Filipino culture: How can we disagree to elders respectfully?

32 113
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

We, Filipinos are very loving and sentimental to our family. We value our parents, grandparents, and elders so much. They are like a big statue in the park that we look up to. However, sometimes we cannot deny that we will have a disagreement and argument with the elders. Most of the time, children and young people like is the one to blame for it.

Growing up in a religious family, there are certain values, core values to follow and when you break any of those. You know what will happen next. It is either you will received punishment or long-lasting double-edged painful words from them. I cannot blame my parents for that because that's how my grandparents raised them as well. In fact, I was raised by my grandma too when I was young.

There are situations where you will have to raise your voice and speak up for yourself because you know they are wrong. It is a fact that our parents are not perfect and they make mistake raising us as well. I know some of the users here are parents and I would like to ask you. What's the difference between you, as a young people back then speaking for yourself and now, as a parent hearing what your child argues when you both have a misunderstanding?

How do you disagree with elders respectfully?

I have noticed that sometimes our parents are being forceful to what they want for us even if we really don't want it to do. I know some of you experienced being dictated by your parents, and you voice out your opinions about it. The time you started answering back, expect that their moods will suddenly shift. Some parents become aggressive, some will frown and some will act violently.

What are the things that I have done when I want to argue with my parents with respect. I listed few list and I hope you learn something from it.

  • When speaking truth becomes destructive.

Always remember that when you want to response back with your parents in an argument. State the truth. Always state your honest feeling and opinion about it. It helps them to understand what you really wanted and they will realize that. It may be hard to speak truth, but when you start voicing it out. It feels like a big burden has been out from your body.

  • Hear more about their perspective.

It is very important that you will listen first. Do not try to react and retaliate without knowing what's their perspective about it. In this way, you are learning about their intention and why they are mad about it. Sometimes, we tend to answer back quickly than listening to them. I know it's hard to accept their perspective when you really don't want to listen to them. But you have to do it so that the situation will calm. Thus, you cannot win over them. That's it!

  • Don't spice things up.

I have tried to lie about an argument so that I can win over them. But later on, when the found out the truth. The only person to blame is me. Meaning, you don't have to lie. Tell it frankly. I believe parents want to hear a honest response from their children than hearing white lies.

  • Speak calmly with moderate voice.

This is the main problem why the conversation ends not well. When we start raising our voice to them, they will interpret it as if you are rude. Don't ever raise your voice. Speak calmly and moderate as much as possible. Be patient. If you want to win the argument with them, you have do it in peaceful way. I know, we know exactly what happens next when the conversation with them ends not well.


To sum it up, always be patient and nice when you are debating or discussing something with your parents or elders. We, Filipinos hate rude and disrespectful person a lot. We do not care who they are but as long as they disrespect us. We will no longer have a good relationship with them and that's a truth.

If you want to bring a sensitive topic that might break rules in your family so be careful. If you don't want their decision and choice for you, then speak up for it. Because at the end, you will not be happy and the burden is in your shoulder not to them. I hope that what I learn from my experiences will help you. But remember, you know your family more than anyone else here, so you know what's the best decision to do.


Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty

These are my generous and kind sponsors. I am always thankful to them who believe in me and to my article every day.

My previous articles:

Thank you for reading!

15
$ 4.28
$ 4.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
+ 8
Sponsors of DennMarc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DennMarc
2 years ago

Comments

I always state the truth kaso di sila papa talo eh HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha. Alam mo nama sa Pinas, iba ang datingan ng mga magulang at elders. Pero respeto at pag unawa nalang din ang ibiga natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Doesn't matter you are elder or junior...I will respect you if you respect me..thats it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's good concept bro. Respect me, then I'll respect you. You don't respect me, then I don't respect you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, am not a fan of being dictated to or being scolded or reprimanded, I find it extremely difficult. But this are great tips friend, worth following, perhaps I'll make use of them friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes bro. Actually who would like to be under and reprimanded in bad way? Well, still respect should be given to those who deserved and our elders are great example of that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

we really have to speak calmly and moderately when we are talking with our elders. Pero ang hirap din gawin pag napangunhan ka na ng emosyon mp hihi. Pero as much as possible, I stay silent nalang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madalas talaga stay silent lang pero hindi kasi kami tinuruan ng mga magulang namin na manahimik kapag inaabuso at nasa katwiran kami. Hehe. Pero makipag debate tayo ng mahinahon at mapayapang usapan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My father was very strict. That's how he was brought up. That was his way of educating and that was his way of expressing love. Now I as a mother try to teach my children values and respect for others. I think they do the same now. Interesting content. To reflect on the way our parents educated us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I came from strict parents and grandparents as well. Full of values and rules. But, because of that I became a good person. Discipline person. I would do the same thing to my future kids and enhance it even more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really hard for me not to shout back especially when I'm being shouted at by my parents. But these are lovely ways to act respectfully, thanks Marc, I'd definitely start practicing this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, it's definitely hard to control our emotions when we are at peak of being scolded and shouted. However, you know thy are our parents and we must honor and respect then in all ways. Thanks!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

One thing my parents still detest till today is when you're raising your voice at them. Sometimes it's hard to control when you know that you're saying the truth and they're not willing to hear, you just flare up at the top of your voice. This is bad, we should learn to maintain a calm tone with arguing with them, Whether we are right or wrong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is a very hard situation for all young people. To be heard and to be spoken. Like why raising our tone is the based of respect and rudeness. Yeah, learning to be calm when we argue is highly recommended.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Stay silent, that's what I always do, kasi kung sasagot ka kahit mahinahon at tama naman ang point ko sinasabi agad nila na "Sumasagot kana, wala kang hiya, sinong nagpakain sayo??" hanggang sa maungkat lahat ng nagastos nilang pera para sayo, so better silent nalang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay minsan talaga kapag nag aaway na, nag-uungkatan na ng mga issues before. Kaya ang ending, mas lalong nag kakainitan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo talaga haha, minsan kasi dahil sinabing parent eh dapat mas mataas ang pride.. iba yung sa akin kasi ayaw bumaba, kaya wala ka paring magagawa..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mapapa awit ka nalang talaga minsan no ate? Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha talaga..😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good thing now that my elder are open for disagree and correction sometimes they are the one who asked first if what they doing is correct or not. Well they actually also respect the education they gave upon us. I really loved that the family I belong wasn't that toxic hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a good thing in your family bro. Well, it should be having a balance communication especially in arguments within the family. Let each other speak and listen too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I grew up in the family which "OLDER" one is always right, don't you dare to fight back, lol! I don't usually argue with my parents or Ate or Kuya..But if I am so fed up, hindi na lng ako magpaparamdam..haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. Very dominant ang authorities nila eh. Dapat kung ano gusto nila, yun ang masusunod. Pero sa ngayon, nakikita ko na medyo nagbabago na. Hindi na sila masyadong authoritative. Submissive na rin minsan. Haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kapag may work ka na, mahihilot mo na iyan.. Pero.kapag nag senior na parents mo..balik ka na naman sa tahimik na lng

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree. In our family, they really stick to the 'i'm older, i'm right, and I know better' attitude. I guess the approach will always depend on the personality of the people you are talking to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right. I'm curious why we Filipino have this kind of attitude towards the youngsters. It's not good sometimes because we tend to hurt the young people as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you DM for your tips, these are absolutely great ways to avoid disrespecting oldies when we disagree with what they say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, thanks ate. I know naman you are in the very very right age. You have more experiences than me and you know it better than I do. Hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmm, not really, DM. Some people are more advanced in gaining wisdom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang lagi ko lang nakaka sagutan mga kapatid ko or si mama ko. Kapag sinabi ko ang side ko and still madada padin sila, di nako nagsasalita. Hinahayaan ko nalang sila kesa naman makisabay pa ako sakanila. Pero after that, kung calm na sila sasabihin ko ulit side ko. Madalas kasi kapag sinagot sila tapos mas matanda sila, feeling nila binabastos na sila ganyan kahit hindi naman.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tama. Minsan need rin natin mag adjust lalo na kung alam mong wala ring papatunguhan ang pagtatalo nyo. Like what I said, alam na alam mo kung paano galawan dyan sa bahay nyo. Oo nga eh, feeling nila lagi silang binabastos kapag nasagot tayo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Legit yan talaga. Hahaha kaya inaavoid ko din talaga makipagtalo.

$ 0.00
2 years ago