Coexist together is possible

61 101
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello, beautiful people of Read.cash! We are already in the last week of October, and I hope you all are ready for the Trick-or-treating.

However, as there are still a few days until Halloween, today I'm going to write about a more serious subject.

I don't know if you do it. But when I think about the Pandemic and its effects. I always do it with a negative outlook. Having in mind the loss of friends and family and how our daily life has been affected. The struggle of my son with his online classes. How the confinement has affected our social life, the possibility of traveling, and the effects on our finances. And I have never been to think of any positive effect. Although, in the last times, some news has referred to how the forced pause caused by the pandemic has brought some temporary effects of climate change.

But yesterday, I watched the outstanding documentary The year earth changed. The film explores the impact of confinement on wildlife. It was filmed in different locations across all continents, over nine months. And it was released last April. The film is directed by Tom Beard and narrated by the well-known British naturalist and broadcaster, David Attenborough.

The documentary shows amazing images of nature's response to that forced respite that was given to the planet. During the time that the confinement lasted, many news told about how the air quality had improved in various parts of the world. In cities with a lot of pollution, the improvement was dramatic.

One of the events that the documentary narrates is how in Jalandhar in India, for the first time in 30 years, the inhabitants of the city could see the Himalayas in the distance. The tallest mountain range on earth had always been there, but covered behind a curtain of smog and pollution for the people of Jalandhar.

Endangered species such as loggerhead sea turtles, which improved their reproduction rates as the beaches were deserted. In the documentary, they show it with images of scientists who were studying the reproduction of these turtles on a beach in Florida in the United States.

Of course, there is no shortage of images of wild animals walking the streets in some cities. Or like in a resort in South Africa for tourists of Safaris, the wild animals were at ease in the hotel facilities.

But in my opinion, one of the best messages that the documentary leaves is that it's possible to achieve better coexistence with the natural world that surrounds us. And how small changes in our behavior can have an impact on nature. And achieve coexistence between humans and wildlife, if humans lighten a bit their footprint in the natural world.

The film shows how in a town in India called Assam, a project succeeds in promoting coexistence between farmers and elephants. The movie segment explains how a group of farmers agree to plant rice fields on the edges of the jungle so that elephants can enjoy their favorite food without raiding farmers' nearby crops. And the project shows how elephants are limited to eating only in crops near the edge of the jungle and don't raid farmers' crops. A perfect example of coexistence between farmers and elephants.

The documentary is streaming on Apple TV. And If you find it, I encourage you to watch it.

Image by Kanenori from Pixabay 

I would be lying if I said I noticed some change in Caracas, in the natural environment. Air quality has probably improved, but Caracas is a city with clear skies. And as there is much less traffic. So even if I have no evidence. Probably, the fauna of the city should have found more spaces.

However, something that I've noticed and isn't positive at all. It's how since the pandemic began, we have increased the use of plastic containers. Deliveries services in the city have proliferated. Therefore, the use of disposable containers has increased. Our customs have adapted to the new normal. Now ordering delivery food is more common than going out to eat. And at least, in my house, now the disposable containers proliferate, which doesn't make me feel so good.

Did you notice any change in nature around you during the confinement?

Thank you to my wonderful sponsors. You all rock!

To you, my dear readers. Thank you so much!

Image credit on the caption.

All writing are my own unless otherwise stated.

© CoquiCoin  

You can find me also at Noise.Cash ⊛ Hive ⊛ Torum ⊛ Twitter

Until next time! ;)

October 25, 2021

26
$ 13.19
$ 12.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.22 from @meitanteikudo
$ 0.11 from @Infinity
+ 18
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Lockdowns, have disadvantage and advantage to our environment. The positive side is that, it reduced the pollution and slowly heal the planet because our activities are limited. The negative in is the massive usage of plastics because of so many reasons. Here in our place, I have observed that one of the rivers are filled with masks and other plastics :(

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, the masks and all the protective material such as face shields have also increased the amount of waste. Too bad that people throw them into a river.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like when it comes to the matter of co-existence there needs to be a rational discussion how we can go about it because I fully believe that it can be possible the nature, humans and the world are always evolving though sometimes it can be a little bit difficult to see peaceful and harmonious future I feel like it's possible.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree it's possible as long as human beings have a will to achieve this harmonious coexistence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

exactly so true

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Excellent article, nature will always look for a way to maintain balance, what for us are catastrophes is simply nature looking for a way to balance itself. In my case, we increase the crops in pots and reuse the packaging of flour, rice, to plant. We only go out to buy groceries, we prepare everything at home, including sweets and cakes. Garbage has decreased to such an extent that we hardly have any, vegetable scraps go to vermiculture.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's great Frank, that you can recycle almost everything. I do what I can here. And some time ago in some municipalities there were good initiatives to recycle some waste, but everything was lost with the crisis and I think it was due to lack of will too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Almost everything has been due to lack of will. For years I have had several productive projects that I have not been able to implement for the same reason. One of the projects was the one presented by Bernal, the breeding of rabbits to increase the protein in the diet, but the project was badly directed, you can't expect to give a couple of rabbits per family to raise them at home, it's crazy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally crazy that of giving two rabbits per house. I also remember the idea of vertical chicken coops.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Those vertical henhouses are used in farms, although I don't like the idea, I prefer free range hens, they are also called happy hens, they walk free in the field and come to their nests to lay, they are not in cages, they are healthier and nutritious eggs.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the eggs that we call here Picatierras, but nowadays here in Caracas are hard to find.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Coexist? Super possible, the big problem is humans (yep, including myself). Thank pandemic (not everything is bad) nature could take a little break but, we are the problem, but we need that harmony to come true if we want to keep "using" this planet.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I fully agree that the big problem is us, the humans.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only positive I take from the pandemic is that Mother Nature took time to recover herself from the damage we caused her. Living in harmony with each other is great and I love the crops being planted for the elephants. Plastic use is up, I try to recycle and now buy from food companies that use cardboard.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree on the only positive outcome. And unfortunately, plastic use is increasing. I should do a blacklist of delivery services that use plastic containers. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The healing of Mother Nature is indeed one of the advantages this pandemic has brought to the planet. Before, in the metropolitan Manila, you would think the smog as fogs, lol!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's true, coexistence is possible, but I don't know how long this will last now that everything is going back to normal or the "New Normal". My town didn't change that much except that you don't see much traffic after, for the rest is just the same. I hope that some of the good changes the Pandemic brought to the planet could endure for many years to come, but that will depend on us, I believe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yep, it is up to us. But in many places, everything has gone back to the way it was before. I think most people aren't conscious of all of the impact on nature. Here things are returning to normal except for the classes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Even before the confinement, there have been a lot of changes to nature. In a lot of cities in my country, the quality of air has become worse especially in cities with lots of industries and large population.

For example there's a state called Lagos, which is the center for businesses and companies in my country. It has a very large population and right now it's overcrowded and the air is of a very low quality because of this, and also because of a lot of vehicles and industries which pumps carbon dioxide into the atmosphere.

I actually think things will keep getting worse from here, and though the COVID-19 situation in my country is not strict like in many countries, but the damage has already been done and we can't go back to the way things used to be

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm sorry that the air pollution situation in the cities of your country is so bad. That affects not only nature but also human health.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am, it affects us as well and on the long-run, it will be very disastrous to the body

$ 0.00
2 years ago

La pandemia nos ha echo ver la parte más humana de la vida y la más dolorosa también. Linda mañana

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Muchas gracias!, feliz día para ti.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have the same sentiments with your title co existing together most especially that I incline myself as an animal advocate. With the grievances of animal welfare I will sometimes post about being mindful about other living beings, that we humans are not the only ones created by God that we should co exist, if we cant help this animals then the least we could do is not hurt them. My advocacy to animals later on spreads to taking care of mother nature. I have noticed how our irresponsible and selfish actions to nature the ones that are mostly affected are animals. They begun to go extinct because of what we do to their natural habitats and the way we kill them slowly by those mindless throwing of garbages. And yes agree with the way nature was able to breathe when all of us were on quarantine during the world’s major lockdown.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

At least, something positive came out of the pandemic. And nature had a sorely needed relief.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish everyone or government would check out your post. You've reflecting everything in your post. Pandemic massacre ruined up everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, the pandemic has been a shocker as everybody presently has the opportunity to see nature and each and every other easily overlooked details they don't keep note of previously. I trust everybody understands it's of extraordinary advantage living content with different miracles of Nature. So far I can't highlight any change here, things are as yet unchanged.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow I would check out that documentary I never really thought of this in that light I have always looked at this pandemic in negative ways only but I am starting to realize something hmmm 🤔

$ 0.01
2 years ago

If you find the documentary, it's really worth watching.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would look for it 🤩

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, the pandemic has been an eye opener as everyone now has time to notice nature and every other little things they do not keep note of before.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Somehow the confinement made us appreciate many things in nature that we didn't notice before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope everyone realises it's of great benefit living at peace with other wonders of Nature. So far i can't point to any change here, things are still the same.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

When the pandemic started and everyone was at home, I can clearly say there was a big changed in nature. The cloud and sky was so clear as there's no smoke coming out from cars, it feels so fresh that time. But right now, since there's already a new normal and people are getting out again it seems to be how it was again before the pandemic.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The pause and respite to nature were only temporary. But that should make us think that some changes must be made for the good of the planet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Coqui. That was the best change I have seen so far. How I wish people can maintain such. We are the one who can benefit it anyway.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

mother nature was able to regain its beauty, but then again, sadly we are now starting to go back to normal and some irresponsible people are back at their bad doings

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sadly, most of the achievements, such as the reduction of air pollution, were only temporary and as far as everything returns to normal, the situation will return to the way it was before.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this, 💞

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really hope that these improvements around the world will continue because right now, the world is facing a great problem about Climate Change and it's quite alarming.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Staying at home for most of the time, i really don’t see much around the natural resources. But I did see some of the businesses closing because they could not keep up with the economic impact of the pandemic. It’s quite sad and unfortunate

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Many have lost their businesses and their jobs. In one way or another we have all been affected.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Environment is now at risk. Usage of poly bags are destroying us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

About poly bags, I try not to use them always that I can.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only when we learn to coexist with other creatures on earth... I love the initiative of the farmers in Assam. We can actually apply that where it is needed.

I can relate to the use of plastics. But I am glad that it is now prohibited in our town and even in the city. So when we go to the market or groceries, either you bring your own eco-bag or they use paper bags.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The initiative with the elephants is inspiring. I don't use plastic bags either, but the disposable containers seem like an invasion lately. The deliveries and take-out food should find more ecologic ways to present the food.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, it's like the farmers are feeding them indirectly. They use the paper/carton boxes for take-out foods here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember the first news on the subject, last year. Clearer skies, cleaner air, wild animals appeared in cities, LOL, and I was annoyingly locked in my room. I am the same as you, in my town I have not noticed the change at all, it is also because I rarely leave my house. LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I want to go to these places again and again. It's nice to have them around when you go. And upload different types of pictures.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is now only in my imagination that we can live with other animals, respecting each others habitat, and taking care of the Earth, because we only got one.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It is possible, only that most of the time humans don't have the interest to achieve it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Makes you realize that us, the humans, are in fact the perturbing factor in nature and our evolution helped us and only us. We don't care about destroying whole ecosystems for the sake of progress

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Absolutely, humans are the most selfish species that exist.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The conjunction with The creatures is a lot of conceivable similarly as you have expressed it here all things considered, we have prevailed with regards to taming other wild lives like canines which shows we can really exist together with them all. One of the progressions I have seen is in my plants. With the downpours as tempests that travel every which way my plants have gotten more grounded. Channeled water isn't as old as.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The coexistence with The animals is very much possible just as you have stated it here after all, we have succeeded in domesticating other wild lives like dogs which indicates we can actually coexist with them all

$ 0.01
2 years ago

One of the changes I have seen is in my plants. With the rains in the form of storms that come and go my plants have gotten stronger. Piped water is not the same as rainwater. I have read that species that were thought to be extinct in different parts of the world are appearing. That is a good thing. Nature opening the paths to life.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yep, some species have resurfaced with the breath that the planet took. It's certainly something to ponder. And your plants seem to know that they have to be stronger to withstand the ravages of time. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's right my friend, I have them trained for combat. Lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We do not have to worry about climate change, that's for sure. God is 100% in control 100% of the time. We should be good stewards of the planet, however. I haven't had the time to watch the documentary yet but plan on it. Like most documentaries, there is inherent bias that I always look for.

In the end, the world we live in is deteriorating both physically and spiritually. Just look to Romans chapter 8.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The documentary is pretty good, watch it if you get a chance.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will. I have a few in front of it right now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago