Fortune favours the brave.

35 47
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

The idea of this article was drawn from an article written by @Ellawrites about self esteem. You could check it out here.

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

We all must have known atleast one person who stutters or stammers. This is a speech impairment where a person have difficulties in voicing out words in a coherent form. It's very common among children, but as a person grows older, the condition improves. In some cases, it doesn't go away and stays with the individual for a long time.

When I was in high school, I was told the story of a former student who suffered from this condition. But victor never allowed his speech impediment affect his self-esteem. He would always stand up and ask the teacher a question whenever he doesn't understand a lesson even though other members of the class would chuckle as he struggles to speak. As a matter of fact, the more he's been laughed at,the more he asks more questions and this made his teachers proud of him. Soon, his classmates got tired of laughing at his questions since he refused to be made the object of mockery.

Unlike others, victor never walked away from a fight whenever he was bullied due to his condition. If anyone brings trouble to him, they would definitely find him ready. Once, a new student tried to mock his condition : "victor, if you allow me to give you two hot slaps on both sides of your cheeks, you would never stutter again". Victor replied him with a good punch that landed directly on his nose causing him to bleed all over his school shirt.

Victor even volunteered to participate in debates and presentations on the assembly ground. And after a charged but yet a brilliant speech, the whole school would burst into a a thunderous applause. In a short while, he earned the admiration of all his teachers and became a big source of inspiration to students who suffer from stage fright. If Victor who was a stutterer could conquer the fear of public speaking, then they could also do it.

Since victor was also a smart student, he became very popular in the school. And as luck would have it, the most popular girl in school became attracted to him. Due to his high confidence level, victor hardly stutters whenever he's talking to a girl. His speech impediment only becomes manifest when he's involved in a fast conversation or an argument with the other boys. How ironic it is that the boys who laughed at victor suddenly begin to stutter and develop cold feet as soon as they approach a girl for a conversation. Lol

The story of victor encourages us to be brave no matter the challenge life throws at us. Instead of wallowing in self pity that kills our self esteem , we should infact use the obstacle as a stepping stone and as an opportunity that would make others appreciate the light in us.

According to Robert Greene, " the world would always admire the brave, no one honours the timid". Those who are brave enough to go for what they want would definitely be rewarded.

Before I was admitted into the University, I had worked at a superstore for almost a year just so that I wouldn't remain idle at home. My salary was nothing to write about but I knew i deserved better. Still, I always feel nervous and scared whenever I think about discussing it with my employer. One day I summoned courage and asked her for a raise, my employer grumbled for some minutes, then started talking tough : " you should be happy you got this job, do you know how many girls that applied before before you were selected".

But at the end of the month, I was surprised that my salary had been increased by a decent percentage. It was later that a close friend of my employer revealed to me that I was the first and only girl who had never shortchanged my boss. Other girls that have previously worked at the store had been engaged in some sharp practices on several occasions. As a matter of fact, the shop needed two staffs since the workload was obviously quite much for just one girl. But I was told that my employer refused to employ another lady because she was scared that i would be corrupted by a new character.......Two months later , I voluntarily resigned from the outfit with a stronger determination and courage to find and do something better.

Most times, an opportunity comes but once and it's quite unfortunate that some people recognises opportunity but due to timidity and the fear of failure, they keep hesitating and procrastinating until it slips away. A brave person grabs an opportunity even before others could see it and turn it into something big and unique.

******************************

To all my readers, commentators, sponsors and upvoters . Thanks alot for the support. Special thanks to @FashTioluwa for the sponsorship renewal. I'm indeed very grateful and honored.

22
$ 3.50
$ 2.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
+ 16
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

People who are brave and ethical have always been rewarded in their life.. I see you as a girl with lots of values for yourself.. Good for you dear, for being such a strong person

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks alot ma'am for the encouraging words 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being a short girl, I never allowed anyone to intimidate me because I will definitely rain curses even though I couldn't fight. Lol

At least i have my mouth to defend me so as not to be weak in showing myself that I deserve the best.

It's important to be brave to things you aren't comfortable with or else, one would keep cheating and taking advantage of it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true princess,lest someone mistakes your meekness for weakness

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know someone exactly like victor in my department in school, he was in a higher class and graduated last year. This boy stutters (not that much) but he is very intelligent and loves to talk a lot despite his condition. He was even into politics and held various positions in the department, including becoming the president at one point. He organised tutorials for lower classes (that was actually how l knew him) and he never allowed his condition to impede him. Everyone loves him because he didn't shy away from his condition but instead chose to embrace it

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow... What a coincidence, I later heard that victor participated in campus politic, he's now a dentist... Sorry I forgot to mention those parts

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's wonderful. I am glad he turned out great in life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire the courage of Victor, that's amazing. It's just like a guy seeing his future wife in a lady but scared to approach her, if the guy fails to summon courage to meet her, the vision will fade away...🤷

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. That's true. One can never tell

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Victor. We need more like him around us :) It's inspiring, his story. And indeed, whatever our physical shortcomings are should not impede us to be and do better. And how cool that you also got your courage to demand what you deserve.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear. Sometimes, the only thing that's holding us back is just in our minds. It ain't real at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Victor's self confidence is one that should be studied by students that are finding it hard to cope with stage freight. It's no mean feat, For someone of his character, to come out openly despite his impediment. God bless you for being a nice and reliable person in your workplace. At least your efforts didn't go unrecognized.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks alot chief... I appreciate 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Courage, determination and zeal to stand up for what you want and is not talked about enough

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Victor's story is really an inspiring one, I learnt a whole lot from his story, it isn't easy to be laughed at and still stand your ground, he really showed his bravery and was not intimidated. You also did, when you asked your boss for a raise, if I walked in your shoes, I would say I might just have kept mute. This was really enlightening. We really Should learn to speak up and keep with us; our confidence.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with you dear.. sometimes things are not as hard as they seem. And until we voice them out, we would never have that peace of mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes fortune favours with luck its true. But is it favour all time?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ofcourse it does, if we have the ability to persist

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bravery pays a lot. Only the brave can do what others fear and run away from. The story of Victor taught me that no matter the condition, and mockery by others, i must always stand out fearlessly, to achieve what i want, without allowing them to demote me by their word and caricatures. I also learnt from your story that speaking out my mind as touching what i want, regardless of the superior, will earn me result. Thank for sharing your experience Bilqees.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks alot Ayo for taking your time to read. I'm indeed glad you learnt a lesson or two from the story

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We should not laugh at others' weaknesses for we all have something that we fail. We are not perfect.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly sir.. but you know how kids are. They would always laugh at those things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I admire the confidence of victor really...that's how most kids allow peer pressure and the fear of being laughed at dictate their life and rule over them..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true sis..The low self esteem that many youths have are mostly due to some unfortunate events from childhood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lucky had nothing to do with victor getting all the popular girls. Majority of the time, the most popular girls are idiots and they naturally run after the most popular boys or the smartest ones. Victor was both

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Now this is very blunt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know of a friend that stammer, but I haven't for once had the thought of making fun of him, I dont know how people think I make fun of people with their predicament, I'm glad victor was able to do great.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yea I also have one too. You know how high school is.. there would always be bullies

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure.. One day one day.. I will still write about it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The world really loves the brave, who seize opportunities and even snatch them from life by force. I loved Victor's self-confidence and your courage too dear, you deserve the bestand you knew it. the brave will inevitably win, or at least they will not lose

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true my good doctor. Courage is an admirable character that we have to cultivate. When we have courage, alot of things would look easy no matter how difficult they might seem on the surface.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Victor is a wonderful, powerful individual. When those students ridicule Victor, the teacher should intervene.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You know the way students are. Teachers couldn't be there all the time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations to Victor, he has been a fighter with high self-confidence, certainly his parents and those around him have worked hard to create such a character in him. Congratulations to him who, despite his stuttering, has been so brave and courageous. Oh dear Bilqees, it is clear that given the spirit you have, wherever you work, your employer will always be satisfied with you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, victor is a good role model to many... Thanks alot Ellen, really appreciate the compliments 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago