A walk in the park

73 116
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Hello everyone, wonderful people at Read.Cash. I wish you all a happy day/night!

A couple of mornings ago, my son and his bestie convinced me to take them to spend the morning at Parque del Este. I haven't been to the park for a long time.

The Parque del Este, whose name has changed over the years like many things in the country. Now is called Parque Generalísimo Francisco de Miranda. It was built 60 years ago. It covers an area of ​​64 hectares. And although it has clearly seen better days, it's still a good place to go into its paths and forget a bit from the hustle and bustle of the city.

So without further ado, I invite you to join me on a little virtual tour of this park in Caracas.

Parque del Este, Caracas, Venezuela - Photo by me.

The animals in the park

When we got to the park, the first thing my son and his friend wanted to do was see what animals were left in the park's zoo area. So we headed there. The truth is that there weren't many animals. Many of the areas were empty. But we got to see this Jaguar.

Jaguar at Parque del Este - Photo by me


The Jaguar is the largest feline native to the American continent. In some pre-Columbian cultures, these Big Cats were considered gods. They are similar to Leopards, but the spots on their skin are more complex and have a black point in the middle of each spot. If you want to read more about the Jaguars, you can find more information here.

After taking several photos of the Jaguar, we went straight to visit the monkeys. Of these, there were several. And these two, in particular, seemed to be gossiping while eating.

Monkeys at Parque del Este - Photo by me

These monkeys are capuchin monkeys (monos capuchinos). They are the most common species of monkeys in Venezuela. And their name is due to the black spot on their heads in the form of a hood (capucha).

After visiting the monkeys, we went to visit the alligators (caimanes). There were quite a few in a pond accompanied by many turtles. Those in the park are of the Crocodylus acutus species (Caimán de la Costa).

Caimán de la Costa at Parque del Este - Photo by me

The morning was quite hot, and most of the alligators we saw were like the one in the photo lying in the sun with their mouths open. A curious fact about alligators is that they open their mouths when inert in the sun to cool their body temperature through perspiration.

Then we went to the aviary, where many of the areas were empty. But this bird with a majestic appearance caught my attention. It's a Cóndor de la Selva.

Cóndor de la Selva at Parque del Este - Photo by me

It is a scavenger bird. Native to the Americas that live mainly in tropical forests. When I took out my phone to take a photo, it opened its wings as if it were posing.

In the park, there is also a terrarium. But since the snakes scare the hell out of me, we didn't visit it.

When we left the animal area, we continued walking along the paths of the park, and we went in search of the replica of the Corvette Leander.

Paths Parque del Este, Caracas, Venezuela - Photo by me

The Corvette Leander replica

One of my best childhood memories of the park was to visit a replica of one of the caravels with which Christopher Columbus discovered America.
You could get on the caravel and go around it. And get an idea of ​​under what conditions the first explorers traveled to American lands. The replica was from the Santa Maria. The three ships with which Columbus first arrived in America were La Pinta, La Niña, and La Santa María. The latter being the smallest of the three vessels. For those who don't live in our continent and don't know the history. The first point the explorers reached when discovering America was an island called Guanahani. Today is one of the islands of the archipelago of the Bahamas. Although, there isn't clarity on the part of historians as to exactly which the island is. Find more info on the Santa María and the replica that used to be at the park here.

But returning to the park, years of neglect caused the replica of the Santa Maria to end up being abandoned remains. And was replaced by the Corvette Leander in 2011.

Leander replica at Parque de Este - Photo by me

The Leander was the corvette used by Francisco de Miranda on his first expedition to Venezuela in 1806. Francisco de Miranda was the precursor of the independence of Venezuela. His role in history is important not only in Venezuela but in the world. He fought in Africa, Europe, and America. He participated in the Independence of the United States. In the fight for the freedom of Latin America. And in the French Revolution. Therefore his name is one of those engraved on the Arc de Triomphe in Paris.

The Leander was not open for visits. I don't know if they will open it on weekends. Although, from the outside, the structure looks quite deteriorated and urgently needs a renovation.

Next to the corvette area, there is a lake where you can rent pedal boat rides. But at the time of our visit, it wasn't working.

Leaving the Leander area, we walked to an area most recently attached to the park.

Bolivar Park

The Bolivar park is a recreation area inaugurated in 2018 on the grounds of the La Carlota airbase. The park is attached to the Parque del Este through a bridge over the largest highway in Caracas, the Francisco Fajardo.

View of the highway crossing Independence Bridge, Caracas, Venezuela

To go to Bolivar Park from Parque del Este. You have to walk across the Independence Bridge.

In the park, there are several recreational areas. A cafe in a tower. And an artificial lake. But without a doubt, the best thing about the place is the majestic views of the Avila.

The Avila from Bolivar Park, Caracas, Venezuela

And although several clouds covered part of the mountain during our visit, the view was still simply breathtaking.

After this visit, we decided to end our visit to the park. It was noon and was hot.

The park also has a planetarium that I don't know if it is working these days and an acoustic shell for concerts and shows.

Parque del este, Caracas, Venezuela

Although the park isn't living its best time, It's still a good place to spend a morning in Caracas. So if life ever brings you here, it's a nice way to spend a morning in the city. Thank you for joining me on this virtual tour! :)

To all my dear readers and wonderful sponsors, thank you so much!

All images are my own.

Until next time! ;)

August 7, 2021

32
$ 13.34
$ 11.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.10 from @gertu13
+ 17
Sponsors of CoquiCoin
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for CoquiCoin
2 years ago

Comments

Wonderful report. I have enjoyed it.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like all of the photos here i never been in a park for a long time, your so lucky to have a place like this, kids would really love to be there.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! I haven't been there in a long time and it was fun to visit it again.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! My little nephew would love to go to that park. He loves animals and your photography is amazing. It emphasizes its beauty. I would love to see my favorite animal, the elephants 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! Unfourtanetly in the park, they have a few animals since it's not a proper zoo. So there are no elephants. I haven't seen one in a long time, but I also love them :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, it's alright. I will still stroll in that park 😄

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're a great photographer 😍 Thank you for an amazing tour. 😁

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! :) You are welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are quite a bit of animals in the park. I like Jaguar and the alligator the most.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The jaguar was my favorite! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The weather was perfect for your stroll at the park..I bet you had a great time

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes! It was a fun morning! Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

welcome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my visits to Caracas, I used to go to Los Caobos park, I have a long time that I don't travel to the capital, I visited that park as a child, apparently you took the photos from the best angle, it is still a beautiful place to visit. Regarding the maintenance of the ship, it seems to me that the law does not allow restructuring of historical monuments, I think it is a mistake not to be able to make accurate reconstructions with new materials that keep alive the essence of the scenario, for example La Real Fortaleza de Santiago de Arroyo (Castillo de Araya), largely destroyed by the Spanish before his abandonment.... The years go by and the destruction by environmental factors continues, it could be an impressive tourist center, if it were rebuilt as the original, that is another story that at some point I will bring to the platform. Thanks for bringing back fond memories

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm glad it brought you fond memories. The park, despite the abandonment of some areas, is still a beautiful place. But there is a lot of laziness. Most of the food vending facilities don't work. The water in the ponds doesn't seem to have any sanitation process. And the animals in the park are seen to be the ones that have resisted. Our country has beautiful places that are in complete abandonment. I have years without going to the east of the country. But from your comment, I see that things don't receive adequate maintenance either. And it's not that difficult, just a little goodwill. And the intention to not let the heritage of the country, like so many other things, end destroyed. I look forward to reading about the Castillo de Araya. Thanks for stopping by! Muchos Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As you already know, I have little time in Read, but what I like, unlike others I have been with, is the solidarity and the encouragement to continue researching and writing. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, keep writing. It's worth the effort. I love writing here. It took me some time to monetize, but I didn't give up. And it was worth it. Just write from your heart.

If I can do anything for you, I will be happy to help you. And if you activate your sponsor bar, I will sponsor you too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know how to do it, thank you so much for the support, I was liking this, now I don't have words to express my gratitude.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are always welcome! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I love this park it looks so huge and really spacious for those animals to live. I love that it has a lake inside too and the amazing view of the Avila is breathtaking.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! The park is beautiful and large. It has many things to do. And yes, the Avila is breathtaking. Caracas is a privileged city by having it. Thank you for stopping by! :)♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, I have never visited Parque del Este, someday, if life allows me, I would like to visit it. The photos are very beautiful. Very detailed the tour you did. Thanks for sharing. Greetings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you like it! And I hope you can visit it someday! Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow what a beautiful place! The jaguar is pretty cool

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! It's a nice place. And agree with you the jaguar is cool!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was really fun with your son and his friend. Hope the Juguar was chained into its cage because I can't see anything of such. I guess you people don't get scared of them because they are what you loved over there. Thanks for showing us different animals and beautiful places.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We did have a fun morning. The Jaguar wasn't chained but in a large and deep area. That's why I was able to photograph it so well. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Avila just made me wow! You know me, I like them clouds and mountains :D The monkeys are funny. I thought the alligator snapped one of those turtles. Although the way the Leander looks now, the wear and tear, I like it for it adds more character to its character. Splendid walk!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

You would love the Avila and would enjoy each of its trails. Yes, monkeys are quite funny and naughty too. But the turtles, nah. Alligators can't beat them. They are always around the alligators. In the plains here, when you see caymans, turtles are always there too. LOL

The Leander doesn't look too bad, and you said it has some character been like that. But the sun here can be inclement and is in dire need of maintenance to won't end up like the previous vessel.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm amazed when I see different animals in one place although not their natural habitat but still, amazing! There is a proposal to set up a zoo here. I don't think it's a good idea considering we have more rains here in the mountains.

I hope soon the Leander will be repaired and maintained.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The rains can be a problem for a zoo with all the flooding. Which could endanger many of the animals. So it doesn't seem like a very good idea;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I think there was a petition by concerned individuals to reject that proposal. I wonder what was the outcome of that.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope the request has a positive response. But unfortunately, in those things, the economic interests tend to prevail.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, what a great place to be with your kids. And the photos are all aesthetic. 😍💛

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!. And yes, it's a great place for kids, and for adults too, hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing tour! Thank you for this my friend❤ and your photos are sharp and great and beautiful! And those greens and the blue skies, I love them! It was as if I was there myself. Reminded me of a park tour I've had somewhere in Canton where I met alligators, rhinos, giraffes and others.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I'm glad you like it and enjoy it! Happy Sunday to you! ♡

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do. Thank you and likewise to you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! The park looks beautiful, and there's zoo on it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A good way to have fun. Don't tell me the jaguar was not inside the cage because the picture is not looking like it is inside the cage. I really enjoyed the virtual tour,I want more of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The truth is that it isn't in a cage, but in a large and deep area with some railings around. I'm glad you liked the tour. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh, no wonder it looks as if the jaguar was free to meet with people. Yeah,I really like it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You have excellent photographs of this place that gave me so many moments of happiness with my partner and my family. I have sighed thanks to your photographs that are beautiful.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you! I'm glad you enjoyed them! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

it was a fun and informative walk, the quality of the pictures is very good.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This virtual tour is amazing. I especially loved the pictures. Thanks for the virtual experience

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks! :) I'm glad you liked the tour!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Brilliant Eliana, you know how much I love a park. Hehe and the chismis monkeys ;)

The leopard was so cool, it looked like a statue and that cayman of course brought back memories. I am not surprised you gave the snakes a miss. And the three ships. I used to live in El Puerta de Santa Maria and they loved Columbus down that area of Spain. A shame the park has seen better days, but a great morning out.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Hehe, the chismis monkeys. When I saw the cayman, I remember your story, hehe. And yes, the Jaguar is pretty cool. There were some ducks, but their pond was so dirty that I didn't photograph it. However, I tried to talk to them. But it's seen that I don't have the qualities of Eddie W. I guess, in that sense, we aren't alike. 😂 😂 . And Columbus, although he was Italian. Is very important for the Spanish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you wouldn't think he was Italian they almost claim him as Spanish, I thought you would remember my cayman story, and I forgot about their mouth open cooling. Oh no a dirty pond, you need a Dafty translator there 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, a Dafty translator could be cool! LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe it definitely would be

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What an excellent tour you have given me. All those pictures are beautiful. Too bad there is no respect for the culture and they allowed the ship or its replica to be destroyed. That antique is the same age as me lol.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thank you, Gertu! I'm glad you like the tour. It's a shame that the authorities don't properly maintain the park facilities. It is a space with a lot of potentials. And the vessel looks in bad condition, so I suppose it will soon meet the same fate as the Santa Maria replica.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I experience with this kind of tour like in the zoo ma'am. Thank you for this virtual tour for us ma'am. The view was perfect, I like the ship it is awesome..😲❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you! :) I'm glad you like it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes ma'am a lot. You're always welcome.. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for the tour! That corvette! I started imagining myself in there. The jaguar is cool too!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome. I'm glad you like it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I just made a virtual tour around Caracas Park. Love it. I would like to try drinking coffee at the cafe in the tower. For sure the view is breathtaking. 👍🏼

Thanks for the tour. 😍

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, the cafe at the tower it's a nice spot with an amazing view. Maybe, you come to visit here someday, and we can go for a coffee there :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love that. 😁😘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for such an amazing tour 😌

Loved it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm glad you liked it! Thank you! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for taking us on a walk with you too. I love your photos. They are so beautiful and clear, especially the photos with the clear blue skies and puffy clouds covering the mountain :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you! :) I'm glad you like it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amazing! Wow! The Jaguar and the ship are my favorites! I bet you guys had so much fun!

$ 0.03
2 years ago

The Jaguars are beautiful animals. We indeed had a very fun morning. xoxo, sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow that's such a cool park, i wanna see a.real jaguar too.. Never mind the crocodile 🐊 hahhaha, im scared of it😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well, crocodiles are quite scary. But all the ones in the park during our visit were like petrified by the hot sun, hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago