Financial Independence: Retire Early

35 62
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Have you heard about the F.I.R.E. Movement before? Or this is your first time to hear it? You probably have heard about it already but you just failed to recognize it.

To those who don't know,

"The FIRE movement is actually a lifestyle movement with the goal of gaining financial independence and retiring early. The movement became particularly popular among millennials in the 2010s, gaining traction through online communities via information shared in blogs, podcasts, and online discussion forums."

FIRE stands for Financial Independence and Retire Early.

I've read about this concept on Facebook when I saw a post from a Financial Page shared by a Facebook friend. The idea was portrayed through comics or drawings with a little touch of words. And after browsing through the post, I found the movement somehow similar to what I've been doing all these years. However, there are still some differences.

In the comics, it talked about a man who dedicated 5 years of his life acquiring and building his wealth. He had to work day and night, almost 24/7, having double and even triple jobs, just to beat the deadline he set, which is to acquire 5 Million pesos in just 5 years. He had to sacrifice a lot, such as making time and spending it with the important people in his life, his family and friends. He did not have any time to have fun and relax because he was too focused on his goal of Financial Independence. In 5 years, he was able to achieve his financial goal and build the wealth he desires. But when he was already on top, he realized that no one was there with him because the others are still on their way up.

Acquiring Financial Independence is also one of my ultimate goals. I mean, who doesn't have a goal like that? It's probably one of the reasons why we are working so hard in the first place.

We want to be financially free so that we can do the things we love to do without worrying about our finances. We get to have quality time and create memories with the people we love if we have enough money on our pockets. We get to travel the world, and have a glimpse of a luxurious life even just once in a while.

But how do you define Financial Independence?

Is it the same with the comic guy where you should have a specific amount of money in your bank account before you can say that you are already financially independent? Or is it just being able to survive on your daily life but with a little feeling of security and luxury because you have some savings already?

For me, it's a mix of both. Sometimes, I think that I will only achieve Financial Independence when I already reach a certain amount that I can see in my savings account. However, Financial Independence is also not just about the amount of money we have, but also the abundance of time we have to spend with the people we love and for the things we love to do. Being financially independent is being able to have fun and create beautiful memories with your loved ones without breaking your bank.

Retiring early and at a young age is also another goal that most of the Millennials want to achieve. They don't want to work their whole life, crawling up the ladder of success set in the corporate world, until they die. They want to live and have fun because You Only Live Once.

But what does it mean to Retire Early?

Is it where you don't have to work a 9-5 job anymore because you already have the Financial Freedom that the salary you get from your work is no longer needed, and that you can now focus on doing the things you love like pursuing your passion or build your dream business? Or is it being able to not go to work whenever you don't feel like it and it's okay to have a salary deduction?

For me, Retiring Early means that I don't have to be in the dog-eat-dog world anymore where almost all people are too focused on achieving their own kind of success even if they are already stepping down on others. I want to retire early and be free from the Corporate Jungle, and just live my life according to my own terms. How I will do that is what I'm still thinking and planning about.

Financial Independence and Retiring Early is also what I dream of achieving. However, unlike the comic guy, I don't want to spend my life just to build the wealth I need to attain this goal. I don't want to sacrifice the time I can spend with my parents and friends just for this personal and ambitious goal.

After all, money is just a tool that we can use to create memories with the people we love. It's okay to make as much money as we can, but make sure to spend some of them too with your loved ones.

17
$ 6.82
$ 6.70 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Oikawa
$ 0.03 from @Librarian
+ 2
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

Financial independence has been my goal since childhood, every single time I look at mom gives me reason to work hard and be independent financially

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awww. I hope you'll achieve financial independence. πŸ₯ΊπŸ’š

$ 0.00
2 years ago

life must be adapted to the times, the type of person who works hard is always looking for new things to start with. the best way is to adapt to today's modern times, indeed to produce something we have to work hard but also in a way that has developed in the digital era. "There are things we must leave and there are things we must pursue".

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh. I agree with that too. Things are always evolving so we should adapt with the rapid changes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you friend you are very good with your gift I can't reply yet because I'm new too. thank you very muchπŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's possible to do that if you have several investments and insurances. Yun nman ang purpose ng investments, for retirement. Ang sarap sa feeling na gigising ka sa umaga na wala ka need problemahin sa pera. We will able to achieve that soon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true. That's why at an early age, we should learn how to invest already for the future. Yes, hopefully we will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate to you for brilliant work I am new user so support me please

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Finacial independence is the goal for every people that works hard. Pero parang ang hirap namn hahaha. Pero kungbwant talaga makapag chill while crying in a huge mansion tas pamunas dollar bills hahaha well kayoddd yann. All for the best!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! True po. 🀣 Kayod lang. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's one my big goals to. To work optional na lang if I ever achieve FIRE <3

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay! Let's achieve FIRE. πŸ’«

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not just of the opinion of financial independence, I believe that once we are of age and we have attained some wealth to keep us alive, we should find some kind of investments and make our money work for us, Old age shouldn't be used to make money but to make memories

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with that. That's why it's important for us to make some investments while we're young so we can enjoy our life and make memories.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Financial Independence? Who would say no to this? Retire early? Who would not dream this to happen?

Me? Syempre, I want to be financially free. 'Yun bang I don't need to worry and think too much kung paano mag-iearn and magsu-survive sa araw-araw considering the expenses and all. 'Yun bang, I can still do working pero less worries na. Ayoko maging super yaman uy, okay na 'yung basta maging financially stable. Kaya grind tayo nang grind today habang bata pa pero dapat nag-eenjoy pa din para in the future? Mas maaga tayong makakapag-relax sa buhay. πŸ’—πŸ’›

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sameee. Okay na ung nakakasurvive pero nag-eenjoy everyday. No need ng sobrang yaman. Hahaha! True, grind lang ng grind. Magiging worth it din lahat ng pag-grind natin habang bata pa tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sabi din kasi nila kapag super yaman na means madami na ding utang. πŸ˜‚ Kaya okay na ako 'dun sa stable lang. Hahaha!

I can already feel na worth it mga grindings ko kasi may nakukuha na ako in return eh. Pero soonest, masmagiging worth it pa. πŸ’—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, financial independence means having investments around you. I want to retire early and be financially independent

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We all want that. Hope we fulfill it. Ehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The quest for financial independence should not be fulfilled at the price of family and friends

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with that. πŸ’―

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Financial independance is everyone goals . But some people spend their whole life just in building their accounts.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true which is not good at all and destroys the purpose of financial independence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Financial freedom means having enough passive income, so I never have to work again; I would be able to spend my days at a private island looking at the ocean and drinking coconut milk.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ohh. I can imagine that. Life seems so good. Ehe! Cheers to financial freedom to live that dream!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now a days, diskarte ang number factor na talaga to become your puhunan, lalo na sa sitwasyon natin ngayon sis... Mapa-professional ka man o hindi, pero kung hindi marunong dumiskarte talaga, yung F.I.R.E. thing na na-mentioned mo, magiging malabo. Pwera nalang talaga kung masinop ka sa resources..

But syempre, sino bang aayaw sa FIRE diba, pero sa ngayon, hindi ko pa alam kung kailan mangyayari to.. Hehe..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. Diskarte talaga ang kailangan to achieve the ultimate goal which is FIRE. Kung hindi ka din magaling humawak ng pera, malabo talaga yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya meron tayong sinasabi na life starts at the age of 40..kaso parang ang hirap iachieve... Hehehe..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Life starts at 20 po sakin. Hahahaha! 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay wow!..ang aga sis...parang ang hirap lalo nun kasi start palang naghahanap ng work nun..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope someday I could have financial independence and retire early to enjoy life by travelling to many places.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Manifesting that we all get to achieve that. Cheers! πŸ’«

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats true! Were too busy making money and we tend to forget making memories. We forget to look around the beauty of nature. Enjoy life as you grinding as wellπŸ€—

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree. We should not just work for money but let our money work for us too and let it serve its purpose. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yahhhh gusto ko toπŸ₯°πŸ˜ money works for me haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago