Gaitas but not bagpipe

42 82
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Gaitas, Venezuela

Hello, awesome people of Read.cash. I send a message of solidarity to all of you who have been affected by the Odette typhoon. And if any of you want to help in any way those who were affected, please read this post by @bmjc98.

I owe this post about Gaitas to my friend @JuanyChelme. Last weekend when I commented that I would be attending a Gaitas Festival, Juany thought I was referring to bagpipes. But no, Gaitas in Venezuela is a musical folk genre. It's native to the state of Zulia which is in the western part of the country.

Its historical origin is not very well defined but it began as a song of religious devotion. But over time its themes are very varied. Some have elements of social criticism, love, jokes, fun, and even political elements.

Furro o Furruco

And from what I could read, the name gaita comes from the gothic gaits, which means "goat". And one of the emblematic instruments of the gaita is the Furro or Furruco, and its membrane is made from the skin of a goat.

Other musical instruments present in the traditional Gaitas are Maracas, Cuatro, Charrasca, and Tambora.

And even Gaitas are originated in the Zulia region, now are listened throughout the country, and are associated with the Christmas season.

However, some Gaitas bands that have transcended the borders of the country can listen throughout the year.

The gaitas season in Venezuela and especially in the state of Zulia officially starts on November 18, the day of the Virgen de la Chquinquira, La Chinita, who is the patron saint of the Zulia region. That day is celebrated the Feria de la Chinita, which although it is a festival originally with a religious sense has become over the years in a big party with big concerts and events where the Gaita has a leading role.

I don't usually listen to Gaitas when listening to music, but I do like them at a Christmas party or at some event in December like the one's last weekend.

One of the Gaitas I like the most is Sin Rencor composed by a Venezuelan musician called Negito Borjas from the group Gran Coquivacoa. Another classic that reminds me of my childhood, that became fashionable at that time, and has a lot of influence by the Colombian musical genre cumbia is Amparito from the group Maracaibo 15.

And the fact is that the Gaita has become a fusion of rhythms. There is little left in the most recent gaitas of the first traditional ones. An example of this is that perhaps the most internationally known Venezuelan musical group of the genre, Guaco. In their music, they mix the gaita with Latin pop.

To finish, let me tell you a little about what I did last weekend and what was the origin of Juany's comment.

For many years in Caracas, the students of the last year of high school of some Institutes form groups of Gaitas and make intercollegiate festivals. The tradition is so old that I participated when I was in high school. Last weekend was the festival organized by the Gaitas group of my son's school.

Gaitas Festival

Many schools performed, most of them with impressive choreographies, which on the one hand is admirable but on the other hand has made the presentations a little far from what is traditional Gaitas.

Last Sunday I attended another event where the Gaiteros from my son's school also performed. This time in the square of one of the neighborhood of the city.

Gaitas on the Cumbres Square

The event at the plaza started in the afternoon. There were fewer presentations than on Friday, but the atmosphere was very festive too. I talked about both events in a post I made on Hive a few days ago, in case you would like to take a look at it, A weekend of music and fun.

Cumbres Square, Caracas

Having clarified what Gaitas is for Venezuelans. Let's keep with the festive spirit, and I will vote with 0.20, the first ten comments that tell me the name of a Gaita song of the band Guaco. And to be fair and so that there isn't too much advantage and that everyone has to do a little search on the internet. If the person commenting is Venezuelan, he/she should put the year of release of the song. ;)

If you made it this far, thank you very much for reading.

Thank you to my amazing sponsors. You rock!

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much for reading!

All images and writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

December 18, 2021

24
$ 8.06
$ 7.10 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 22
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago
Topics: Music, Gaitas, Venezuela

Comments

Sorry for the late notice, sis. But just want to thank you for mentioning my article.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are always welcome, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dios mío, las gaitas internacionales; como me enorgullecen! Thanks a lot my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

De nada! Gracias a ti por pasarte por aquí. Saludos! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well this was all new to me! I am glad you had fun Eli and I hope your son enjoyed it all too. What about .... Te Lo Tengo Que Decir
I do like the words in the name of the song!

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Haha, it's almost Todo Lo Tengo, lol

By the way, I've never asked you before why TengoLoTodo y no TodoLoTengo or TengoTodo is there a story behind it?

9

$ 0.00
2 years ago

or lo tengo todo, there is a story behind it yes, lol When I was in Spain I used to do network marketing and my team I called TeamTLT , Together Let's Teamwork, and choose Tengo Lo Todo as it is TLT, I know it is totally wrong grammatically for Spanish, but it was fun to use and it is how non Spanish speakers would write I have it all. So there you go, a brief wee story :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Knowing you I thought there had to be a story behind and it turns out there is, Mr. TLT. I was going to ask you days ago when I read someone referred to you in a comment as Teng and then I forgot. But here La Tengo ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Always a story Eli, well life is a story :) Yes there is a couple that call me Teng, lol another name for me

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I sometimes wish I could travel out of my country so I could experience other people's culture as a means of having fun and learning more.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I hope someday you can do it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I won't take part in the contest because I'm a genuine music lover and you know, others can have a chance here, (who knows if a songwriter ;) ) But anyway, I'll leave this comment: To find a full "Gaita" version of guaco, is kinda hard because they made a big transformation of their musical style, but I've got one I love: Maria la Bollera, it has a classical style, so difficult ´cause Guaco use other musical resources to sound that "unique"

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Good choice, I like Maria la Bollera too. :)

8

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really awesome to learn about this, so interesting to get to know cultural traditions in other countries. And I loved Venezuela as well, visited in 2013 and loved the people and landscape there!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You are always welcome to visit us again :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have always followed Guaco and one of the songs I like the most is "Las Caraqueñas" from 1984. What a great event that is still going on. Happy day to you

$ 0.20
2 years ago

I like Las Caraqueñas too. Happy Sunday to you Frank :)

7

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is that a music festival mam?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, it is :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cocola its my first time to heard about it but let me take my guess its Lágrimas No Más year of 2017 cross finger. Reading it makes my mind daydream that I am in that place enjoying the music even I am not familiat whit but the beats makes me connect though.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

I'm glad you connect with it. Thanks for answering 😊

6

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this is the first time that I heard about Gaita.

hmmm is it Gaita bonita? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BqnpOInPAHw

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Yep, sis hehe. This is one of Guaco's old Gaitas. 😊

5

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not going to lie that I heard about it once. No. But I was interested to read about it. You live your own rhythm to the sound of those drums, and I even have a little idea what they sound like))) I know that some festivals are tiring, but you support your son-it's important for him.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you so much for stopping by. And yes, supporting our children is very important no matter how old they are.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love learning about cultural practices.. wish to see that in person :))

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Maybe someday you can come to visit, Doll ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These kinds of dances are not common with us here in Africa. Maybe, i'd like you to make a video of It next time out so i could learn its dance steps cos i like dancing to other people's songs

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hehe, I will consider making a video next time. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Venezuelans always expected to hear the gaitas in previous years to say that there was already a Christmas atmosphere. And a house without bagpipes does not enjoy Christmas. And I expect them to give a lot of bagpipe answers.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't heard that music but I will give my entrt for this. Como Es Tan Bella (1995)

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Thanks for joining ;)

4

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not sure with my answer , " el Billetero" I tried listening to the song and seems like I wanna dance salsa ( though I am not good at it😂). I don't actually understand but its because of the beat

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Yes, of course, it has some salsa rhythms, after all both are Latin rhythms. Thank you for answering with the name of a Gaita.

3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never heard about Gaitas.. Learned about it just now..

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I never heard that one yet, but I'll try to check that out. I'm not confident with my answer I guess Lágrimas No Más (2017).

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Thanks for reading and commenting. Your answer is correct ;)

2

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gaita Bonita in 1974

Hahah! Love this challenge and twist in the article.. I should do this too and see who reads lol

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Thank you sis for joining jeje. I'm glad you like it :)

1

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like gaitas, but I never learned to dance them.

Una rapera que canta gaitas... En su Vespa y casco con moñitos jajaja recorriendo los festivales de gaitas gritando 905 in tha house pistolitas

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Algun día te voy a ir a buscar en esa vespa fucsia, lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago