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sad but true. There are friends came in our lives for a reasons but it's just a temporary only not in a whole life you will be together. Everything has a purpose.

Me too langga. I have a lot of friends too but everything changes. Something we're like strangers now from a very closeness to strangers. It's hurt but we need to accept it since what I've said everything has a purpose why it happens.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. That was the right term, "Temporary". Hihi And I agree, everything happens for a reason. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga that's part in life...☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is why I do not call everyone as friends even though they are close to me... it's too much heart break and drama when they do not stay

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, some are only acquaintances. Hahaha! I agree with the heartbreaks and drama tho. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

friends are like boobs...some are true... some are fake! Some are big... some are small!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahhahahaha best comment ever

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahaha! OMG. But yeah, that's true. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And ... some are always there even if you can't always see them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people are in our life for us to meet the real friends... Not everyone is going to be a friend forever, so we should take note of that and we won't be offended by what people do

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I agree with that too. We just meet friends for a reason or a season. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm... I'm in love with your choice of words and rhymes😱🙈🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago