Wedding Bells (a short story)

21 34
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago
Date: Saturday. 5th March, 2022. 

Good morning beautiful people. How is your weekend going? I hope it is going awesome. Yesterday, I came on read.cash to read and leave some comments. I decided to scroll to the very first set of articles I received in my notifications for the day. Sadly, I thought I was clicking next only to find out that I was actually clicking 'mark as read'. It was really frustrating because I couldn't find lots of articles to comment on, but I hope I will make up for it today. I think a lot of the buttons are too close to each other because I also click on light/dark mode when I mean to click on notifications. Sometimes, there is a glitch and when I click on something in my notifications, it opens something else in the notifications. I hope I'm not the only one these happen to.

Today, I did my usual housework but I didn't go all out. I woke up late because I needed the rest and cleaned a few places. I feel like I need to relax, so I'm trying to do that. I just feel so tired and sleepy now, ill probably sleep off after sitting. Well, it's story Saturday, so gather round and read.

The decorators moved on and out of the building before you could even notice their presence. They were setting up outside. They put up the beautiful lilies James and I chose. The place was bustling with activities. I went to the back of the house and found my mum and my mother in law giving out orders to the cooks and heavily smiling at each other like they are not holding back on insulting each other.

The two women never really agreed on anything. Where my mum always wanted less pepper in the food while my mother-in-law wanted more but they had to hold back their differences and express their opinions through gritted teeth for the sake of the wedding. I went to them and greeted them as both women tried their best to show care to me more than the other by asking about my health, asking me to rest, eat and relax.

I smiled at them and kept walking around the compound. Under a tree, my uncles sat there discussing like they were not only here for their share of the bride price and to complain about the quantity of food that gets to them. I don't care though, I was happy. They could have all the food they wanted. I noticed a red stain on my hand and wiped it off, then I went to where they were to greet them and they replied me with so many praises and commending my beauty. I did look good though, my makeup artist had me up at 4 am to get it done. I was actually supposed to be with the hairdresser but I decided to come out for some hair.

It wasn't long until my phone rang and it was Mary. She was my closest friend. Mary had the tenderest heart, she could never say something bad about anyone and would never even hurt a fly. When we were younger, a bully tried to hit her and fell and Mary asked the bully if he was alright. She was a saint until I spotted her going inside a hotel some nights ago with my husband.

I started heading back to my room when I passed by the guest room, it was open ajar. I went in to find my husband to be in the bed, the bedsheet stained red with his blood and a knife protruded from his stomach. Everything was the way I had left it a few minutes ago. I smiled and closed the door properly before joining the rest of the bridesmaids.

The end

Thanks for reading!

9
$ 1.11
$ 0.92 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.03 from @Kushyzee
+ 6
Sponsors of Daria
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Daria
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I have also been noticing those glitches on readcash. The one that happens to me most times is when I click on an article and instead of opening it will just disappear as if I clicked on "mark as read". And I also agree that the buttons are too close to each other, I have mistankly clicked on "mark as read" in the past

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, it just really sucks. I think the interface needs some adjustments

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unpredictable ending that allow me to pour my sad sentiment though this is so tragic I bet you'll gonna make some steps to be happy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I never see that coming my friend. I thought the ending will be a happy, but tragic to the part of the husband hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe, it was truly tragic. Thanks so much for reading!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I did not expect this kind of ending though😶 This is really a great and perfect story, I enjoyed it but the ending part gave me an immense sadness 🙂 Waiting for more stories from you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww, sorry about the end. I'm still glad you liked it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also woke up just like you! Rested renewed and fresh as lettuce! I needed it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's awesome! A good rest is necessary

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How come? Help us with more of this.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I don't understand you question. Please can you explain what you mean? Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is the killing in the dream?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait!!! I don't get it. Did that just happened and everything remained calm? Omo!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

🤣 🤣 I guess it's the calm before the storm since the rest don't know yet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow my friend, this was a wonderful story. And it strangely surprised me. I really liked the style of this story. that was perfect. 👌

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, Ellen-he, I'm glad you think it's perfect

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ah, the ending is shocking o, which kind wedding is this, is ok.. Also I would recommend you download grammarly app, I use it when I'm done typing on my phone, its a keyboard, I freeze it and use my normal keyboard and when I'm done typing, use grammarly for Editting, it will help you point out mistake in your write up and correct them. I love the story, never expected that ending😐☺

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol, thanks. I actually have grammarly but I'm mostly rushing to type and post. Thanks, I'll use it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smiles... Ok o.. Don't be in a rush next time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣 I'll try oh, I'm almost always rushing because I'm usually busy but I'll start using my grammarly keyboard to make it easier

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright mama😊❤💯

$ 0.00
2 years ago