Beliefs And Love In Diversity

65 113
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Greetings and a blessed Holy Monday to each and everyone!

Today is Holy Monday and Holy Week started yesterday (Palm Sunday). Holy week is very significant holiday for us Catholics and Christians all through the whole world as we recall and celebrate the Passion of Jesus Christ which happened in Jerusalem to when He was killed.

Photo taken on a Good Friday last Year

Disclaimer:

I am not a very religious person and I do not go to church often, but I highly respect my faith and that is unwavering. This is also based on Catholic and Christian faith and not intended to disrespect any other beliefs. If you do not practice what is written below, please ignore, respect and go to the next post. Thank you very much.

I actually heard something today from someone mocking Holy Week, which I found a little bit off. Who are we to deem whose religion is the correct form of worship, praise and prayer? It's all in how we are taught - love for yourself, love for others and love for God (as what Jesus taught us). It's how in how we are raised and ultimately what we choose.

I take other beliefs with a grain of salt and accept them graciously and without judgement as long as what they preach is about harmony, unity, respect, love and peace. Those religious traditions that involve racism, narcissism, hatred, killing of humans is a big "NO" for me.

My parents are both Catholic and I was born and raised that way. I grew up attending the Holy Eucharist every Sunday with my mother and grandmother and even joined Parish Church' choir and Parish Youth Organization when I was a little younger. I have attended every Church Holidays including Christmas (the birth of Jesus) and Holy Week (the most important holiday for Catholics).

Throwback Holy Week Sunset

I still remember when I was kid, my grandparents used to recite the Reading Of The Passion (Pabasa Ng Pasyon in tagalog). This is a narrative book in epic poems narrating the life, passion, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ. During my childhood, you wouldn't t hear anything on the radio the whole Holy Week except the Pasyon. No Tv signals. No people roaming around, travelling having fun. Everyone is in their own home which you don't see nowadays.

My grandmothers on both sides also used to make Biko (rice cake) on Good Friday and oil from coconut and have it blessed by a priest. We use this blessed oil to cure ailments and mild illnesses.

How Do We (Catholics And Some Christians) Celebrate Holy Week?

There are actually four exceptional services in honor of Jesus Christ's Passion from His entry into Jerusalem:

  • When palm branches were put in His way

  • His capture on Maundy Thursday

  • His Crucifixion on Good Friday

  • His body laid in the tomb on Black Saturday

Summary of The Holy Week

  • Palm Sunday - commemoration of Jesus Christ's entry into Jerusalem

  • Holy Monday - the second day of Jesus in Jerusalem where he did something miraculous and have cleared the temple and continued His teachings including of telling His disciples that He would be crucified in the next two days.

  • Holy Wednesday - Jesus was anointed with oil and censured Judas for reprimanding the one who blessed him. Judas met with the priests that evening and consented to betray Jesus.

  • Maundy Thursday - Jesus held the Last Supper with His disciples.

  • Good Friday - Jesus was sent to Pilate and King Herod and was Jesus was crucified and buried.

  • Black Saturday - Jesus was laid on the tomb.

  • Easter Sunday - Jesus has risen from the dead.

Throwback Holy Week Photo

One more thing, Philippines is very religious country and most Filipinos are involved offline with family or their church functions etc. It also follows a lot of long time traditions that many may find bizarre and even disturbing for some cultures like crucifying themselves imitating the Passion of Jesus. Although I have not seen one in person yet, but would be very interested to witness it.

That's how we practice Holy Week. If you choose not to, all good. But for those who do, please respect them. It's their belief and spiritual way. We all have our ways.

I do pray. I am slowly giving up some things I truly enjoy because I am thankful for what is given to me. It is also one of the ways of me giving back to God. It's such a small sacrifice. In my opinion, God is love. He is in our hearts and not in some churches nor temples. He resides within us, if we allow so. And in God's perspective, we are all the same.

The issues have emerged when people don't accept different perspectives and accept that theirs is the genuine one. Resistance must be obliterated forcibly because what is correct should be the only choice.

Do you feel that people are jamming their beliefs down your throat?

Good afternoon once again, beautiful souls. For us who celebrate Holy Week, let's do something meaningful. Do some random act of kindness, spend time with family and love ones, offer some help and lend a hand for those who need it most and above all, stay grateful. Everything we do good is an expression of love and appreciation to Jesus who offered Hid life for our sins.

One love,

@Bloghound

You can also find me here:

noise. cash   - Hive  -  Blurt   -  Appics - DTube 3Speaks

#Bloghound #Bloghoundism and I am a member of #ClubBrokeBch

April 11, 2022

4:00 pm PST

In between the farm and the beach

Philippines

(All photos posted above are my own and taken by me unless stated otherwise)

Copyright @Bloghound 2022. All Rights Reserved.

To my wonderful and amazing daily readers and my generous sponsors, thank you all so much! 

40
$ 4.74
$ 3.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @PVMihalache
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 27
Sponsors of Bloghound
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bloghound
2 years ago

Comments

I definitely agree with you .. I was once an altar server (sacristan) for 10 years and I devoted myself with God and the church...but when I started working, I left life serving God and I am no longer attending mass...I know this is a mistake but even if I have lapses, I always put God first in mind. And never forget to communicate with Him everyday, still continue to let Him feel that I still need Him no matter what...it is just a matter of how you really think God, love Him and thank Him for every little and big blessing😊😊😊

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for sentiments, my friend and I appreciate your kind words. Good morning and nice to meet you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven´t been taught about the summary of the Holy Week, as in not broken down the way you just did and I have learnt something from your post. I also do believe the passion week as I am a Christian too who believes Christ was crucified and risen from the dead. Thank you for sharing this. Happy Easter in advance.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh thank you to you too, Princess!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree with you sis,❤️ I hope this coming Sunday makapag Simba kami. Sana di na umulan

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good morning, sis. Mejo umaambon nga today.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not catholic but I respect everyone's belief. But kailangang i mock? Anyways, we also celebrate Holy week hihi. Baka mag biko kami bukas sis kayo?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Bilo bilo cguro, Seq hehe. Good morning!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang pagiging isang katoliko khit hindi palasimba lagi pero ang buong puso ay laging na kay lord.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen, sis Jen. Blessed morning po!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Holy Weeks brings back good memories of when I was a kid. We would go to the church bring our palaspas, and in the afternoon when Jesus dies. Then the neighbors would give us different sorts of kakainin, especially the ginataang halo-halo. And on Easter Sunday after church, we would go to the beach to celebrate. One should remain respect of other people's religious practices and not push their own beliefs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You said it right, sis. Blessed Thursday!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Madi talaga dagita nga awan respeto da sabali nga religion.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Isu ngarud ya. Ingat kayo dita.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As a servant, I truly respect other people kung di nila ginagawa usual na ginagawa nang mga Katoliko during Holy Week kasi iba2 naman tayo eh..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

God bless you, mamshee!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I liked your article, it also bothers me when someone wants to instill their religion, because they believe they have the absolute truth. Yesterday I enjoyed seeing the number of people who went to church, carrying their palms to be blessed. Have a happy holy week.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much, Frank. Blessed New Week to you, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm Catholic person sis pero di ako palasimba tlga, di ko ededeny yan pero malaki faith ko ky God tlga.

Magluluto ka ng benignit sis or bilo bilo😁.. penge hehehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sa Friday pa, sis hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I believe respecting other people's belief irrespective of what they believe in should be done by all. If you don't respect other people's, don't expect others to respect yours

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I appreciate you, Aimure :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Esta fecha me trae muchos recuerdos, en Venezuela la semana santa es una tradición muy importante par los que buscan estar mas cerca de dios así como los que hacen actividades familiares, en mi hogar íbamos casi todos los años a estar presente en la semana santa en Caripito donde cada año iban miles de personas de diferente estado ya este año serán 55 años desde los primeros actores escenificaron las escenas, pero debido a la situación país muchos no hemos podido continuar con la tradicional.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sis matanong ko lang Roman Catholic din ba partner mo? And btw, a blessed holy week to you:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hindi, sis. Presbyterian sya :) Blessed Tuesday to you, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are some wise words regardless of religion...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you, doll :) Have a great wek ahead!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I got interested to read your article for today's blog. I am also a Catholic and a minister as well. Our beliefs is our life. We practiced what we believed. Happy Holy Week my friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh. That's good to know, Hanhan. You have a blessed Holy Week, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for that my friend. Keep safe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo Yan sis may mga kanya kanya talaga paniniwala at Gawain tuwing Semana Santa Ang mga tao. And kailangan natin itong repsetuhin dahil ito Ang naging panata nila tuwing sasapit Ang mahal na Araw.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Amen, sis. Pag di sila naniniwala, repect na lang. Wala naman sa pananampalataya natin na kutyain ang ibang paniniwala as long as wala tayong sinasaktan :) Good evening, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo Yan sis. Kaya okay lang yun yun Sila at yun Ang way nila respect nalang Ang mga beliefs Ng iba para masaya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not Catholic but I've been around most of them and although what they do is different from what I'm used to, I like how serious they are about it. I remember then in primary school, Catholics would go about during their ash Wednesday to put ash on the heads of all Catholics and we non Catholics would just watch. It felt exciting to me then and till now I'm still intrigued each time I see it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That is nice to hear, Mhizutty :) Bless you, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Some people just don't know what not to joke with. It's such people that are responsible for religious extremism, refusing to people's religion because they think their own is the correct one

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Absolutely, Talon. These people were laughing in front of our church mocking what heck were we doing in there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

the passions of Jesus Christ has knocked on the door of every believer's heart how His sacrifice to atone for human sins is felt so deep He must be willing to suffer with human sins, what should we do for Him? apart from doing deeds in accordance with His commands in the Bible. These difficult times are a warning and advice that in fact we are the most sinful human beings so we must return to the right path because in a little while we will celebrate Easter.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well-said, pajeroz! Have a blessed new week to you, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't actually know about the days in the holy week and what they stand for, not until I met with your article. Thanks Bloghound. Happy holy week to you. This is indeed a week of love to family, loved ones and even strangers.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh! Good to know that, Ella. Happy new week, sistah!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a Catholic but with all that is written here I really don't think you go against any rule or religion

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you for the kind words, CaptainKay. Good evening, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

IT'S QUITE BIBLICAL. And, quite something I could have read.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It is Biblical, Trofi. Happy Monday, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was born Catholic too and in our province we also do the same every Friday. Actually every Friday we do a little fasting until Jesus was risen. We can eat but only those soft foods, and so my mom used to cook bilo bilo and sometimes (champorado) porridge for us to eat and on Sunday we can eat whatever food we want.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aw yes! bilo bilo din! Blessed Holy week to you, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Trying to force others to believe in your beliefs is stupid(I don't usually call things stupid unless they really are) and yes, this is stupid. The heart is something someone other than you has control over and you can't change a person's heart with force or "trying to make them believe". You can change their mind though but not their heart. I am Muslim and I respect all religions on earth. Catholicism has some similarities with Islam when we look at the rituals and some sacred instruments like the rosary for example. All beliefs are based on love, because love is the basis of all true religions. Happy new week.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You hit the magic word, Ulquiorra! LOVE is always the answer. Thanks for stopping by, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you very much Bloghound!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not a Catholic but I do respect your beliefs,we differ in other way in celebrating this holiday sis.

Hope to celebrate this week in a fine weather,but even if not,we still celebrate it. God bless.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Likewise, my friend. You have a blessed new week ahead :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's lack of understanding that would make people to misquote other people's religion. Under normal circumstances, religious beliefs are to be respected irrespective of where we like it or not. If we check well also, we quickly get along with the religion we were born into and it's hard to leave because we are used to it.

Meanwhile, it's so good to witness this special season again

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well said, Kacy. Understanding is the word. Happy weekend, my friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aside for all of these ate, prayer and fasting is what we do too. I am always looming forward to our annual swimming during Good Friday.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh yeah. I forgot those too. Blessed Holy Week to you, Denn.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy holy week dear friend. GOD bless you more in this holy week.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You too, Dreamboy! Thank you, my friend!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We can practice our faith and do what we want without hurting other people's feelings.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly, Mura :) Wishing you a peaceful Holy Week, sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy new week to you Bloghound. Indeed our diversity isn't a cause for dispute pr mockery, but for us to learn more about ourselves and those around us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I second the motion, doc Lay. Happy New Week :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As always, great article! Wishing you a Happy Easter season from now !

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh hey, PMV. Thank you :) I wish you the same, my friend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago