The beliefs that I want to unlearn

43 63
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Is there a part of you that you wish that I should have not known this or that? There are a lot of existing beliefs we grew up with and sometimes they are not helping at all. Like, they are contradicting your very own belief and thus, making your life harder. We Filipinos have multiple superstitious beliefs, religious beliefs, and political beliefs. How can we balance the beliefs and reality? I am so curious today how I sorted the beliefs that I need to hold from what I need to let go.

As a boy who grew up on a farm, basically most of my family has beliefs about supernatural beings hiding and living in trees, ground, or even ants' nests. One thing I have shared before was when my uncle was believed to be possessed by a Kapre (giant creature). That's weird and unbelievable. Yet, this family of mine always believes that they are hovering and watching us from the dark where they are living. Supervising the plants and unseen power of the barrier.

The moment I started to write this blog, I was actually thinking what I am regretting to believe as a child and as a young adult. It is because we have carried the beliefs since we were young. It was passed down generation to generation. There are beliefs that actually came from the ancient times and up to date, we still believe in them. They say believing doesn't cost us anything. But I said, believing costs us innocence and distortion of reality. I can say that it was so true.

First on my list is what we call Santa Claus. Each Christmas, children are so excited to receive gifts from their parents, relatives and godparents. But, others are not. They believe that Santa Claus will give them presents at night when they are asleep. Well, as a young boy, my curiosity was heightened whenever I see Santa on the movies. So, what I did was to get one of my newest and longest pair of socks. Then I hanged it outside of our home. You know, I am so hooked up with this fantasy and I woke up in the morning without even a money or presents. He fooled me! That is why from then on, I told myself that I will never ever believe in the same thing again.

Second of all, the belief that I should sleep in the afternoon or else I would not grow up. This is one of the most hateful beliefs I had until now. You know, my mother will always insisting me to take a shower in the afternoon and few minutes later. She would command me to sleep or else I would not grow. Then as a child, I believe my mother because I want to grow up. I want to have big muscles, strong bones and long legs. Sometimes, if I really don't want to sleep, she would scare me that she would not give me a snacks at 4pm. Goodness! Here I am, a poor soul, listening to his mother well. Trying hard to sleep until I really became asleep.

Third in this beliefs that I want to unlearn is when you kiss a girl, she would be instantly get pregnant. The heck is that? Is this even an unacceptable belief? I guess so, because I myself was fooled of this belief. Actually, there is a belief that follows it. If you touch the girl, she would be pregnant them you have to marry her. I don't know where this is coming from, but I tell you it's insane. Like, how a girl be pregnant without man's liquid or something? How I wish I didn't know this belief because we are living in the 21st century. Others are believing this deceitful and unreal belief.

Our generation was blessed with thousands of high-quality and high technological devices that even before was not dreaming to happen. Back then, internet is truly an unbelievable concept. A concept that was bashed and criticized by many. But look at now, internet is the one who changes everything we believe. It's possible to see each other from afar. We can track where is our family through GPS. We can learn news from other countries without going in their country. We can communicate with people around the world in fast and real-time. Now, are you telling me that Santa Claus exists? Alight, I'm off. *laugh*


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

My previous articles you might love to read:

Thank you for reading. I'll you see you next time!

20
$ 5.09
$ 4.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Marts
+ 6
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
1 year ago

Comments

Every kid in the past believed very much in Santa clause being real at one point, but we can't say the same for a lot of kids these days who are already very familiar with technology and can tell if something like Santa is real or not 😆

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There are so many beliefs when I was a kid that I thought it was true. I just laugh at them when I remember the beliefs haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol! There are lots of beliefs that we have adopted from the Westerners and other culture starting with Santa Claus, Valentines Day, Halloween etc. We have been taught early on that Santa Claus doesn't exist and other festivals were based from pagan beliefs.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, but you know kuya, it's fun when kids face are so amused about Santa Claus. It made them excited for every Christmas

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grvh c nanay ko non ksi pinapatulog talaga kmi after lunch pero tumatakas ako hahhaa. Sarap mglaro sa labas eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ayun lang po ate. Talagang patakas din ako non pero laging nahuhuli. Wahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha the afternoon sleep is a shock to me because I am just hearing about this. I know they want us to sleep so they can enjoy some peace in the house but not with that excuse.

About the kiss enh... hahaha they used it to scare us back in the day mehn. You dare not move close but I broke that rule when I was 10 since I got to know it was all lies.

I never believed that Santa Claus thing because what we have here is Father Christmas and you have to go and meet him, he won't be the one to come and meet you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it is included that they want some peace, but the real point is that you will not grow. It's very popular here in the Philippines haha. An insane belief! So you are testing the erm, beliefs whether they are real or not. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

🤣🤣😂😂🤣🤣🤣 they scared children with that for real hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😅A kiss can actually get a girl pregnant, depending on how dip you guys go, I remember when I and some other relatives use to visit my our grand aunty, they always force us to sleep at noon after eating lunch. 😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, how dip is it? Haha. Just kidding! Yeah, so you have that culture similar to Filipinos as well. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I also unlearned some of our superstitious beliefs because they are unbiblical basis. It will happen what you believe. I Stop believing on things which are no basis.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Right. Pag walang biblical background hindi dapat paniwalaan pero syempre kung proven as facts naman po why not.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Relate ako dito Marc. 😁 Yung matulog sa afternoon. Lagi ako sinasabihan ni mama na matulog sa tanghali kasi pag hindi, hindi daw ako lalaki. Takot ko naman kaya pinipilit ko talaga matulog ng tanghali. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po ate eh. Bakit kaya gusto nila na tinatakot nila tayo? Para lang magawa yung gusto nila sa tanghali charr

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Literally Santa doesn't exist. I think the creation of concept Santa is just a way to make the children obey the commands of there children and that if they behave well, they'll receive a reward

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's right. A concept to make a child happy and do his best to receive gift from his parents.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha! Yes, I remember hearing from the elders na kapag nahalikan o nahawakan mo ang isang babae, dapat pakasalan mo na. Ganun tayo ka-naive as a nation before. But good thing, medyo natututo na tayo hehe.

I agree with you dun sa "believing doesn't cost us anything". Hindi pwedeng walang mawawala - kasi nawawalan tayo ng pagkakataong malaman kung ano ang tama kung binibigyan natin ng puwang yung mali :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo nga po kuya. Nako, yung mga gawa gawa nilang paniniwala talaga eh. Hahaha. Medyo baluktot talaga sa paniniwala ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kung alam mo yung movie na Polar Express, grabe naniniwala ako don kasi kala ko base on true story hahaha. Every Christmas nagsasabit ako medyas tapos pagkagising ko may pera na 100 pesos. Sinasabi ni mama mahirap lang daw si santa kaya ayun lang kayang ibigay hahaha. Narealize ko na sila sila lan din yun.

Yung sa kiss, ganun din paniniwala 🤣. Sa pelikula kasi ganun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Natawa ako sa sinabi mo papi. Hahaha. Minsan talaga maloko din mga magulang natin eh. Pinapaniwala tayo sa mga maling beliefs. Hays.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hahahays imagine nasa 15 or 16 yrs old na yata ako non naniniwala pa rin ako kay santa claus 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Jusko hahahha. Til now ba? Whahahha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hoyy syempre ngayon hindi na hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whaahha. Jusko tatawanan talaga kita kapag umuoo ka pa. Mag send pa ko ng laugh voice recording ko. Wahahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ISUSUMBONG KITA KAY SANTA CLAUS PAG GINAWA MO YAN. SASABIHIN KO NAUGHTY KA HAHAHAHAHHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whahaha. Naughty naughty naughty boy. Charr!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

hays hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha,its sounds funny yung i kiss mo si girl tapos mabubuntis naabutan kuna yang beliefs nayan Denn subrang nakakatawa kapag yan ang ginagawang panakot ng magulang sa mga bata nuon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh diba ate. Haha. Ewan ko ba pano nila naisip yung ganyang paniniwala at pananakot sa mga bata noon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Santa actually exist but not the way we see in movies. Santa won't pass through the window to drop gifts for us, neither will he appear in our rooms. In my country, there is a special spot, were u go to see Santa. And he will give the children gift. So Santa is real. And about you kissing a lady and she gets pregnant, it was so funny because that is not even possible

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Really? Oh, that's an actual person right? Where is your country btw? I am so curious where you come from. Hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never regretted anything hihi. kahit na alam kong hindi naman pala talaga totoo yung beliefs ko noon, I am still glad with. It adds color and meaning to my childhood. And of course, fun as well hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pero ano yung pinaka ayaw mong belief ate na sana hindi mo nalang nalaman?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, but I always sneak around every afternoon still I grows taller than them whom slept hahaha. Oww kissing is really forbidden in childhood haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Whahaha. Oo nga bro. Hindi rin ako palatulog kapag tanghali pero look at me now. 5'8 hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I don't really believe Santa Claus hahaha. And I think parents uses such for their children to follow them for their own good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I used to believe Santa Claus, but when I grew up. I realized it was just a fantasy made by people.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

👍👍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe naman kapag hinalikan mo pregnant agad...huhuhu I cant HAHAHA

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true kaya. Yan ang sinasabi ng mga elders non eh. Whaahha.. Nakakatawa lang isipinn ngayon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Naalala ko tuloy yung kuwento ni mama na sa pwet raw ako lumabas. Tapos nung grade 5 ako, napagtanto ko na isa lamang yon na malaking kasinungalingan haha. Tapos yung kiss na mabubuntis, akala ko ganon makaform ng baby ganon kasi yung pinapakita sa tv yung intimate kiss tapos ilang months buntis na haha. But as I get older, I get open minded heheh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahahah. Jusko kiddo. Ang mga magulang talaga natin kung ano-ano sinasabi satin.. Kaya ngayong malaki na tayo, hays. Isang malaking kasinungalingan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago