Extension of ASUU strike : killing the remaining 10% student in me.

26 53
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

The ringing of my phone made me abruptly wake up from my distressful nap with a headache, it was my friend from school who called to check up on me after reportedly hearing that I was sick. She thought it was something serious and she was all panicky over the phone until I told her that it was just the cluster headache I have from time to time. The headache further worsened when I took a sneak peek into my whatsapp to view status updates when the news came before my eyes : The strike has been extended by a further three months! I was shocked, angry and disappointed at the same time. It was something I wasn't expecting at all especially since the Federal government had a meeting with the ASUU committee and I was hoping they'd come to a positive conclusion. Three months? That's like till August! By then the student in me would have already been dead. I don't think I'd find enough motivation to keep going especially now that I am having other engagements too. My plans have been messed up, and I bet same goes for any Nigerian student out there!

The government cares very little about education in the country. Imagine a student spending 6-7 years in completing a 4 years course! It's not a speculation, it's something that has happened in the country before and from the way things are going now, it could again or become even worse, since the care free attitude of those that should actually do something about it is only worsening. The other day I heard that the labour minister and the minister of state education have each purchased the presidential election form both worth a 100 million naira. Our welfare is the least of their concerns. They are all immersed in the affairs of the upcoming 2023 election in an attempt to gain higher government positions while doing little or nothing for the betterment of the citizens in their current offices. This all goes to show that it is all about them and never about others. It all goes to show how selfish people have taken over leadership roles in the country. If a person cannot be do what is in his ability in his current office, how do you expect them to do better when they attain higher seats?... and to think there are people who will still vote for them is so nauseating!

For my non-Nigerian readers who aren't familiar with the meaning of ASUU, it is an acronym for Academic Staff Union of Universities, a body under which all federal universities function or are part of. They have been on strike since the 14th of February which is about three months ago, now three months have been added already which makes it a total of six months(half a year) except if the strike is called of before then. Remember that we had once embarked on a strike last year which had already added a year to our graduation date, now this making it two years. MBBS, a six year course has suddenly turned into 8 years while four year courses like accounting have turned six years. So sad.. So so sad to say the least.

My advice to all my fellow Nigerian students and those in other countries who are on strike is to find something else worthwhile to do. Our success doesn't revolve around schooling, you might just tap into some hidden talent if we search well enough. Revise your books occasionally so as not to forget what you've been taught in school to avoid being lost when it finally resumes. Please don't stay idle and keep all hustling legit. May God help students all over the globe!

Aluta Continua!!

Victoria Ascerta!!

Thanks for reading.

Thanks to you all for supporting me. Sorry for my inactivity lately, my occasional cluster headache won't let me be.

Yours Layly,

💖💖💖

19
$ 1.64
$ 1.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 6
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

It's really difficult out here Layla. The FG cares less about the students cause they feel they can manipulate electoral results with the majority of the people being illiterates. Medicine that was supposed to be a 6 -7 yr course has now become an 8-10 yr course and it's really bad. It's unfair.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is sad. They are only trying to tell us not to raise our hopes too much when it comes to education. You're a medical student too? So am I. What university do you school?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

While government may have a part of share in the blame, I think ASUU are just been insensitive. The strikes are just never ending.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right. It would be helpful if a compromise is made.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We are all in this boat ooo,bi almost cried when I heard about the news and I just gave up. I'm hoping that after the said three months the new we will hear will be favourable, else we are looking at an indefinite strike

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The saddest part is that one don't even know when it would be all over.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, I am indifferent about the strike and don't really care if they extend it or not, anytime they resume I will still continue with my schooling. The strike is actually helping me with my plans, I have learnt to look at the bright side of any problem and as for this ASUU problem, I see it as an opportunity to learn something new. Any smart student won't let this strike go to waste, learn something that will be useful to you after you graduate from school

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a good way of thinking Kushy. Since the government aren't doing anything to help us, we might as well do all we can to help ourselves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sincerely speaking, I wasn't expecting anything good from the meeting. The struggle continues. I feel your pain, but you can't feel mine. I ain't got any.. Nigeria Will Always be Nigeria. No surprises. One thing though like you ended the article Victory is Certain

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right Sometimes it's all just a waste of emotions with nothing to show for it. It's best to just go with whatever comes.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I heard another 3month strike has been hard to it, but to say the truth, asuu are right, there is a saying that government is transciding, that is, it is continuous, so the previous government had a deal with asuu, and after the new government came in, the review the deal with the academic body, but now they dont want to fulfill their side of deal but have 100million for primary election??

$ 0.01
1 year ago

ASUU isn't to blame much and that's a fact. The government don't just care. It's sad that those who suffer the consequences have no place in decision making

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I said in my class WhatsApp group that we are a joke to FG and ASUU. Was thinking of starting my report for my FPT and then this came. Na till August be that.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

They don't think we're important. I pray they don't add more months to the three they added already because that is something they can do.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My prayer is that thy end it before the three months.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen oo. Amen.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo i don finally give up, I was already planning to resume this week until I saw they already the strike for another 3 months

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow you almost resumed? That must have been demotivating..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Honestly I don tire 😩

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I dey tell you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sorry about the headache at the moment, it will go very soon. I am presently angry and annoyed at the country that I find myself in, they don't care at all about us, don't add little to it. I pray God won't leave us to be mocking stuff to those that didn't go to school at all.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. The least we can do is channel our energy into doing productive things while we wait.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What is ASUU

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Question answered already it seems. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Academic Staff Union Of Universities In Nigeria..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh.. That's saddening that they are still on strike

$ 0.00
1 year ago