Me In 5 Years.

11 50
Avatar for Chief_Mekus
1 year ago
HAPPY EID-UL-FITR

Before I begin, I want to use this opportunity to wish my Muslim Brothers and Sisters a Happy Eid. Hope y'all had a nice time.


The topic "Me in 5 years" is a vision that has not been tested and may be affected by external factors; it's a subject of my personal instincts and may not be the standard.
Several changes have occurred in a lot of choices we've made ab initio; some of us have had a change in career, whether deliberate or unintentional. Some of us had the dream of indulging or being professionals in certain fields, but were hindered at a stage by circumstances beyond our control.


Growing up, I have loved the sights of galaxies and other celestial bodies outside the earth. They fascinate me a lot. So I wanted to have a career in that field. I undertook research on the field and what it entails to be an astronomer, but I had a certain experience that, made me have a rethink about the career choice.


During our SS2 third term Long Vacation Holidays, I attended a JAMB class to keep myself busy and also learn something new. In one of our learning sessions, the teacher in charge began asking questions on our choice of career in the near future. When it got to my turn, I stood up and said that, I wanted to be an Astronomer. The man was shocked at first, so I assumed he didn't hear me well. He asked again "You want to be what?"And I gave him the same answer. The moment I replied the second time, everybody began laughing, and as bold as I was then, I really felt ashamed. He then began explaining to me that Astronomy is a very nice course/career but they are a lot of things involved; one of which includes that there's no university in the country that offers such course. So at this stage, I had two options to choose from; either I remain bent on studying the course or I have a rethink about it. Studying outside the country was a nice option, but I wasn't financially tenable at that time to undertake such, so I had to have a rethink and a change of career in the process. It was a hard choice to make, but I had no other option.


This wasn't just about a change in course; the decision also meant that I would also have a change in mindset. 
I had to do it and also restructure my mindset to fall in love with wherever I found myself. Back to the topic of the day, the only major restraint I would consider is the ongoing ASUU strike that's making it look like there's no light at the end of the tunnel. So five years may translate to a little over 3 academic years, considering the amount of time we'd spend at home because of the strike. 
 In five years time, I would most definitely be in school, although with a far better and improved mindset. That's it for today.

Sponsors of Chief_Mekus
empty
empty
empty

Take your time to admire my beautiful subscribers, they are the best.

May 2, 2022.

10
$ 0.16
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.03 from @Ellawrites
+ 3
Sponsors of Chief_Mekus
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Chief_Mekus
1 year ago

Comments

Nigeria has thought me that some dream are left un chase, not because you don't want to, but because no facilities to provide the intellectual provision that is needed to attain such height, let even talk about asuu

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Broo, Nigeria is the worst of them lots. Absolutely nothing to write home about, but what can we do. ASUU is the worst, delaying destinies.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People just want to finish and get over with school

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like the fact that you were able to talk about the ASUU strike. I don't know what's going on with them or it's like they don't want Nigerians to school again. It's painful and they are delaying some particular destinies.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah, I don't know what their plans are but it's definitely not having a good toll on us.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Don't waver in your focus in achieving your dream. Where you are now are just stepping stones to get you closer to your goal. Good luck!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you so much ma'am, I really appreciate your kind words 🌟.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do we even have astronauts in this country lool I doubt, restructuring ones mindset sometimes is the best thing to do, I believe the new career part you've chosen would be the right one for you, wish you all the success in the world on it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks so much man. We don't have astronauts, we barely have a satellite in space😂.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow Chief, Astronomy is actually a good course, sadly Nigeria is underdeveloped and the technology or requirements for such courses it has not. Well, I do hope In the near future, everything gets better. I wish you the best in the choice you've resolved to choose, and I hope the annual festival of ASUU doesn't affect your plans. Happy EID.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah man, Nigeria is way too underdeveloped to handle such a course so I had to kill the dream and settle for what they can offer. Thanks so much man.

$ 0.00
1 year ago