Children's day in Nigeria.

23 57
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

I used to think that the 27th of may is children's day worldwide until today when I was thinking to write an article. I asked google what is date is children's day and to my surprise, it was something different. Not even close to the date I have always thought was children's day. I found that the date set aside for children's day globally is the 20th of November and the reason it was surprising to me is because I once made it my mission to memorise all these special dates and I did a pretty good job with it.

So today being children's day in Nigeria, it is supposed to be a wonderful and cheerful day where you take your kids or younger siblings to amusement parks and have lots of fun. Sadly enough that wasn't possible because of the current situation of the country. There wasn't any curfew no restriction of movement but any careful person doesn't dare join crowds or move therein.

Every year in primary schools, the authority usually take them out for excursions on children's day that's after they've paid a fee of $2. They intended doing so this year but none of the students paid, not because their parents do not have the money, but because of the issue of safety. My younger sibling who teaches in a school told me this and even in the most difficult of situations, we always find ways to make ourselves happy.

Today is a public holiday which means there's no school and so all students are at home. I was happy when I saw children dressing in their best clothes and playing in the streets. They were so engrossed that none of them noticed me when I passed by. I feel like children of this generation are more understanding than we were to our parents when we were kids. They know they can't afford an outing for whether security or financial reasons so they are doing it their own way. Mind you, I speak for the place i live not the whole country because I know there are those who'd take their children for outing. Here it is advisable not to, at least in the meantime.

Thanks for reading. As you might have perhaps noticed from today's writing, I am not really in the mood to write as I am a bit sad because of the news that has been flying around. Yeah, about the impending end of read.cash and noisecash. Although we all knew they wouldn't last forever but I think non of us thought it would end too soon. Anyways, however it turns out to be, whether it turns out true or not, let's all appreciate how this site has helped us and even if it does stop, it will remain one of the best family I have ever been part of.

Thanks for reading folks.

Yours Layly,

💖💖💖😊

15
$ 2.63
$ 2.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
$ 0.05 from @pajeroz
+ 11
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
1 year ago

Comments

I actually made the mistake of writing 27th of May as world's children's day but someone corrected me and I googled it and found out that it's actually November, I didn't even know that 😆.

It's sad that children's day in Nigeria has turned into just a normal day. In the past, we used to have parades organised by different states and parents took their children out to have fun, but yesterday just felt like a normal day, I didn't see or hear anything that made me recognize it's children's day

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The misconception is that common huh? 😂 It's really sad aswr. As I saw the children today I felt a tinge of sadness for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, you have remembered even with mistakes but I never tried to memorize it because I can't memorize dates actually. By the way, hope every children gets an wonderful childhood environment and learn good things.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. I made that a mission of mine. .. and yea I agree that every child deserves that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Opportunity will come and go, the best is to be grateful for what we could achieve from it. Readcash has tried and if it will end, it's still good at least and it's a memory for us.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. It has really tried olorun.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

May we commemorate this children's day we can always support them to be able to raise them better and hope and pray for changes in the country for children who are experiencing difficulties in life.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen. May God make it easy for every orphaned and homeless baby out there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Usually hard to keep track of all these dates for me. Earlier I was even thinking if today's the world children day or just in the country. Who would have thought you had the same thought too.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hehehe. Most people do not really know that it is only in Nigeria.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy children's day celebration to all my Nigerian friends

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy childrens day to all kids out there..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Amen

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This side is different, most of the plazas and shopping mall was filled with children today and they were enjoying themselves..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wow that's good to know. Here it was so dry.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Which side are you in Nigeria?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I live in Kano

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy Nationwide children's day all over the world, kids need to be celebrated right away

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You're right. At all time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's also a shame what's happening in Nigeria, children have to go through a difficult time right now, maybe we should pray for them

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's about the best thing we can do for them for now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It a day to celebrate our children, however we ought to celebrate them always and not occasionally. Happy Children's Day.

$ 0.00
1 year ago