Sometimes the place you used to is not the place you are belong

27 48
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

These past few days I wasn't feeling well. My body weight dropped significantly from 57 kilograms to 53 kilograms. I lose almost 4 kilograms in just a week. I had few headaches and my eyes are aching most especially the left one. I'm low blood too. I'm taking daily vitamins such as vitamins C and Multivamis like Enervon. I did some stretching and exercises so that I still can maintain my physical health in check.

Have you ever had felt peer pressure?

You don't have to answer my question. I know most of us had felt the feeling of peer pressure. Peer pressure is a type of pressure that can get from your common peer such as friends, classmates and cousins. The greatest peer pressure I ever felt was way back on high school. I can consider this pressure as dangerous because it pushes me to exert my everything in its limit. On the other hand, this allows me to have breakthrough in every stage of my life during those days.

I still remember the phrase my grandmother said to me few years back. I actually don't want to remember this but I think it's the past so it's okay. It is second grading period and the our card distribution was finished. I felt joy because I retained my grades which I had a general weighted average of 94.67%. Thus I remained top 1 in our class which is a great feeling of satisfactory.

When I visited my grandma's home, my smile is very evident to my face. I entered her home proudly holding my achievements which I worked on really hard in the entire grading period. Restless nights due to review, and finishing projects. I presented her my grades and she smiled. However, after a minutes, I was shocked to what she said.

"Ang taas ng grade mo ngayon Denn ah. Wala ba itong itataas pa katulad sa pinsan mo? " (Tagalog para dama!)

"You had high grade now, Denn. Can you not raise it (grades) like your cousins?"

After she finished her sentence, I smiled and pretended to be okay. I said I can do better next grading period. "You don't have to worry, La", I added. When I went back home, I was hurt and my heart is bleeding in her words as if a double-edged sword. That day I promised to myself that I can show them how capable I am in my academics.

In addition, it fuels my desire to be committed to something that I don't like. Although I like to get high grades, but not in that way. My vision to achieved my goal was covered by hurtful words which blinded me until I was in senior high school. Thankfully, I met Jesus along the way and set me free from the chains that I was the one who chained myself.

Not all places you used to is where you belong

You might used to cling to someone for you to be able to advance. There are people who are opportunist which if they saw someone who can help them achieve their goal in life. They will cling to get that person's attention and trust. Even if the journey is rough and unsure, but if they can benefit. They will go for it. Those are very dangerous people.

You might used to hangout with friends. We cannot live and enjoy the benefits of friendship without hangouts and parties. We usually set a plan to go a trip such as hiking, biking, dining in a restaurant, watching movies, visiting parks, and strolling around local tourist spots in your area. However, there are extreme hangouts which we should avoid like attending parties every night, asking you favor to do something that's you are not comfortable to do, drinking alcohol, smoking and even trying drugs. Get out in this kind of group of friends.

You might used to blame yourself. I was once a person who used to blame myself for everything happened badly at home. I felt so responsible as if I'm the one accountable to everything. Also, you might used to blame yourself because people are leaving you without knowing the reasons why. I'm telling you if people are leaving you without reason, it doesn't mean they don't like you. Don't blame yourself. You deserved better. Better friends, better lover, and better relationships.

"Sometimes going out from your own shell is advisable. Exploring the world with eagerness and burning passion. Don't stay to what you used to because that's the only thing you know. The world is big and you are so free to do anything you want. Find a place you are happy and accepted."

Happy a hundred and eleven (111) subscribers!

Thank you for reading!

Blog #39 
3/6/22

14
$ 5.00
$ 4.74 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 7
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

Comments

I have never been a believer of peer pressure because I believe we do things that are already there in our mind and then we blame it on peer pressure. I have been with people that smokes a lot but I have never for once been pressured to do the same because it goes against my ethics. Peer pressure usually affects people that don't have strong willpower

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa! That is good insight. Yeah, i think will power has something to do with peer pressure too. It's good to know that you never smoke.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing that I am also proud of my parents is that they never ever made comparisons in my grades, they never expect things to be high or low. Just that what I could that's enough hehe, in terms of peer pressure, boys are boys for sure lahat naman tayu nagdaan sa ganiyang estado eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Then you have a great and understanding parents bro. My parents didn't expect anything from me too. It's just that my grandparents are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just don't understand why there will always be someone who just can't appreciate someone's achievement. Ako din naman palagi na cocompare mostly sa mga pinsan ko, pero when it comes to acads, never pa namn akong na compare ng family ko kahit kanino

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeaah, I still don't get it. It has roots and i don't want to dig in about it. Siguro comparing makes them not feel behind also.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bakit tong article na to eh parang same sa nararamdaman ko ngayon. Wengya HAHAHA pero naranasan ko na din yung macompare. Ganyan naman talaga sila eh, at least na maging proud hilig nila mag compare.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala akong masabi ngayon ate. Haha. Parang na mental block dahil sa health condition ko ngayon. Anyways, ewan ko bakit ganon mga nakakatanda ngayon. Ganon siguro sila noong bata pa sila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know what, when I was in HS I was also peer pressured to excel too. Nakakainis pa e may rankings sa class, which is unnecessary. We are here to learn not to be compared to each other.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga yung rankings nga ang mas lalong nag dadagdag ng pressure lalo na kung medyo mahigpit ang parents. Awit sa mga grade concious parents.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me its just a matter of willingness to someone, once a person understand what state this person is in, then the action follows.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Whoa, that's quite deep. Sorry bro, I cannot understand nor comprehend this now. My head is aching. Ugh!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ipahinga mo lang yan bro. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes it's so advisable for everyone to come out of his/her shell if one must explore the world. Because if anyone continue to stay in the shell and be comfortable with the shell he /she will definitely limit their self.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just like a chick, if the chick stays at its shell for long, it will rot and die. Getting out of your own shell doesn't mean to leave othere behind, but accumulate all the experiences and lessons you can have.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have rightly said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have rightly said friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is an adage in my place that says... "If a goat walks with a dog, it will also eat shit someday" peer pressure can be great sometime and can be deadly.. It better we know where is good so we can belong there

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I like that proverb, really meaningful. Peer pressure can be view good or bad, but most of the time it is bad.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I came to understand that being comfortable at where you would make someone to remain on a spot. Sometimes it's good we push out to the outside world and explore.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well said! It's okay to stay to a place where you felt belong, but you should not stay for long and disregard everything on its side.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Most times we need to leave our shell and explore the world to be with people who would love us for who we are and cherish us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. Discover new people and make new friends. You never know that you will meet the one for you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang hirap kasi kapag ung expectations nila sayo mataas, parang pride na dimo maabot kahit anomg gawin mo. Kung yan lang kaya mo, yan lang talaga e. Hayaan mo, support parin kami sayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo ang saklap talaga noon pero okay naman na ngayon. Hindi ko lang talaga naintindihan sila ng mga panahong nagwawala sila haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Friend happy Sunday! Very true not all places one used to be is where you he/she belongs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I cannot greet you happy Sunday yester night. Happy Monday! It's good morning. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago