A Message to My Future Self

41 50
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Future, Letter

I am already in my twenty's. I'm actually 22 years old now. I believe that the twenties are the most crucial stage of life.

People would expect you to graduate from college at the age of 20, find a stable job before you turn 22, perhaps have a successful career, buy a house or car, or have huge savings in your bank account at the age of 25, have a prosperous business at 28, and then settle down before you turn 30.

To be honest, the future seems so scary for me because I feel like I am carrying too much weight of expectations not just from my family, friends, teachers, and relatives. In fact, their expectations do not scare me anymore. Because I am more frightened of my own expectations.

Although I have planned down my whole life already, the thought of not being able to pursue and achieve these goals and dreams I have set for myself is haunting me every night before I go to sleep.

That is why I keep reminding myself that life is not a race, it is a journey. And that it is okay to fail, as long as I keep trying in life. I also remind myself about the things I should focus on, instead of wasting my time on unimportant things.


Dear Future Self,

Please be patient with yourself and with others. Be responsible for your actions. Forgive yourself. Forgive easily. Say Sorry more often. Learn to ask for help when you need it. Always say Thank you.

Stay focused on your dreams. Don't forget to celebrate your accomplishments and small victories. Give yourself a reward. Treat yourself to a portion of good food. Go and buy that chocolate. Eat that food you've been craving.

Be adventurous. Live life to its fullest. Explore what the world is in store for you. Capture photos. Visit your dream travel destination. Don't be afraid to get lost in the city. Collect more memories. Learn different cultures. Enjoy every moment.

Acknowledge your feelings. Take a deep breath. It's okay to cry. Be courageous. Don't be afraid to take risks. Do whatever your heart desires. Don't fear the uncertainty. Don't dwell in the past. Look forward to the best days.

Dream bigger. Aim higher. Work harder. Study smart, and be street-smart. Learn more. Listen more. Communicate more. Be more open. Be stronger.

Trust yourself, but trust God more. Practice humility. Give without expecting something in return. Embrace your flaws. Dress in your most comfortable way. Be confident of who you are. Stop doubting your capabilities. Don't be afraid to be different.

Be the change you want to see in the world. Learn to take a stand. Join a good campaign. Be more vocal about your advocacies. Practice what you believe in. Make a sound decision.

Walk at your own pace. You don't have to rush. Don't rush things because great things take time. Trust God's perfect timing. Learn to wait for the best is yet to come. God is preparing the best for you.

Say Hi and don't forget to give a smile. Learn to give a hug. Love unconditionally. Tell your parents you love them. Make them feel special. Keep your friends close. Go out with your friends. Make new friends. Stay connected with your old pals. Be grateful for the people around you. Be patient with kids. Listen to what people are saying. Examine their actions.

Don't let other people define you. Don't be easily swayed by the opinions of others. Don't hesitate to remove the toxic people in your life.

Life is going to break you, and that's okay. Rest if you must, but never give up. Be open to experiencing the best and the worst.

It's okay to commit mistakes, but make sure to learn from them. Take every challenge as an opportunity to grow. There is no such thing as failure, only lessons to learn.

Always remember that you are not a mess, you are God's masterpiece.


This message is not only for my future self but also a letter to those who feel so demotivated and lost as if they are no longer on the right path. Always remember that the wrong train may lead you to the right destination.

Cheers to living the best life you want!

16
$ 2.74
$ 2.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
$ 0.04 from @foryoubtc09
+ 5
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Future, Letter

Comments

I am close to being twenty too. And right now, I can feel the breeze of challenges and opportunities in my way. And I hope my future self is strong. And to those who are in their twenties and older whobare reading this, i hope you keep fighting and thriving.

$ 0.02
User's avatar Hap
1 year ago

There are really going to be a lot of opportunities and challenges as well. So we should just learn to be strong all the time no matter what we go through at this age.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you sis nakakarelate naman ako kahit age of 30 plus na ko. Haha tull now wala parinakong na aim bukod sa mga anak ko. Kaya anman thanks sa pagpapaalala lagi akong na depress kasi pakiramdam ko useless akong tao na parang wala akong silbi o natutulong. Hays ang hirap, ang dami kong pangarap noong 20's ako kaso hindi ko nagawa kaya hoping ako na alam ko amgagaw amo yun kasi beauty and brain ka kaya i know magagawa mo yung goal mo. And tama ka no need to pressure yourself or ouselft just enjoy the moment.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Like ate Winx said, we all live with a purpose po so you shouldn't feel useless and being a mother is already a tough job po. Ehe! Laban lang. Makakamit niyo din po mga pangarap niyo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yun talaga feel ko dati sis. But now medyo naiisio ko na ganun talaga ang life may kanya kanyang pagkakataon. Maybe its not my year now or next but dartaing din yung taon or panahon na makakamit ko din yun.😉😊 kaya blessed ako sa platform na ito at sa mga member kasi madami akong natutunan at nagkakaroon akonng confidence na balang araw makakamit ko rin yun basta sioag at tiyaga lang.💪😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear @Eirolfeam2

I wish I could write this reverse to myself when I was younger, I wish I did and lived everything you said when I was younger because when you are older you realize life was spent trying to achieve your futured letter, so I say do not wait for the future to start, there are many you can start now and goodluck.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Yes, I agree with you. Why wait for the future when you can just start doing the things you want now. Ehe! I guess this is a letter to my present self. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to write a message for myself too but I guess it's hard for me when I say "don't quit" when all I want to is do the opposite

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. Fighting lang po. Kaya yan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People will expect too much from us when we reached our 20's especially kapag graduate na tayo sa college. To the point na ma pepressure na tayo about sa present and future natin sabayan pa ng high standards na siniset ng mga tao. But life and success is not a race, we'll just wait for our perfect time. Kaya laban lang tayo sa goal natin, sooner or later ma aachieve din natin lahat ng mga yan ❣️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Truee. Kaya huwag papa-pressure sa mga expectations nila dahil ikaw lang din naman ang mahihirapan. Laban lang pero dapat chill lang din. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a positive reinforcement for yourself,we indeed are not a mess in this world but we live with great purpose.Me too,have experienced pressure with expectations from my family because I disappoint them for marrying early.But for you,being young,I admire your maturity as your in the age of 22,with such kind of mindset ,hopefully you can achieve your dreams.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I like that po, "We live with great purpose". Yay! Thank you. I hope so too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was also stressed and depressed after thinking about my future , what will happen to me, than I start taking things lightly , enjoy present moment. Don't know what will happen in the future and why should I think about that, infact I m still on the track towards a positive life journey.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. Yeah, we should stop stressing ourselves so much about the future. Just live in the moment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the message Langga. I like the mindset you have. I love the words. You keep motivating yourself which is good. Trust yourself Langga. You will make it. The things you want in life but don't pressure yourself too. Just always in the middle. Everything has a perfect time Langga. I agree Langga we shouldn't be in a hurry. Life is not a race.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We will all make our dreams come true po. Cheers! Fighting!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Langga. Fighting always Langga. 💪

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You exactly mentioned the words I wanted to tell myself. 😓

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. Fighting lang!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thats why we have day, weeks, months, and years provided, its because life flows day by day, we can have the time we needed, if not today, tomorrow or maybe in the next year, that's life, just never give up and trust God

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with that. You always have the chance to try again so don't give up even if you fail.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Legit yung mapapaisip tayo talaga what do we need to do when we are already in our 20s kidding but I'm almost there po, yet fighting lang sabi mo nga po life is not a race, we make our own timelene, and we will work so hard just to achieved those goals.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Fighting lang. Hindi naman mahalaga kung mauna o mahuli ka. Basta magpatuloy ka lang. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the most important thing is to keep trying and don't be afraid to fail keep trying make yourself no limit to reach the future because all you will achieve confidence is important but don't overdo it because God always blesses people who try and are humble.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. Yes, just keep trying and don't be afraid to fail. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Legit ang hirap nga mabuhay. Nasa 20s palang tayo pero randam na randam na talaga natin ang hirap. Hays, nakaka ano naman tong message mo mare, parang gusto ko ulit mag sulat ng diary at isulat din yung message ko para sa sarili ko doon.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Para na tayong pamilyado sa sobrang daming iniisip about the future eh. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life is not a contest. May it be in 20's, 30's, or 40's. We will always get on the things that we want on our own timeline. For now, I am also focusing on what makes me happy right now while figuring out what I exactly want to do with my life. I still always believe in God's delays are always the best.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with that. We will get the things we want at the perfect time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm... Dear friend, it is just like we are in the same condition at this moment, I have been trying not to Carry the burden of the future alone and looking unto God for help

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, just pray because God is always there for us. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tiyaga lng at sa huli may magandang naghihintay

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True po basta magpatuloy lang. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right, life is not a race. It is okay to succeed little by little rather than be in hurry and stumbled.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree po. Take one step at a time. 💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Damm, just how many awesome points you shared! I see a creative and high memory mind here. Me too in 22 , though still feels like I am 20. This age is lot to take in, so many pressure in mind and all that related to future, uncertainties, hesitations a lot of stress. But those who counter these will only lead a happy life ahead. Just live and enjoy your life along with going on productive mode.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm 22 but I feel like I'm only 15. 🤣 Yeah, I agree. We all just gotta live and enjoy our lives. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

God bless with your future plans. It really is scary, the uncertainties of future, the expectations, the setbacks. Pray always and believe in yourself and don't forget to be happy along your journey. Godspeed!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago