Dear students, you need quality sleep.

26 44
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Most times, a student could stay up late at night, not because they are studying or preparing for a test. The time for getting a quality sleep is often being wasted on social media, mobile games YouTube, and on Netflix watching episodes back-to-back.

The next day in class, such students might have difficulties in concentration after few minutes of lectures as they often feel tired and lost due to sleep deprivation the previous night.

On the flipside, most students underrates the value of sleep while preparing for examination. You'd see students openly boast of how they would stay up all night trying to read up a course material. Infact some students resort to taking stimulants such as a strong coffee, kolanuts and energy drinks at intervals during the night in a bid to keep sleep at bay while reading.

Sometimes a student might begin to have a headache due to an overwhelmed brain, and instead of taking the much needed rest, he or she would rather take a pain relievers.

What these students don't realize is that sleep is a function of the brain and if you deprive your brain from it's much needed sleep, it might not be able to function optimally, thereby leading to chaos and disorganization sooner than later.

I have heard about students who had to struggle with the spelling of simple words like "particular", "environment", "process" etc while writing an exam . Contrary to popular belief, this is not always due to examination anxiety.

I know of a friend who totally blanked out in the middle of a presentation in front of her HOD and other lecturers in the department. Not because she was not intelligent enough but due to agitation and stress caused by sleep deprivation. She was unable to recall vital information since she hadn't given her brain the much needed time to recharge through sleep.

Coupled with nervousness which further excites the brain, poor quality sleep might cause a student to make silly mistakes in the examination hall. The muscles of your eyes are tired, especially the cilliary muscle which is responsible for maintaining focus is weakened. Consequently a student might start having blurring or overlapping visions while reading the questions. This results in the eyes giving wrong perception to the brain which would ofcourse interprete the information wrongly. Hence a student might only realize his mistakes or what he didn't do correctly after coming out of the examination and start discussing the questions with other students. This could lead to regrets or even depression.

Personally, I make sure I get enough sleep before I even open any book . Even though I sometimes skip my meals, I never delay sleep. Infact, the best time I absorb and understand knowledge is when I wake up from sleep. Even if the exam is less than 24 hours from now, I would still have at least four hours of sleep.

Lastly, the reason why most students tend to look older is as a result of poor sleeping habits which leads to the drop in collagen. Collagen is an important protein which is regularly metabolised and released by the skin during sleep. It responsible for the production of new and healthy skin cells after the older ones impregnated by keratin wears away.

Honestly, reading till day break is overrated

*******************************

Thanks for reading 😁β™₯️

14
$ 1.95
$ 1.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 10
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
1 year ago

Comments

Ngl, i do read till day break sometimes especially when the course is an annoying one. That way one can have everything in one's head, the only thing one need to do is to pour down and forget. I know the effects but i do find a way to sleep well in the afternoon

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's also good too. Siestas help a lot... I don't have to read all night as most students do,. I have already cultivated a regular reading culture so I don't have to make things complicated for myself by doing rush hour reading

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Consequently a student might start having blurring or overlapping visions while reading the questions. This results in the eyes giving wrong perception to the brain which would ofcourse interprete the information wrongly.

I have experienced this many times. Well, I used to take my sleep serious especially a day to exam but things changed because of my schedule and I found myself having less time to read and prepare for exams. I will definitely remedy that sha because I have tried different methods and I now know what works for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Las Las, na A parallel

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is the goal, perfection πŸ‘€πŸ‘€

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just remove that "Dear students" from the title and put my name there, coz this one is a personal attack to me 😩 even after reading all these, I will still not stop doing overnight reading 🀣 e be like juju

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

You don already giveup on yourself, abahh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes o, no need to fight it πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was going to mention you, but since you're here already... If una see me dey sleep, DND 😴😴

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lmao..... werey

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahala part 3πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. Don't worry you would soon be done with all these school wahala πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmm, maybe this is the reason I do make mistakes in my exams even though I know the questions asked. Previous to my exams day, I don't sleep, I read throughout the night. Although my grades are good but I always feel like where I got a B I should have gotten an A. I'll start taking my sleep serious from now on

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ah, please, don't pack all the As o, leave some for me abeg, I am tired of Cs

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You dey whine me? You wey dey pack all the As all the time. Na u I dey beg make u leave A for me o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You mistake me for someone else.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pls do... Also, don't wait till exams time before you start reading..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah I won't, although morale is low nowπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice oneπŸ‘Œ

I was among those that battled with sleepless night during exam days,,,to an extent though and that's because I was competing with friends.

I had to pull out from that circle during my third year because I realised that I don't need to read like them to pass, I assimilate easily πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true. The key thing is to discover what works best for you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Also if you don't sleep early nowadays you won't be able to sleep at night. If I sleep after 11pm or 12a.m for one more hour I just keep on changing poses as the sleep used to long gone during that time.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lol. Anytime bed around that time, then I would never be able to make it to early morning prayers

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh, yes. Enough sleep is essential to us all. Don't neglect your body.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You don't sleep enough, you suffer for it. One has to choose wisely

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lack of enough sleep makes the brain dull. Everybody needs enough sleep. No matter how much you read, you still gotta sleep

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's true, in order to operate optimally, we need all the sleep we can get

$ 0.00
1 year ago