It took more than 30 years for this to happen 

29 36
Avatar for Cogamedia
1 year ago

It is now official to God

The Sunday started with rain and my sleep was getting sweeter, that's when I realize that it was all a trap and I should get ready for church, though it happened to me last two Sundays and I ran late for church because it was raining, but the truth is that when you are determined, nothing can stop your movement, not even rain, I went to church and I wasn't that early though but at least the service just started, but this is not my article of the day though. 

What is about to write might be common to some alien to others, but I'm going to write it because it's indeed good news to me and my family and if I'm not writing about everything, I'm sure I would have released two albums of it that contain about 15 songs each, haha. 

My mom and Dad met in our hometown province when my dad traveled for the holiday and he was about to leave for the city as soon as possible, his aunty back then was telling him to stay a little more before going back to the city, he stayed a little more and that's when he met my mom, my mom was the friend of his sister, that made things a bit simple for him to talk to her, anytime he tells us the story, I and my siblings will want to laugh but we will just hold it inside of us, not because of how he usually says it though, but what he said after, he will now say that what if he had left to the city without staying a bit longer, that's when the laughter were holding inside burst out, haha, then we won’t have been born then.  

Everything went as it went and mom moved with him to the city, they stayed together and that’s when the first child came, the second one and the rest of us, without dad paying his pride price, which means that were born outside wedlock, still we didn’t make that to bother us when other kids were showing pictures of their parents wedding, we will just be smiling and won’t say a word about ours cause there’s nothing to say though. 

Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty

Years and past and dad don’t even think about putting money in her head (to pay her pride price) but still she didn’t leave us, though sometimes things get out of hand and went not good way, but we still bounce back up as a family, years goes by and the two elder children’s were working to support the family with what they have, they were the two that really saw life from another level because things were worst back then, but thank God we made it out of that phase of our lives, I remember when we were staying in one room for more than “I don’t know when” cause I was born in that one room and some of my elder siblings too, so literally if I were to calculate the time we left there or use my elder siblings age to calculate it, it wound been more than 20 years we stayed in one room, about 6 children and both parent, before the eldest siblings travel to stay with one of the relatives in outside the state, while the second born too went to stay with another relative but it was in the same city. 

Things started getting better and we left the one room to a two, which one will be room and the one will be the seating room, by the support of both elder siblings, we stayed there for some years though it wasn’t up to 6 years, before we move into a 3 bedroom flat apartment which I and my  immediate elder brother was sharing the same room before he went to get a place of his own, now the room belongs to me alone, it’s can only be God for real, like sometimes when I look back I just smile and thank God for his goodness in our lives today, it could have get worst than that but instead, it was getting better and better for us, I know that God isn’t done with us yet, he’s still doing more for us.

The story is long though, but I’m just going to cut it here now, the full details will be on my music album that I haven’t started working on yet, the good news is that. On Friday both parents and my sisters traveled to my mom's village so they can do the rightful thing by putting money on my mother's head (paying my mom's bride price) it’s indeed a thing of joy but it never came easy for us, my siblings made it possible by the help of God for it to be done, I was supposed to go but due to my some reasons that involve money and seeing some family people that don't even know that I exist, I didn't go. 

Both parents holding the marriage certificate

It took over 30 years for this day to come when my mom and dad has officially become husband and wife, it wasn’t easy for my mom at all, imagine waiting for 30 years plus, Not every super hero wear cape, so many of them are mothers and my mom is part of them, my pastor usually say it’s not right for any woman to be  livings with a man on credit, which is the truth and it usually touch my mom, well right now, she’s officially married and she’s no longer funnykaty with my dad, haha.  

Digital Art of my mom I did some years back.

Happy Mother’s Day ma, you are indeed a living legend that I will always keep admiring. 

Lead image source

08-05-2022

15
$ 3.35
$ 2.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jento
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of Cogamedia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Cogamedia
1 year ago

Comments

I wish your family more happiness

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen. Thanks a lot

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is great news friend, a happy married life to your parent. It not easy tho, kudos to all mothers out there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Truly, the true ones are heroes 🤍

$ 0.00
1 year ago

A big congratulations to your family 🎉. Actually this same thing happened in my very own family too. And we thank God for that

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, we thank God for everything

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Isn't that just a beautiful story.. Your mom is indeed a patient and worthy woman. Very few women would have been able to stay that long, but she didn't leave. Kudos to her

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah swr, with the way things went. Omo, at least its now a thing of the past.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Omo, 30 good years??? 😲 Your mom tried o, some women would have given up and left. The love between your parents is real, thank God your father finally made things right by paying her bride price

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For real, God is to be praised for everything.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

What a perfect post for Mother's day. Your Mom is a frikkin queen for that much patience. you said it right, not every super hero wears cape,.. so inspiring

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, this made me realize that there are still a lot of genuine women out there that are true.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Finally, they officially tied the knot already! Congratulations to your mom and dad!💐🎂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awee this so cute and inspiring, congrats to your mom's marriage 💓

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, that's true 😅 thanks a lot.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow...this is what I admire about our mothers of old...they have that tenacity...that resilience... It's a long time to wait...I have to admit. Happy Mother's Day to mama.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, sir, though the women of now can be something else sometimes, I believe that there are still genuine ones.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, we still have genuine ones out there even if they are few.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Such a long long of time. Happy mother's day to you mom

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot. She appreciates

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's a long and awaited moment for them.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, but she waited.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh! Very long wait... Your father is blest with a patient woman. I am sure, I really cannot live like this. You are lucky to have a mother like her, treasure her! Happy mother's day to your mom, my greetings for her!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, I'm he must have known it by now.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I admire the courage with which you wrote this article, you left so many things too honest. Congrats to your dad and mom.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, sir, it's better to come out clear than to just write some parts that sound good.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations to your parents and happy mother's day to you mother🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot, she surely appreciate it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago