Healthy rich

21 46
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Ever since I knew my dad if there was anything that he was ever passionate about,then it was his children's education. Even though his monthly income at the plastics factory where he worked was meager, he always reassured me and my younger sister that he would see that we complete our tertiary education no matter how harsh economic situations turned out to be.

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

Never destined by the Almighty to see his children become university graduates, Dad died from a brief illness the year I completed my high school education. Mom was devastated, It was as if our whole world had come to an end. Being the first of two girls, I felt nothing good would ever happen to us again as the future certainly looked bleak at the time.

After mourning dad for months, there was nothing else we could do than to plan for our survival. In a developing country like Nigeria where student loans and grants are non-existent, the chances of acquiring a university degree were very slim without the support of relatives or a scholarship.

But I was determined to carry on and achieve my late father's plan for our education even though I couldn't proceed to college immediately due to financial constraints.

I had to dedicate the next two years to working and saving up funds for my and my younger sister's college education.

After a month of searching, I was lucky to get a job at a restaurant with a take-home salary of 72 dollars. As soon as I was paid my first salary, I applied for a special type of banking system where I would only be allowed to access just 5% of my monthly income whenever the account is being funded at the end of every month by my employer. I would only be granted full access to the account after two years. By that time, my younger sister would be done with her high school education and I would have accumulated enough funds to pay for both our tuition fees.

Two months into my job at the restaurant, a customer whom I had been very friendly with informed me that she needed a science home tutor for her two children. I told her my story and she offered me the job after I had reassured her that I could provide solutions to her kid's academic problems. Luckily for me, I enjoyed two off days at the restaurant. So, I visited her residence twice every week where I engage her kids in a two hours lesson that we held in the evenings.

I was paid 30 dollars for my services but I was determined to save 15 dollars monthly. I did this by joining a local thrift and savings society that was designed to last for one year. It comprised eleven other girls who would make a regular contribution of 15 dollars to each member as soon as a month ends. I chose to be the last person to receive payment. And by the of the year, I would have saved 180 dollars.

Mother was a classroom teacher at a small elementary school. Her salary was about a hundred dollars which were enough to settle our day-to-day expenses without dipping into our savings.

Each time mom got paid, the salary is withdrawn and spread in four different envelopes labeled as follows; feeding ($6o), transportation ($20), utilities ($20), and miscellaneous ( $20).

We never fail to buy our food in bulk just in case there might be a price hike in the coming month due to an unstable economy. We mostly consume staple foods that possess a high satiety level since we feed only twice a day.

The three of us stuck to the above budget religiously even though there would be a sudden inflation that would bite hard. I recalled that on several occasions when the household toothpaste got finished earlier than before since we had bought a smaller size paste due to a sudden price hike. We had to resort to brushing our teeth with salt till the end of the month since we have always budgeted for one toothpaste a month.

And just in case I might need anything else, I also had about 20 dollars as spare money after I had saved the bulk from my two jobs. A woman should always take care of her hair you know. It's one of her unique adornments. But unfortunately, I couldn't retain my hair due to the tough austerity measures I was implementing on all sides. I took a bold decision to always maintain a low cut like a man's. After all, that was the same hairstyle of a popular female artist in my country. So, I wouldn't have to cope with an inferiority complex amid other girls who spent a lot of money on making their hair look good. Besides, I don't go out or attend social gatherings often. If I ever get bored during my off days, there would always be a book to read or a chore to do.

If I am to attend an event or a function, I made sure that I got paid for my time. This could be by participating in a sponsored traditional dance troupe that would entertain the crowd or by fixing decorations. I also get paid whenever I wash the dishes used at the venue.

I was also comfortable in cheap and fairly used wear that I bought at the local vendors. I visit them once in a while to get something for me and my sister rather than spending thrice the amount at an attractive boutique. The three nice dresses I bought for myself and my sister during this period were from the money I realized from working at the event venues and there was still something left for another day.

Even though I firmly believe that investing is a broader path to success, Savings for me doesn't just mean how much I can save every month, saving is more like a way of life to me. Perhaps, it's genetic as I and my mother are financially accountable to each other.

It makes me always feel that I am doing something good whenever I tuck the smallest currency bill I find in my purse into a little box each day I return home from work.

Currently, I am my sister is in her second year at the university. Mom had also invested in a business that looks quite promising in the new future. I believe there's still hope for us.

*****************************

The above story us imaginative.

Thanks a lot for reading 🥰🥰

14
$ 1.49
$ 1.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 10
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

Your family seems to be amazing sis, every penny counts indeed.. and you are not alone on used wear, I thrift shop too and that is one of my favorite things to do because we can find great clothes there for min price.. I do not love to spend on expensive things, not so worthy in my eyes to throw money away just for logo or name purposes... Best wishes to your Momma on her investment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Children bear responsibilities greater than their age due to the loss of their parents, especially the father who is the pillar of every home. Life can turn 100 degrees in the absence of parents, even if the story is a fantasy, but it is a realistic story for many struggling girls who managed to make their way to success.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I wa speechless but this can a real story also, I have seen families struggling when their only earning father suddenly leaves them. Life is very difficult to them. I wish nobody suffers like that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That'ssssss true . things could really go south if a father is no more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice inspiring story 🙌.

Nice to have you back full time. So sorry I didn't checked on you, knowing there was a means for that. Don't worry, sickness will not come near your body again.✌️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you 😀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Our lives are unforgiving, especially because we live in developing countries But I salute you for your struggle and struggle to achieve your father's dream As long as you are determined, many doors will open in your face

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen.. Thanks for the encouraging words, though it's fiction

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I should say you have a great father my dear. And you and your sister are very blessed to have him. Anyways, I must say also that you deserve much more than what you have right now. In God's right time dear. Stay blessed! Love yah!🤗

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks so much sis. Really appreciate your prayers, it means a lot. Love you too 😁😁😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bilqees!!!... I'm glad to see you here once again, I feel so bad for not reaching out even after I was nudged to... I kept checking, but would see you online few hours, minutes or seconds ago...but your last post kept reading weeks, days ago. Above all, there's no excuse, I'm really really sorry for not reaching out to you. I'm glad to you back here, welcome back Bil.

This was a very inspiring story, I literally thought it was your story till I got to the end. I admire the zeal in the elder sister and even if it was a story, I'm glad she was able to accomplish all that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm really blessed to have a friend like you ella. Indeed your kind is so rare. May the Good Lord continue to protect and safeguard your beautiful heart and grant you ease in all your affairs 🥰

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Salute to you my dear friend. You're an inspiration undeed to everyone .You deserve all the goodness in this world. Always remeber that all your sacrifices and struggles will be paid off. You are worthy. God bless you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot ma'am. I really appreciate your support too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Dear Bilqees, this story was very beautiful and inspiring. About a girl who always remains strong, hopeful and hardworking, despite all the hardships, problems and sorrows in her life. She has learned to stand on her own two feet, and how important her family and mother are to her.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true Ellen. Nothing is too hard if only we are determined and we have the heart to ask of life what we want

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Life is not easy. Sometimes we the kid's have to grow up quickly so that we can be able to help our parents. You're doing well dearie.. more Money to your account

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks a lot for the thumbs up... Though the story is only a fiction 😄

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bilqees welcome back o, where have you been? hope everything is fine with you sha?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Missed you tooo jare 😁... I'm feeling better now. One of those stubborn illnesses, had to get a transfusion

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Damn, I actually suspected you were not fine when I noticed your absence for several days, thank God you're feeling better.

$ 0.00
1 year ago