How Do You Cope up With Sadness?

54 75
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

All of us have felt sadness in our hearts that no matter how optimistic we are, we would still encounter this feeling. Today we're happy, the next day, we're lonely.

Perhaps it is because we feel a little depressed because of some circumstances, which may be because of our family problems, financial struggles, academic difficulties, misunderstandings with friends, or these chaotic thoughts that are running inside our minds. Or maybe, someone treated us unfairly and you just can't help but be sad about it.

I was watching the My Roommate is a Gumiho this afternoon, and one scene was marked inside my memory. It was when Lee Dam couldn't do anything but burst into tears when she felt too much sadness because she was mistreated by her friends, group-mates, and school-mates who talked awful about her.

Then Mr. Gumiho appeared to the rescue and became the crying shoulders of Lee Dam. There he allowed her to cry and he shared that whenever he feels lonely, he would go to the Mountain fortress to remove the sadness in his heart, and the messy thoughts that are running in his mind. Then he asked the same thing to Lee Dam. Non-verbatim he asked, "What do you do or where do you go whenever something bothers you?" After which, they went to a Karaoke bar and Lee Dam just sang her emotions out, and everything felt better for her after it.

Because of this scene, I thought of this topic I'm writing about here on read.cash. I've never felt lonely for quite a while now, but here are some of the things I do to cope up with sadness when I feel burnt out, broken, or just helpless.

1. I visit my friends

Whenever I feel lonely at home, I would go out and surround myself with the positive energy from my friends. I never talk to them about the things that are running inside my mind or the loneliness I'm feeling or the situation I am in that makes me feel lonely, but just being able to talk and laugh with them removes all of the worries I have in my mind.

This is why I am grateful that even if I only have a few good friends, I know that I can always run to them whenever I need them. I don't really open up my problems to anyone, but having friends with you even if you don't talk about it is such a blessing for me.

2. I cry my emotions out

"Crying is good for the soul."

This is a line from the movie Barcelona: A Love Untold, and it is so true because crying can help me remove the heavy baggage I'm carrying in my chest, and it also feels like I'm cleansing my soul whenever I cry. Others think that when you cry, you are weak. But crying does not imply weakness, but it signifies strength as you've been holding up all of the pain in your heart for too long that you couldn't help but to let it all out already. Crying might not be able to solve the problems you are in, but it will help you ease the pain you are feeling.

3. I sleep

Whenever I have troubles in mind that just by thinking about them, it already drains my energy, so to get rid of them, I just sleep on them. Maybe, sleeping is a form of escaping from reality, but getting a good nap will also help me have better thinking and feeling after it. I get to think straight and forget about my problems for just a short while.

Also, sleeping after crying is a good combination because the moment you wake up, it will feel like you are given a brand new Hope that everything will turn out right in the end.

4. I eat

You will see me constantly eating whenever there is something that worries me. It's as if all of my energies are being depleted that I always need to eat food to fill my stomach and get my energy back. By eating my favorite food like chocolates and sweets, or even if it's not a special food, helps me forget the negative thoughts that are running inside my body.

5. I bond with nature

When the feeling is too heavy already, that's when I chose to go to the beach and breath in some fresh air coming from the sea. I would just walk around and feel the fine sand on my feet, sit under the coconut tree, and watch how the waves go back and forth from the seashore. I would just sit there for an hour and the next thing I know, I already forgot the sadness and happiness just replaces inside my heart.

If I can't go to the beach, I just go out of my den and take a walk around my neighborhood, get a glimpse of the green mountains, and the blue sky.

6. I listen to music

Listening to upbeat songs is also another form of coping up with sadness. I just search for familiar songs on YouTube, play them and sing with them.

Sometimes, when the emotion is too enormous to carry, I would opt to play the Christian songs that are downloaded on my phone and pray that my problems are already solved and everything will be put into place.


These are just some of the things I do to cope up with sadness. Although they won't totally solve the problems that make me sad but doing those will help me feel better.

If you have been feeling sad these past few days, you can also do those things I've shared above to help ease with what you're dealing with. Always remember, "all will be alright in time."


I drafted this article about a month ago when I was still watching My Roommate is a Gumiho. Now I miss Lee Dam and Woo Yeo. Ehehe! 😹

20
$ 9.37
$ 8.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jeaneth
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
+ 10
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

Basta ako pag malungkot ako kumakain ako ng marami tapos pinapanood ko si Nicole sa tiktok haha

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Food is life talaga. Hahaha! 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesssss haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always look for ways to distract myself, even if my thoughts are in that situation, visiting friends helps a lot because you disconnect immediately. Everything has a solution, we just have to wait to solve it, in the meantime we must have a good time.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I agree tho. Every problem has a solution. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I can't do much to change something bad, I usually try to get lost with my phone and play some game that will make me not think about the rest. It is a total waste of time but it helps in this problem.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay. At least it helps you forget your problem. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes! And then, after some time, the problem fixes itself, or somebody else fix it! But this is selfish, so I first have to try to do something. Sometimes we can't and we still feel sad about it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

me: stress eating!!! huhuhu

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Parang di naman halata. Charot. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I am sad I eat and watch movies, gusto ko yung rakrakan, gyera lol..Minsan iiyak or magsusulat sa journal, then pray.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha! Grabe po ung rakrakan at gyera. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha gusto ko yung may adrenalin rush eh

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag nalulungkot Naman ako,agad ko naman binubuksan tiktok app ko para maglibang at mag jugded Ng mga sumasayaw ( sorry judgemental 😂)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahahaha! Grabe ha. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

all of the above po atenggg either mag music ako while crying by myself and sleep or I eat in my favorite place which I could see a nice view of nature or lastly I would hang out with my friend and forget in a mean time that I'm sad that I'm in pain that I need some help.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay. Same2x pala tayo. Hahaha 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When i am sad, I will just listen to music and sleep haha 🤣 or sometimes eating a lot of foods and play with zebra (my cat)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Ang kyut naman ng name ng cat mo. Hahaha! 🤣 music, sleep, and food really help no. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me when I'm sad, I'll make myself sadder by listening to sad songs. In that way, I could be able to vent up my bursting feelings and could even cry out loud. I sleep also. When I'm still not asleep, I will try to imagine things that I want to happen in the reality and that makes me forget the pain and sadness I'm feeling until I fall asleep. I eat a lot too, most especially sweets. They are like medicine to my brain. They just give a special effect that makes me forget why I am being sad.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, sweets and chocolates can definitely lighten up our mood.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe in crying out and listening to music when I am sad or depressed. We all faced sadness in life.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's true, and all emotions are valid. We all need to be sad to be genuinely happy. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Listening to music and having one with nature is how I cope up wit sadness.. Especially those songs of hillsongs... and nightcored ones

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That sounds relieving. I love Hillsong too. 😹💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One therapeutic way of coping up with sadness is to listen to music and crying. For me, that's the best and effective strategy to get rid of it slowly. ❤

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Very effective po. Hihi 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahaha talking to the moon?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Sumasagot naman ba? Charot. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Balik daw siya next full moon. Hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yong bigay todo sa pag kanta si Lee Dam ahahaha. Ang lupet ng boses hahahaha.

As for me naman, music, crying, watching funny videos, watching animes and chatting with friends din. Iba iba pero mas lagi yang listening to music. Nong lungkot na lungkot ako noon nag download nga ako ng Eminem songs haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hahaha! Nahiya boses ni Ki-yong doon eh. 🤣 Ah. Hindi ko pa yata naririnig songs ni Eminem. 🤧🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bwahahahaha na tolerate naman nya ay ahahaha. How about song niya na Stan? Rapper yon sya hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ako mahilig sa rap. Hahahaha Depende pala. 🤣 Search ko nga mga songs nyan. Baka may mapusohan ako. 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ehhhh, hahaha try mo songs ng Yungblud magaganda din yan. Try mo ung Teresa, Parents at Polygraph Eyes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I just listen to music cause I know no one will listen to me!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Same case here. And also, music sometimes know how you feel. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am with number 2 and number 3. I cried a lot till I get exhausted and fell asleep.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yay. And when you wake up, you will feel relieved. Hihi 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

indeed cause you've already cried all the pain

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what happens in my case, when I'm in a lot of trouble or when I'm upset, I just sit on the roof listening to music. Then there's a relationship with nature. And listening to music is a lot lighter. wonderful writing.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. That sounds peaceful and calming especially at night. Thanks for reading. 😹💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I'm sad, the first thing that I do is taking a bath or to wash my face with cold water because I want to refresh my mind on the negative things inside my mind. Sometimes, I also listen to the sad songs but I end up hating that because my tears can't resist to fall.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Oh, that's nice. Yeah, taking a cold bath could probably rinse off negative thoughts too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whenever I'm sad I simply lay on my bed and stare at the ceiling while clearing my head by not thinking about the cause of my sadness.

I sometimes listen to music as well but I enjoy the silence even more whenever I'm sad.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Awww. Yeah, silence helps too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Listening music & being with nature removes my sadness & stress. Very well written dear. I have the same feelings.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you for reading. 😹💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just cry, sleep and listen to music or watch movie that's the only option I got as of the moment 😁

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Same2x lang. Kung pwede sana mag-travel eh. Hahaha! 🤭😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Music and nature...I love that. I am more of an indoor person so I hardly go out but yes, I have go to friends that I can chat with who will surely lighten my mood. I love playing football games or watch a movie when my mood is foul.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

That's great. Hihi Playing games or even just by exercising can lighten up your sadness too. 😹

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so true, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago