On Settling Down and Getting Married

38 58
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

"I'll get married at the age of 26. Or perhaps at the age of 27 or 28, but should not be later than 30."

That's what I usually tell my friends whenever we talk about the future where we are already established individuals, having our own permanent jobs or profitable businesses, and achieving our personal dreams and goals, until we're already settling down, getting married, and building our own family.

Most of my friends are still single, and so am I, but we all have our own ideal age of when is the perfect time to get married. Some of my girlfriends say that they will also get married at the age of 28, while my guy friend would say that it's just fine for him if he will get married at the age of 30 or later. My friends even joke around that if they are still single at the age of 35, they'll just marry each other.

Every time I say that line above, my friends would immediately count how many years are still left until my desired age comes. And they would shortly ask me, "Will you be able to find a boyfriend in those years?"

I'm actually single since birth and being in a relationship is something that comes into my mind sometimes, especially when I see that some of my High School friends and classmates are already getting married and already have their own child or two. They just seem so happy in their pictures, and I would then think about having one in the future too. I would then daydream of the day where I already found the one, being in a happy relationship, getting married, and building our own family.

Ever since I thought of settling down, 26 to 28 is really my ideal age of getting married. Some would say that it's too early and I shouldn't rush things, especially on this serious one. However, I have this thinking that if I get married at 26 and bear a child at 28, that means I will have a longer time to spend with my child. And once my child grows up and wants to have a family too, then I will also still be alive to spend time with my grandchildren. (Oh diba, apo agad. 🤣)

However, whenever reality already hits me, slaps me in the face, and pours cold water all over me, I would then be reminded that I actually have a lot of plans to pursue, goals to achieve, and dreams that I want to come true. I would be reminded that being in a relationship, especially settling down and getting married is still out of the picture.

I have been very vocal about my ambitious dreams and goals and getting to achieve some, if not all, of them, is my number one priority in life.

My personal goals include getting to renovate our family house to make it more comfortable for my parents to live on, getting to buy a piece of land by the sea, and building my dream house there, which I can also put on rent during summertime, buying a car that I can use for my dream travel business, and for my own leisure travel, building a profitable business for my parents to manage, and getting to visit some or all of my dream travel destinations in the Philippines and in foreign countries.

My ultimate dream and goal, for now, is to achieve Financial Freedom so that I will be able to accomplish all of these goals and plans I have.

I am only 21 years old (and yes, only 5 to 7 years left until my ideal age of getting married comes) but settling down and getting married at that age is actually just a daydream and a fantasy. I may say it but that's just it, unless the right one finally finds its way to me and plans to marry me already. Charot! 🤣

For now, my focus is to improve myself and make myself a better person or be the best version of myself. My priorities in life are my goals, family, and friends. Before thinking of settling down and getting married, I have to ready myself first financially, emotionally, mentally, and spiritually, so that when the right person comes at the right time and at the right place, I will also be the right person waiting for him. Charot! 🤣

Papayaman muna bago mag-asawa! 🤣

16
$ 8.43
$ 8.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 6
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

Ang pag aasawa ay di biro kailangan ay financially , emotionally prepared ka na, Mahirap yung mag aasawa ka tas di mo alam Kung saan ka kukuha.ng pangsaing kinabukasan at syempre higit sa lahat Kung mag aasawa siguraduhin mong may boyfriend ka na mahirap mag asawa Ng walang boyfriend hahahaha 🤣 charrrrr.lang✌️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True po kaya magpapayaman muna. Hahahaha! Mahirap talaga un. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mangyayari naman yan lahat Basta gogogo pero talaga namang ang linaw ng gusto mo ee. Well malinaw sin naman sakin ang gusto ko at yan ay di ako mag aasawa so hahahaha skl naman ahahaj

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo ba yan? Hahahaha! Sige, kunin nalang kitang ninang. Wahahahaha! 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so young pa pero naiisip mo na agad yan, hehe.. Sinasabi ko sayo, enjoy life muna. Peeo may loint ka naman dun sa anak na makakasama mo ng mahaba. Like me, i am 41 then un anak ko is 18 na, so maabutan ko pa apo ko for sure.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Wala pa pong jowa kaya hanggang pangarap lang yan. 🤣 Pero yes, enjoy life muna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage is good but will complement it is financial freedom. Your write-up is analytical and enjoyable

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for reading. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am I allowed to laugh?? You just made me smile by this word "I'm single since my birth", I too do not want rush or hurry for my marriage. First of all I want financial freedom because I do not like to rely on someone else or do not want to become a burden. I'm not ready yet both mentally and physically, I think this is not the right age to involve in a relationship. Take your time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm single since birth. Hahaha! 🤣 Yes, let's aim to have financial freedom first before thinking about marriage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Marriage isn't something that you should rush to enter if the person doesn't want to rush out back of the home, it's better to be settled both financially and matured in every sense before for them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I totally agree with that. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Papatayo muna ako ng bahay bago mag jowaaa haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Same hereee. Hahaha! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get married when I'm 19,too early right?And I do have two kids right now.Whether what age do you prefer as long as your committed and willing to settle down.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I agree with that po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what's funny? I really thought dati na kapag 25 na ako magiging successful na ako tas may family na WAHAHAHHAHA. Pero we shouldn't be in a hurry, enjoy muna natin yung pagiging single tas wait lang muna hanggang ma millionaire hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Enjoy life muna at magpayaman. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang pag-aasawa hindi naman yan minamadali. There's always a right time. Kaya ako, wala pa din yan sa isip ko kahit madami na sa kabatch ko ang may sarili ng pamilya. Yung iba sinasabi mag-asawa na din daw ako. Madami pa akong plans and goals kaya ayoko pa. Hindi pa nga ako masyadong nakakabawi sa parents ko. 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truee. Life time na din kasi ang marriage kaya i-enjoy nalang ang single life at bumawi sa parents natin. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

First and foremost, paunahin muna natin si Ate @Ruffa. Hahaha! LOL. Anyways, push natin 'yung "Papayaman muna bago mag-asawa!" Char, hihi. 😂 Pero seryoso, sa panahon ngayon dapat mas practical tayo kasi 'di lang naman sarili natin pinag-uusapan sa ganito ay. Kaya pushhhhhh! 💪🏻❤

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wala daw siyang balak mag-asawa eh. Hahahaha! True. Maigi ng maging practical dahil mahal ang gatas at diaper. Charot. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuuu. Jusme, wala pa akong anak pero feeling ko may pinag-gagatas at diaper na din ako kasi kapag may humiram di naman na binabalik ay. Akala sigiro nila ATM machine ako. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You still have more time sis. Napakabata mo pa. Enjoy your life muna and yes pakayaman muna.hihi

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True po. Papayaman nalang. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes papayaman muna bago mag-asawa. I'm 22, single, and I have erased in my mind the marriage thing a long time ago because I am the kind of person who cannot keep a relationship, so how much more if I marry haha. I just want to become a Hot, rich, single tita 😆

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! I don't even know how relationships work. 🤣 Cheers to being a hot, rich, single tita nalang! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, girl! Cheers 🥂 Soon we will become our nephews and nieces favorite hahaha. So who needs anak diba? 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is it true that most women want to get married under the age of 30, my friend also said that. but for me the main thing is maturity, when I have a permanent job and can support my family. then everything is fine.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aw. I agree with that too. 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its nice that you have plans whenever you are settled down. I mean at least you figure it out na. Hoping the best for you ate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I have so many plans to work on eh. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganyan pala edad ko sayo nagkaroon na nang anak sis, ngayon 13 years old na siya at 35 naman ako masasabi kung enjoy life lang muna although masarap din magkaroon ng anak at the young age kasi para nalang kayung magkapatid pero sa ngayon dapat financial freedom kana bago sumabak sa marriage life.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True po. Ang saya nung parang magkapatid lang. Hahaha! Pero yes to financial freedom muna.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We all have ideal age to be married but the will of God will always prevail in our lives, Don't think about your children in the future, everything are on set and in the right time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ah yes, I agree with that. All in God's perfect timing. 🤞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have been actually single since day 1 and I never have someone but I have really close girls as friends and they are much though but we never talk of relationship. When I have financial freedom everything will be sort out

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh wow. Really? That's nice. Yes, let's achieve financial freedom first, then love life later. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago