You only have part of the control.

13 49
Avatar for DanLawan
1 year ago

I remember back in my young age, whenever I'm asked "what do you want to be in the future?" I would simply reply with_ I want to be a doctor just like my father even though at the time I am sure I fully understood what it means to be a doctor or the efforts and sacrifices it takes to become one. Yet I wanted to be a doctor as a very little kid.

When I left primary school and got into junior secondary school. At the beginning, my thoughts of becoming a doctor were still intact. I dreamt so many times that I have one day finally become a doctor like my father. Putting on that white coat, wearing my stethoscope around my neck, checking and writing prescriptions to patients, giving the sick injections. And that is all I knew then.

My thoughts didn't take me farther to seeing other duties of a doctor like, performing operations and getting stained messy with human blood, higher grade and dedication in school and studies, what out and feeling the pain of the sick and the courage to face the failures when a patient dies. I never thought of all those things till I reached secondary school.

You might have guessed, yes, my opinions begin to change. Actually my opinions changed with the help if other external and inter factors.

First of all, my dad didn't think I was going to do well if I take up the path of being a doctor, he actually did his best in showing me that I am not good in maths and science classes or medical students must be good in maths. And honestly he was not wrong, I sucked at maths and I hated it. So I agreed with him straight ahead because I still hate maths.

When I got into Class 3 (Jss 3), I wanted to be an architect or an artist because I was the best in my class in creative arts until Elijah came. And Elijah was a good artist but I still believed I was better when it comes to creative drawing. We argued on who's better everyday. Haha...I miss that fella.

Sponsors of DanLawan
empty
empty
empty

So time moved on and i reached senior secondary school where every take the first step into choosing a career for himself. Part of me wants to be an Architect or an artist and another part wants to be a scientist. I was so dull. I wasn't sure if I want to be in Art or Science class. I chose to stay in science classes at first but my teacher disagree because I had bad grades in mathematics. So sad.

So with all the ups and downs and after careful thought and random decision I fell into Commercial class without even knowing fully where I was heading, but I knew commercial students got to work at a bank or big organizations and that felt good enough for me. And then the struggles began.

You see all of us at some point in time there's a moment where we all had a dream to be something else than what we are today. Most of us never dreamt of becoming the person we are today. It happens that we are made to be this way and not what we wanted.

So whatever our dream and whatever we planned and hoped to achieve, we only achieve it because it was meant for us but if it's not we can never have it, no matter how we try. You don't have full control, you only have part of it, but you can always do what you love. That is life.

Thanks fellas

Jun 2, 2022.

If you like this article please click like, subscribe and comment.

10
$ 3.65
$ 3.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.30 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 3
Sponsors of DanLawan
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DanLawan
1 year ago

Comments

I think the junior secondary is the only playtime we can have in secondary school for once we become senior, our mindset will change and we will know that a lot of juniors are looking up to us, how about your arts, are you still doing it or have you stopped?

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Precisely, I am now an accounting student determine to become chartered Accountant someday.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was once dreaming to become a scientist but I ended up dropping out of school because my parents can't afford to send me to school so that's it

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Oh I am sorry my Friend, may God help you find a way to achieve your dreams.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dreams do change but always due to the situation or maybe our capability… we don’t always start with the right choices, it’s always meds or law if not these two nothing else but as time goes on we start having the love for something uniquely different… this is a great topic and the last lesson was beautiful

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yeah, we all start with thesame ambition at first then later as we grow we develop our own passion. Thank you, King_ Gozie. And thank you so much for the huge tip.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

There's a huge difference in what we want to become and what we are meant to be :)

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly the point. We can only be what we are meant to be.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think this is what most kids have always passed through. You know they always start being indecisive and then choosing what all others would say even without knowing exactly what it is. I have wanted to become a doctor too when I was younger but hey not anymore 😄

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Exactly the case. I believe we become what we want when we focus on a particular area and we gradually specialize in it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when someone asked me like that before, I always said that I want to be a teacher hehe because I was fond of teachers who teach the kids patiently..

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Yeah being a teacher is cool. I recently developed such interests but I want to go lecturing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah it was one of my dream..

$ 0.00
1 year ago