It's Okay to Look Broke

32 59
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Broke, Money

It's been about a week already, since February 07, 2022, when I moved into the city to attend my face-to-face classes every Tuesday and I can say that it's quite expensive to move out away from my parents and live independently. At some point, I am regretting that I decided to rent an apartment just so I can attend my classes once a week because it's really costly, considering that almost everything, from food and rent to fare, has doubled their prices already.

And sometimes, I can't help but complain about why everything is becoming more expensive. Imagine, just a tricycle ride going to the city market, it would cost 30 pesos ($0.58) already. Or maybe, everything has really been expensive in the first place, since the pandemic started, and it's only now that I get to realize it because when I was still at home, I wasn't really spending my money on anything since I'm always just inside my sanctuary. I would only get to spend for my monthly load allowance, whenever I'm in the mood to buy groceries for the house, and when I want to go out with my friends. And the fact that I was with my parents who would always be the ones to shoulder the food expenses was a money-saver for me.

And since I moved here or even before I moved to the city, I've been meeting my Research group mates to edit our paper and to have a consultation with our research adviser. As usual, we would always be together during lunchtime so that it's easier to meet up after eating our lunch. And having rich groupmates, they would always suggest eating in a fast-food restaurant. And being the broke and thrifty that I am, I find it costly and unhealthy to always eat fast food like Jollibee and McDo. However, since I have no choice, I always end up ordering food from those quick-service restaurants.

Our research group would always meet up and do our paper in a Coffee Shop where there is free WiFi and it's also spacious enough for the whole group. And like I said, I have such rich groupmates so they would always recommend just buying snacks from the coffee shop or from the nearest fast-food chain. While my groupmates would be ordering expensive coffee and frappe, I would just be drinking water from my bottle. Lols!

I mean, why would I order a 75 pesos ($1.46) iced coffee drink or a 150 pesos ($2.92) frappe if I can just drink water. Maybe, I'm just too broke to afford it but I also don't fancy drinking expensive coffee if there are cheaper options available out there.

One of my groupmates told me,

"Why do you look so broke? Or maybe you just don't like spending money."

And I just answered him,

"Give me money so that I have something to spend." (Lols!)

I'm the kind of person who doesn't like spending money on wants or unnecessary things because I would always think about those more important things that I could buy with that money. Just, for example, that one order of iced coffee or frappe, I can buy a dozen of 3-in-1 instant coffee already, which could probably last for a week.

I know it's okay to treat yourself once in a while but if you treat yourself too often and you can't really afford it, then you might just end up being literally broke. I always remind myself to just live below my means. You see, it's so hard to earn money but it's so easy to spend it.

Sometimes, I envy other people who get to buy anything they want without having to work hard for it because they have parents who could provide everything for them and who can give them money whenever they ask for it. For someone like me whose parents can't financially support me, I have to tighten my budget so that I can survive with it.

It's okay to look and act broke for now just trying to make both ends meet. Because I know, one day, I will be able to afford all the things I want to buy without worrying about tomorrow anymore, and all of the sacrifices will be worth it in the end.

14
$ 7.88
$ 7.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 5
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Broke, Money

Comments

okay lang yan if they think you are broke, di nila alam malaki din kinikita mo online pero nakakapag save ka. hayaan mo sila di naman maipagyayabang ang mga panandaliang flex ihh.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Di naman ganun kalaki. Hahaha! Pero true. Ilang oras lang naman, ubos na ung coffee nila eh. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mag 3in1 na lang tayo sa bahay be hahahaah. Pero di na din masama kung minsan i treat mo din sarili mo be kasi deserve mo naman. Pasensya na for now, wala ako pang upvote sa mga article ninyo kasi ilang araw na ko hindi dinadalaw ng bot eh. babawi na lang me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I fee you hahahaha. It's okay to treat ourselves once in a while .

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Ilokano traits po yata yan. 😂 True naman po. Haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay Langga. It's part in our life. All of us can experience like that but always fight and still positive. No matter what happens still remain at the positivity. I know you can surpass it langga.

I like the way you think Langga. You always prioritize the important one which is really good.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes po. Haha! Think positive lang. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga. Be positive always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with that expensive frappe coffee. I together with my officemate decided to buy frappe at starbucks. Just to treat ourselves as you know ang mahal doon. Since I am not a regular customer ang naorder ko matapang pala ang coffee flavor niya though frappe lng. So ayon I ended up having palpitations😂. Nescafe lng kasi sanay katawan ko😂

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ako na hindi talaga nagkakape dahil magpapalpitate lang ako. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan magasta ako, I'll buy drinks that I want kasi for me I deserve a treat hehehehh

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sanaol deserve. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Napakamahal na talaga ngayon ng mga bilihin jusko.. dito nga sa amin.100 pesos ang pasahe going to town.. pag dalawa kayo 50 isa. parang arkila na. Kaya dina ako lumalabas puntang bayan pag kailangan lang talaga huhu.. tiis muna ngayon..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Grabe naman yan! Mas mahal pa pala jan. Nakakaloka. Maigi pang huwag nalang lumabas kung ganyan. 🤧

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same, Ateee. Kung kaya namang magtiis sa mga foods and drinks na mas makakatipid tayo, pushh. Di pinupulot ang pera ah, swerte lang talaga 'nung may mga masisipag and galante na provider. 'Yung hingi na lang ng hingi, aigooo. That's considered as an easy money for me pero nakaka-ano din na puro hingi ah. Ah basta, focua tayo kay tipidity. Hihi~

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Diba? Kung pwede lang hingi nalang din ng hingi sa parents, kaso wala din naman silang maibigay kaya magtiis nalang at matutong magtipid dahil mahirap kumita ng pera. 🤧😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Truuu. Kaumay din kaya na puro hingi lang ay, mas masarap pa din sa feeling na ikaw naman gumagastos for yourself tapos bonus pa na may naiaambag sa bahay. Hehe pero yung sa pagtitipid talaga eh, bakit ang hirap-hirap gawinnn? 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Relate sis haha broke talaga sa sobrang mahal ng mga bilihin jusko, pero minsan masaya din namn itreat ang sarili kasi nga deserve daw charizz pero better to think and act practical especially these days na sobrang hirap kumita ng pera.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ayan na naman ung deserve ko to eh na minsan, hindi mo naman talaga deserve. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha pampalubag loob sis😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dapat sinabi mo hindi naman sa broke, nagtitipid lang. Hahaha Mabuti na yung ginawa mo, mahirap ang buhay ngayong may pandemic. Mahirap kumita doble pa ang mga gastusin. Mabuti sana kung madling makuha ng pera.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Doble at triple ang itinaas ng presyo ng mga bilihin ay. 🤧😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not only around your area are things expensive. My country i trippled every small thing you want buy or use. Just very exoensive even my rent just got up and not really looking nice. Just pray that things go doen soon because if it continues like this then trouble is near.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Inflation will kill us. Yikes!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama po ganyan din po ako eh, bakit ako bibili ng mahal kung pwede naman yung mura lang ang bilhin. Lalo na po ngayon kailangan po talaga natin magtipid dahil sobrang hirap kumita ng pera. Hahaha gusto ko din po yung sagot nyo dun sa group mate nyo na "give me money so that I have something to spend" ang hirap nga po talaga magkaroon ng nga kagrupo na may kaya sa buhay, ang hirap po nilang sabayan.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo yan. Ang hirap kumita ng pera kaya dapat matutong magtipid at magtiis sa kung ano lang ang meron at kaya ng budget. Hahaha! Wala siyang sagot sa sinabi ko eh. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah that’s right! At least you give value sa pera mo. Wether it’s your hard-earned money or galing sa parents mo, don’t just spend just because of peer pressure. Girl, kape lang yan. Lol! Good job ka for not doing the same. Keep it up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Mahirap kasi kitain ang pera eh. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You'll be okay. Just give time to yourself

$ 0.01
2 years ago

For sure. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love being broke <3

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Cheers to being broke! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago