I watched The Tinder Swindler

49 99
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Movies, Documentary

How are you dear Read.cash readers?

Last night, I watched the documentary recently released on Netflix, The Tinder Swindler. I was curious about the buzz it was causing on the networks and my husband had been telling me for a couple of days to watch it.

What I write below reveals details of the story, in case you want to watch the documentary, so you are warned of spoilers.

The documentary is about the case of an Israeli named Simhon Hayut, who used the name Simon Leviev on the dating app. In his profile, he claimed to be a billionaire heir to a diamond business emporium. The man is believed to have swindled a sum equivalent to US$10 million from several women on Tinder. The documentary was developed from a reportage published by Norwegian magazine VG in 2019. Netflix read it and bought the rights to make the film.

This guy cleverly chose his victims, spent money with them until he started to tell them that their safety was in danger and asked them to borrow money and their credit cards, which he used to trick another girl and so he made a kind of chain of swindles. Of course, he had a personality built around himself, an Instagram account full of pictures of himself looking rich and famous because after all, he was the prince of diamonds.

The story is told by 3 of the girls scammed by Simon Leviev. The first to appear in the documentary is Norwegian Cecilie Fjellhøy, a young woman in her 30s working in London who dreams of finding her prince charming and claims to be a Tinder user for years. She makes a match with Simon and they meet after a few online exchanges where he tells her that he is a very busy person but that he will be in a luxurious hotel in London one day. They meet in the luxurious hotel cafe. She is delighted and he tells her that he has to go to Bulgaria on his private jet and why doesn't she go with him. And she goes.

The situation is a bit absurd to me because there is another woman on the jet with a little girl, supposedly the mother of Simon's daughter. Cecile goes and sleeps with Simon and when she returns to London they keep in touch. She considers herself his girlfriend and then the back and forth begins. He is always very busy but he tells her that he loves her. He makes her see that they are a couple. At some point, he tells her that his security is in danger and he needs to use her credit cards for safety reasons and asks her for money. She gave him with no doubt because after all, Simon is the heir to the king of diamonds.

From there we begin to see how she starts to get involved in that situation. The story then mixes with the story of another girl from Stockholm who meets Simon on Tinder. And finally appears a third victim who had a relationship with Simon for 14 months, and who learns about the swindle from the reportage published in the Norwegian magazine VG which is contacted by Cecilie in the first place when she realizes that she has been swindled.

I am not going to tell the whole story, I recommend you to watch the documentary if you have the chance. But my point is that I don't know if I'm a bit cynical and that's why it's hard for me to empathize with these victims or I just don't know anything about the world of online dating. But I find it hard to believe that there are women who can be so excited with the idea of living a fairy tale and get a perfect prince charm, attractive (and Simon is not even that much in my opinion), and multimillionaire. And also firmly believe that a guy with that profile will get it in an online dating application.

I've never used one of these apps, and I've never dated anyone I met on the internet. I remember that just graduated from college my sister had a boyfriend she met on the internet, I don't remember where she met him but he was Mexican. Then by chance, she had to travel to Mexico for work and they met in person. He even came to Venezuela for a visit and he was a pretty normal guy. Also, a friend of my husband's met his wife on the internet and they were married for a few years before they divorced. But other than this, online dating is not a world I am familiar with.

But watching the documentary I remembered the article I wrote some time ago about CatFish and impersonation on the internet.

The end of the story told in the documentary has caused a lot of controversies, since Simon only faced charges for some thefts he had committed locally in Israel and the penalty was 15 months in prison, which ended in 5 months for good behavior. He could not be charged for the swindling of these women. And after all, I guess it's hard to make the charges if they voluntarily gave him the credit cards and the money.

The guy after serving his reduced sentence went back to Tinder and social media to continue swindler. Of course now with the documentary from what I read he had to close the account. Now his face has traveled the world and finally, it will be hard for him to do it again at least until he figures out to come up with something different.

And you. Have you seen the documentary? Have you had experience with online dating apps? Do you think these women were too gullible or did they act out of genuine power of love? I would like to read your thoughts about this in the comments.

That's all for today. To you, my dear readers and my fabulous sponsors, thank you very much!

All writings are my own unless otherwise stated.

Image from the Netflix site.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise. Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

February 6, 2022

25
$ 11.75
$ 10.67 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @soyunasantacruz
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
+ 22
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Movies, Documentary

Comments

Hello good morning @CoquiCoin

I have heard about this news and I have read reports but I have not seen the documentary, I do not have an account on tinder, I have been tempted to create one because some friends have it but I do not know what their experience has been, I guess nothing extraordinary because they have not told me anything.

I think that if a person is able to deceive another being present and observing their gestures and actions with more reason on the internet, I have always been reserved, it has cost me to empathize on the internet and I do not like the chat as I forget what people tell me and I can not remember for time conversations on the internet, this scammer for me should study his victims and know if they can be candidates for the scam I do not think he is willing to waste time.

To answer another of your questions these women for the idea of finding a prince obviate the reality of life, it is very difficult for a prince to notice a commoner when she is not in the social circle, the rich are looking for the rich and the poor have no choice but their same social status, you can dream with your feet on the ground.

Besides a handsome millionaire man will not be on Tinder looking for a girlfriend, so I don't look on those apps as I am a princess who wants to find me better look on Read, noise and Hive hahahahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

a handsome millionaire man will not be on Tinder looking for a girlfriend

That is exactly my point.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't seen the documentary but the review you do, makes me very curious. Definitely in that kind of apps can hide scammers and serial killers. You have to be careful. I'm going to try to download it today.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The nerve of that guy :P Perhaps he is so charismatic dear Coqui that the women fell blindly in love with him. I've been on online dating, I met some nice guys some worst. It is difficult to determine whether the guy is serious or not, it will take time and trust to have a good relationship. I have friends who married their online bf's and are happy right now.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I haven't been in any dating apps. It's just not my thing. Anyways, I am planning to watch this documentary. Just finding right timing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I found it interesting to watch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Coqui. I am actually on Netflix earlier and I came across with this one, Tinder Swindler and I can see that it is the most liked right now. I didn't finish reading this and I'm sorry. I'll try to watch it first and get back here to share what I have watched. 🤗

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi Jo! don't worry, watch it and will talk later. Cheers! 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you Coqui. ☺️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I started watching that but after no less than 10 minutes I lost interest. I have no plans of continuing it for now. Scammers are everywhere and they hit you where you are most vulnerable.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ate I didn't finish reading this because I was planning on watching this one hehe and I don't wanna get spoiled a little haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha, don't worry. Watch it and we talk about it later ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Social networks lend themselves to everything, but I do believe that there are many incredulous people who easily fall into these traps. The scammers are very skilled, just by the fact of carrying it on a private jet, anyone could believe that it belongs to the scammer, few people would stop to investigate if it is true.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I haven't heard of this before, but I think I will check it out on Netflix. I believe the charges that was laid on him was too lenient, even though the women voluntarily gave him their credit cards, they were deceived into doing so and in my books, that's a crime (obtaining under false pretense)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

This seems me interesting, I will definitely watch it at weekend because this week is gonna be busy for me.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I read about Tinder before but have not really checked on it. It is sad for the women who have become victim to the swindler.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's sad, sis, but when you see how gullible they are, you understand why they end up like this.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, that's the issue I think so too. I mean, don't they at least sit for a while and think? A real millionaire won't go posting his credentials online hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven’t seen it! Just watched the trailer.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

When I was in Australia I met some guys thru dating app but the dating app is exclusive for people who are based in Australia, so far the guys that I met are still my friends until now. i think there are some girls who are just too gullible to believe everything that the guy says.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Of course sis, I have nothing against a dating app, it seems to me the most natural thing to do in a world where more and more people spend their time online. The problem is not the app where there will be good and not so good people as in real life. The problem is whoever thinks that in that app you can meet a multimillionaire guy like out of a movie of princes and commoners and they lived happily ever after, that's the problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesterday bloghound and i are also talking about some people who put themselves into shame just to find their prince.... And i wonder why they are so gullible and why do they think that they'll find a prince in an online dating app. I mean seriously they believe all the lies without doing some research

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, sis, that's the point. In the hypothetical case that there is that "perfect", ultra-rich handsome guy, the odds of such a person using a dating app are 0.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah gonna watch it, thanks for recommending.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is why I don't believe guys from online dating sites ..haha..besides, it's too tough to trust people nowadays due to rampant scams online..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

In these apps there is everything like in real life, normal people who can be reliable or not. The problem is how gullible people can be.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In times of sanitary confinement, the number of people looking for friendship or partners increased. But the case of the documentary goes further because there was a clear interest in having a relationship for wealth beyond a normal relationship. The women were blinded by ambition. They let themselves be deceived.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are right the ambition blinded them. That's why it was so hard for me to empathize with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Living on your recommendation I prefer to go directly to netflix and look for the movie to watch it. then I'll let you know how it is according to my pursuit. thanks for recommending it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome. Tell me later if you watch it :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hola, ya lo vi. te escribí por discord, jejejeje

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh and the scammers reach tinder. There are also series of incidents happened in our country which involve some foreigners. And those girls who are dreaming to marry a foreinger falls into a victim. Well maybe that's the consquences of their actions. Maybe those who are in this type of dating should be careful next time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is the same as in real life one must always take precautions and it seems that these girls did not even take the minimum precautions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After all, people on the internet are real-life people, they just have a nickname they take on and a life they create. Fraud incidents can also happen both online and in the real world. In this case, those who play the victim role need to question themselves. I did not watch the documentary, but as far as you describe, they may have experienced the hunting situation while hunting. After all, I think they gave that person their credit cards, hoping for more. If there is someone among them who has thought only emotionally and has been blinded for the sake of love, for them it is a tragedy and a syndrome that is difficult to overcome... ..and it seems to me that this person will find new victims for himself!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree, that person will look for a way of swindle again. From what the documentary tells, when thanks to the magazine reportage in 2019, he was caught and was in jail in Israel, when he got out he went back to Tinder and IG and continued doing the same. Now the issue is that with the documentary his face has gone around the world. So he will have to have surgery on his face or see what he does.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funnily enough, I had seen that advertised on Netflix, however, I thought why would I watch something about Tinder, which I have never used. It is a shame the women were conned, and I am sure the guy will go on to his next con adventure. Once a conman always a conman Eli.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I thought the same thing, but at Carlos' insistence that it was really worth watching, I watched it last night. In the first few minutes, I knew I would want to shake the first woman for being silly and gullible. But it was good to watch it. It has a good pace and it is a window into a world that is absolutely unknown to me and in which I have no interest. But it's interesting to see how far a person can go, and I don't mean the swindler but the victims. The guy will surely manage to keep on scamming, of course.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes some people are so silly and ever so gullible, when you said she got on the plane and another woman was there, I was what and laughed, oh dear, I think she would be gullible with anyone!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If that made you laugh, you would have burst out laughing when she talks about how she actually dreams of her Disney like prince charming as in the beauty and the beast. And by the way, after what happened to her, she still uses Tinder, of course, to find her beast.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh my god, the woman is absolutely nuts!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't really been so bold to get online friends much less boyfriends. But I do know of people who have made non-durable relationships with online friends.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I don't really have anything against online relationships, I think it's part of the world we live in. But from there, to believe that you are going to get the heir of an emporium who will die of love for you and is the perfect man in a dating app is a huge stretch.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is a little bit of everything. If there is falsehood in the human being face to face in a virtual world it is easier to hide lies and deception.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love watching documentaries ma'am CoquiCoin. The last documentary I've watch in Netflix about the Indian people. Thank you for sharing this ma'am. I will watch it. I will search it in Netflix. Have a nice day ma'am CoquiCoin.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If you like watching documentaries you will find it interesting. Thanks for stopping by :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am. You're always welcome maam CoquiCoin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah I have heard about this but haven't been able to see it yet! I also wonder how people don't get suspicious in these kind of situations....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, I find it really hard to believe these women were too gullible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago