The Path That Leads Me Through

15 68
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

The purpose in life that you think you are leading might not be your real purpose you want to be.

What do you want to be when you grow up? Why? These are the questions we often heard from our parents when we were kids. Often in school, our teachers also asked these questions along with our ambitions in life.

There are also kids that were told what they should do in their life by their parents when they grow up. For example, my classmates back in high school. Sometimes when we meet in the university campus during college we ask each other what career we are going to pursue.

https://unsplash.com/photos/Yv-2G04sKD8

Their answers were remarkable when I heard them say, I am taking up law because my parents told me to become a lawyer. Or I am taking up criminology because my father is a police officer and he wanted me to become one.

What do you want to be?

In Asia or in other countries If not all, sons and daughters are still controlled by their parents while they are living with them. Parents will only let them go if they have found their significant other to start their own family.

For example me and my siblings when we were kids, we were sometimes asked by our parents what we want to be when we grow up. When I was 5 or 6 I guess, I used to tell them that I wanted to be a lawyer but I don’t know what a lawyer is or what it does to the people.

https://unsplash.com/photos/WX4i1Jq_o0Y

Our parents never told us what to become or what we should become. But of course we were always reminded of the things that shaped us to become a good citizen. I was a hard headed kid and when my mother was reprimanding me, she always reiterated to me that I should change my bad behavior because I might end up in trouble when I grow up. I remember my mother said that she didn't want to have a son because she was afraid that maybe when all things fail her son would be in jail. I guess that was the reason why she was very strict in disciplining us.

Anyway, today's topic is about our purpose in life. I know some of you are asking about your real purpose in life. Even I myself am still searching for my true purpose in life. I remember @bbyblacksheep posted something about her purpose in life. I just can’t find it in her posts. I think it was posted last month.

The search is on

In searching for my true purpose in life, I found an article about personality development. The link will be posted below as my resource. The title is “How to find your life purpose.” The article is free to download in PDF format from the owners website. This was written by Celes. 

Upon downloading the ebook, I opened it and scrolled down to the table of contents. Surprisingly, part 3 opened up my mind. It was like a wake up call.  So I jumped right to part 3 with the title, “Why earning money is not your real purpose (And how to know what is)”

https://unsplash.com/photos/mQTTDA_kY_8

All my life I thought my purpose was to become a parent too when I grow up. To have my own family, raise kids, send them to school and give them a bright future. In a sense it was like repeating the cycle as what our parents do and our great grandparents did too. Along with that purpose, earning money is also an integral part of raising our own family. Thus these purposes that we think are true are all false or imposed purposes according to Celes.

So are we saying that we should not marry and or not earn money because this is a false purpose? These are norms in every culture and yet we still have our own personal choices in life. These might have a real purpose to others and there is no need to debate. Like me for example, I am still figuring out my real purpose in life and so far the path of living a life with my own family without worrying about finances is one purpose for me.

However these purposes, which seems to be the standard reality of life, is accepted in almost any society. Often these are the things that make us happy. Having a harmonious relationship with our relatives between each family and earning a decent amount of income for a living makes it more like a purpose in life. But there is more to life than this.

When I was young I always dreamt of being a successful person financially. I always see myself as a wealthy man with big houses and cars. So by merely thinking about those things it appears to me that it was kind of  purpose while I am living. It was like my ambition, my goal. But years have passed and still I am living a life with no purpose. Still clueless of what I really want to be.

Before I got married, I made a deal with myself. It was something like, I will marry a girl at age 26 and whoever comes in my way who can love me for what I am, I will not let her go and marry her before I turn 27. It doesn’t matter if I am not financially stable. All I wanted was to marry a girl and have children so that when I reached 40 I already had a 14-year old kid. Somehow it was like living a life with purpose but what’s next after that. You are still in search of your real purpose in life.

I know that it was more like a silly goal, a nonsense goal perhaps. My goals during those times are pretty much simple. But I always fantasized of being a rich guy and traveling around the world, going to places I have never been. But at least I have traveled once. You know working overseas was one of my goals too and I was given the opportunity to do so.

https://unsplash.com/photos/HzTJMkjctKE

But those are just short term goals and searching for my purpose in life doesn't stop there. I tried to look back at things that I have done and accomplished ten years ago. It was surprising that writing has always been a part of every journey I took. In 2010 I already started blogging with blogger.com. It was about free internet using a simple trick with the Opera Mini browser. Those are the times when phones were just Symbian and Java operating system aside from iOS. However, when I went to work overseas in 2013, I neglected the blog I created and my followers became clueless because I no longer post an update.

During two years of working abroad I created another blog again and tried affiliate marketing as my niche. Unfortunately I failed because I was scammed.

I switched careers sometime in 2016 and am still writing/blogging. I went to a different blogging platform but unfortunately I couldn't make it better and ended up with nothing. Until I found read.cash and gave it a try again. I never stop. I never quit. I just realized that maybe this is what I really want. My real purpose. That is to write. 

Thanks for reading. Ciao!

You may want to support me with my journey here at read.cash, I will highly appreciate it. 

I will also appreciate your generosity and donations please visit me at Cointr.ee 

When you do please leave a message so I can extend my gratitude.

●▬▬▬▬▬๑⇩⇩๑▬▬▬▬▬●

Feel free to check my previous posts:

I Know What You Did

Ode To A Smart Kid

The CEO Concept

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Special mention to my sponsors:

Cineholic JonicaBradley 

 Pantera  immaryandmerry 

Bloghound

━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━◦○◦━

Lead image source

Photo Credits:

Rachel Coyne

Jacob Bentzinger

Taylor Kopel

Jp Valery

Resource:

https://personalexcellence.co/blog/life-purpose/

15
$ 30.13
$ 29.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
+ 3
Sponsors of Bjorn
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bjorn
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I saw my name. blush hahaha. Yan na naman sa usapang purpose. I am still unsure if we both have the same purpose but I am happy that I get to share what it is that I want to share with other people may it be a good or a not so good experiences especially the learnings that I have gained through all that.

Oh di ba ang layo ko pa pala. Hahaha. Dami ko pa babasahin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha pag usapang purpose in life ikaw naaalala ko dito sa read.cash.

tamang bookmark ka dto ah, haha... solomot.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang taong hindi alam anong purpose sa buhay. Hahaha. Emo-emo pa kaya ako diyan nung kausap ko sila Mhean at bbghitte nun. Hirap kasi talaga malaman ano ang purpose natin sa life. Pero search ko minsan yang sinabi mo na PDF file.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

try mo mag basa basa dito.. https://personalexcellence.co/

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Up until now, I think I haven't really found my true purpose yet. But I believe I would really get there. In search for our purpose, sometimes we can discover new things about ourselves. I'm really glad that you find writing as your purpose which is so nice.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You will never know but your conscious self will lead you there and it takes time. Keep searching.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wilk surely do. Thank you so much for giving us articles that we can reflect with. ♥️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I honestly still am not sure of what my purpose is, but I guess it is what makes me go on in life. It is so hard to get by when we can't seem to have a purpose, but living life in search for it, makes everything more colorful. I guess searching for the life purpose differs for every person. Some find it quickly, others take lifetime to discover it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The country I live in, people force their kids to be Doctor or Engineer. Although my parents didn't force me but their intentions were clear to make me a doctor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's the said reality although our county tend to be similar with yours when it comes to that matter. You can go with what they want, then after studying of becoming a Doctor you can still choose to search your life's purpose.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Humans have their own perspectives, goals and plans. Everyday there is a purpose but sometimes it is like an air that we didn't notice. Enjoy life with having a good mindset to yearn those things we need to discover. More articles and God bless..😇

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed, it's more like seeing things differently. There is more to live... Thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe the purpose is to be the better version of ourselves? hehe :)

I too once planned to be married at 27, turned out I settled at 31. Dreamt of becoming an office worker but when it happened I couldn't last being in that field too long.

So maybe, just maybe, setting small goals that we achieve every day and are happy about is leading us towards what we really want to be :) Keep writing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Better version of ourselves? Perhaps, I guess. But what if you still didn't find your purpose in your Version 2, then would you go searching in Version 3, 4 and so on? just sayin hehe.

you know marriage is kind of big deal in our country but some people choose to live alone. That could be their purpose.

Yes you are right, it always start in small goals. Those that we can achieve easily first. Thanks for the read.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, that would be a lifetime search indeed! But it would be a worthwhile one I guess, becoming better with each passing day or year.

As to marriage, that's true. It is a matter that requires important decisions. And singlehood could be a 'calling' too :)

Enjoy writing, we'd be here to read them :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago