On Being a Saver And a Spender

29 58
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Spending

Are you the kind of person who would immediately buy something when you need or want it without having a second thought? Or are you the type of individual who would think not just twice or thrice but a lot of times before purchasing so that the money won't be wasted?

How often do you buy a new pair of clothes, shoes, dress, or even a brand new cellphone or laptop? Do you go shopping once a month or only once in a blue moon? Do you monitor your daily or weekly expenses or do you instantly forget about the money you just spent because once it is gone, you know it will never come back, but you also know how to make money again?

When it comes to money, there are usually two types of people, and they are the savers and spenders.

The savers would typically always find ways how to save even just a portion of their money when they are about to make a purchase. They would immediately save up a specific amount the moment they receive their weekly allowance or monthly salary as their way of paying themselves and preparing for the future. Then they would budget the money left for their daily needs and expenses. They manage their finances well, prioritize their needs, and would never want to spend it on unnecessary things.

On the other hand, the spenders always have the freedom to buy the things they want whenever they like to. They don't have a hard time deciding if they will buy an item or not because they are always ready to say goodbye to their money. They become impulsive sometimes, especially when their mantra becomes "We only live once".

Between these two types of people, I think it's very obvious that I'm the "saver" type. Maybe, it's because I'm an Ilokano that it runs in my blood to be thrifty as much as possible. I'm the type of person who values money and spends it wisely because it is a product of my hard work and I wouldn't want it to just be put to waste.

Yes, I save a lot, especially for my future because I'm such a dreamer that it requires a huge amount of money for me to achieve my goals. So if I will just spend all of my hard-earned money lavishly, then I wouldn't be able to accomplish the things I want to do. I think it's better to apply delayed gratification than instant gratification, especially when it's for a bigger purpose.

Other people, particularly spenders, would initially think that savers are depriving themselves of the things they want because they don't like to spend their money. I know because most of my wealthy classmates and acquaintances have said that to me before.

However, in my opinion, we're actually not depriving ourselves because we also would treat ourselves to a good restaurant and would even buy ourselves new clothes, pants, and shoes once in a while. It's just that, sometimes, we would go for something cheaper and not branded because we know that there are options where we could still save up money as we buy our needs and wants.

Personally, I don't mind buying unbranded clothes, shoes, and pants as long as they are of almost the same quality as the branded ones. I would even prefer buying a second-hand mobile phone that works perfectly fine than buying a brand new one and paying more money for it.

The way I see it, savers are actually responsible and wise spenders who know how to allocate their every penny and look for ways how to save it.

But there's actually nothing wrong with being a spender or a saver. What matters most is that we try to live our lives the best way we can without having to mind how other people live their own. So before looking at and judging people the way they spend or save, try to look at yourself in the mirror first and mind your own business.

Cheers to being a wise spender!

16
$ 5.83
$ 5.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @ZehraSky
$ 0.02 from @Expelliarmus30
+ 5
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Spending

Comments

I am such a spender HAHA Bili lang kahit ano. 😂 But mostly pagkain lang naman binibili ko di ako mahilig bumili ng gamit...because food is life! To me

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Same here. Pagkain din mostly pinagkakagastusan ko. Lols!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't know if I can consider myself as a saver because I buy a lot of things but in every purchase that I always make sure to get the most great deal and some people is saying that I am cheap because I am trying to use every voucher I can make in ordering online as well as I just buy things from Online shopping with free shipping. But all of my purchases is all plan out and budgeted well because I am not a person who loves to spend my money. I like to look for ways for my money to stretch it's every penny.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You're still a wise spender tho because you make sure that every penny will be spent in a wise way. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako po yung tipong kapag may bibilihin, one hundred times po ata nag iisip ng mabuti kung itutuloy ko po ba o hindi hahhaha. Sa tingin ko belong po ako don sa team saver, pero kapag need po talaga ng panggastos dito sa bahay ay napipilitan po talaga ko kumuha sa savings ko.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayos! Mabuti yan. Hahaha! Okay lang naman gumastos kung kailangan talaga pero kung hindi naman masyado, maigi ng pag-isipan ng 100x. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa true po 100x talaga dapat hahhaha 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I'm more on saving for now sis as I'm planning to spend my money in the preparation of my wedding

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh. Good luck and congrats in advance!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha spender talaga ko jusko kahit walang katuturan na bagay binibili ko kapag alam kong may pera ako haha minsan lang ata ako maging saver kapag talagang may bet ako na hindi kering bilhin ng isahan haha pagiipunan talaga.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Okay lang yan kung jan ka naman masaya. Hahaha! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I try my best to save but most of the time I give to the impulse to buy unnecessary but cute things haha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hard to resist the temptation. Lols! 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I try my best to save, I was able to save some spare cash. But when my urge to spend came, I began acting on impulse and poof, half of my savings were gone. And I became unemployed for months. So yeah, its better to be a wise spender

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. That's why we should control ourselves and don't be an impulsive buyer. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha true, literal na lesson learned 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Im a saver too haha i save for myself and for, prioritize those important one my family

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's nice. Good for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am both sometimes I buy things on the spot and sometimes compromise to save for future :-) it's depend on my mood totally I only love saving Bitcoin cash not fiat lol maybe that's why I don't have money right now in fiat but I have in Bitcoin cash ;-)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We can save fiat to buy Bitcoin Cash tho. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha not a bad idea

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I'm both sis.. I believe both in concepts of "life is short, so enjoy it when you can" and also "maybe save some for emergencies, because we never know what future holds".. and to balance both of these thoughts, I constantly buy from thrift shops or shops with massive discounts so that I do not have to be guilty about it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! I guess, same here. Ehe! We deserve to treat ourselves once in a while but we also need to save so it's better to choose the cheaper option than the expensive ones. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is what I am striving to improve in myself, to be a wise spender. I will really admit that I am such a gastador that even if I didn't have the money yet, I would already be planning what I would buy hahaha shame on me.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Ung nakapag-checkout ka na sa Shopee pero wala pa palang pambayad ganun. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess I'm a saver too. I only buy important or needs for my family.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's great. Keep it up!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am 60% saver and 40% spender. I budget the money I spend and I can tell if I will spend more this month than becoming a saver. So what will happen is I will work hard on my extra job to earn extra money. I work double time juts to keep up with my savings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's nice. We really need to have extra jobs or side hustles if we want to save money. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago