An upsetting experience at the market

21 36
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

When I was much younger, I rather sweep the whole compound instead of following mom to the market place. This is because mom could spend hours moving from one shop to another just to get a particular item, and even if each shop she'd visited had what we were looking for, she might end up not purchasing it, after all the time spent on haggling with a seller. I find this very frustrating, especially when I am missing out on compelling TV drama that other kids are already indulging at home.

Things might get worse for me when mom bumps into an old friend. It's most likely that they'd spend nothing less than an hour gisting while I continually Shift my weight from one tired leg to another. Most times, Mom often fathoms that I was angry with her, judging from the frown on my face. "What would you like to eat bilqees? " Mom would ask . Moments later, we would already be on our way out of the market with a half-eaten cob of 🌽 in my right hand which i plan to use in teasing my siblings at home.

Thanks alot πŸ™

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

As I grew older, I completely understood that mom was trying to manage her resources by not always buying at the shops we visited. From the reserves in her purse, she could be able to purchase earrings, necklaces and new dresses for her daughters. These are little but important things that Dad would always forget after paying school fees and rents. May God bless all of our mothers πŸ’– πŸ€—

Pulling your arm and almost dragging you into their shops is something that most traders are fond of doing in a typical african market. Even if they don't Know what you came to the market to buy, they would still beckon on you to come take a look into their shops while screaming "customer, customer"!

Sometimes it could be embarrassing, it could also be very annoying. There was a time a sales girl came outside and grabbed me by the hands because I had took a brief glance at her shop. Before I could protest, another apprentice from the next shop quickly stood up and grabbed at my other arm. She warned the other girl to leave me alone as she claimed I had looked at her shop first and was about to go in before the other girl snatched me away from her. An argument broke out which I quickly interrupted by screaming at them in a very angry tone before they let go of my arms. Later, I felt sorry for them, these are young ladies within my age group trying to heck out an honest living. Probably they have been given a daily target by their boss or madam . Failing to make an expected number of sales per day might cause an impatient boss to be unsatisfied with their efforts and this might also lead to a delay in the payment of their meager salary. But that does not mean that they should be dragging me the way two policemen drags one thief 😠

It's also not uncommon for a male apprentice to address a young woman with statements like "fine girl, come enter my shop, I fit reduce price for you o, you know say you be my wife" and other traders would laugh at the silly jokes 🀦

I would never forget a very embarrassing incident that happened to me two years ago. I was admiring an handbag from the corner of a shop, for fear of been caught by an overzealous sales boy/girl. But unfortunately I didn't know that the boy had been outside. He silently stood up from his sitting position and kept pushing me gently into the shop. Since I had been bursted, I had no choice and I reluctantly dragged my feet towards the shop. " Welcome customer", he said with a big smile. He quickly brought down the bag which looked beautiful at a closer look. I asked him more about it and he mentioned a staggering amount. I wasn't surprised when I heard an outrageous price. Ofcourse I couldn't afford it and that was why I never wanted to come close. The young man kept raving about how the bag would look good on me and if it were at another shop, the price would be higher and bla bla bla... I told him ok, I have heard as I tried to find an escape.

I just have to lie that I would come back to buy the bag on my way out of the market after I was done with buying the foodstuffs that brought me to the market. Wether he believed me or not, I didn't care.

Few minutes after I left his place, I bumped into an old friend and we kept talking for almost half an hour. I had totally forgotten about the fake promise I made to the bag seller as i begin to walk on thesame street in the market where his shop was located. As soon as I remembered my error, I have was already within the limits of his shop. I immediately tried to duck and quickly move into a narrow alley by the right. But it was too late to for me to see a hawker who was also coming out from the alley at that second. We stumbled upon each other and I upset the tray of oranges that was well balanced on her head. The tray fell to the ground and oranges scattered all over.

The bag seller came closer to see what has happened and I felt as if the ground should swallow me up 🀦😭.

@Kushyzee , have you ever bought a shoe of one thousand naira and forced to pay one thousand five hundred naira for shoe nails that you never asked for? πŸ˜†πŸ˜†Pls write an article about that . 🀣

******************************

Thanks for reading πŸ’–πŸ’–

14
$ 3.52
$ 2.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 15
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

Unlike you, my friend, I used to like to go with my mother to the market and buy all the needs of the house because I always wanted to buy some clothes or some sweets. I also like to go out for a walk

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sure. It must be a really fun experience going out with mother 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The last part got me cracked up🀣🀣. Let's put that into a movie sceneπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚. As a bachelor without option of going to market, I've come to freaked with market because I'm the guy that likes preparing "better food". But I know my customers and I go straight to them, pick the things I want and leave ASAP

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Don't even try to tour the market. Some of these traders are using jazz o . As soon as they call you . You would be forced to buy . πŸ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So what happened after the tray of oranges fell? You must continue this your story o, I want to laugh more πŸ˜‚ I have worked in a place where I have to hustle customers just like those traders; it's a computer center and there are lots of them around me, so you have to drag customers or else you won't see work in a day. What I have learnt from that work is that if a person is looking confused, then there's are high likelihood they don't know a store to enter so you should try all you can to bring them into your store. So I use that same experience whenever I am going to the market and I pretend as if I know where I am going to avoid those overzealous traders. πŸ˜†

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol.. I thank God it was ordinary oranges and not Glass wares, if not, I wouldn't be here today πŸ˜‚..... Trust our ibo brothers, they live and breath business

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Funny story tho, I can relate mostly with the article but I'm always successful in running away from them after a fake promiseπŸ˜€

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. If you make the slightest mistake of entering their shop, you wouldn't come out until they had forced you to purchase at least an item. I salute our ibo brothers 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Swears.. Even the money you don't plan to spend you will surely spend it πŸ˜€πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I imagined the situation in your writing and felt tight in my chest lol that someone grabbed you and pulled you to his place! Oh I was going to make him regret it, but luckily it doesn't happen here, I love to shop and I love to visit all the shops before choosing which item to buy 🀭 it's the other way around here, little girls like to go shopping with their moms because they will definitely buy something for themselves lol

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It happens alot here. A street in the market usually consist of many shops selling similar wares. So, the sellers do all what they have just to get customers into their shops since the competition is very stiff..... I prefer going somewhere else with mum. Not that I don't like following her to pay he market too, but it could get tiring when we spend too much time there. I try to break the boredom by feasting my eyes on the beautiful shops around. That's the only fascinating thing about such trips.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, couldn't stop laughing imagining you with a frown on your face because your mom takes time shopping and uh, chitchatting hehehe. And it scares me quite a bit, what you described about your markets there where sellers would grab you by the hand just so you go look for their items.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's how it is over there. One just have to just focus at where he or she is going to without looking side ways, else one might be embarrassed by overzealous traders. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I find it funny how you described your experiences with your mom and then you do it yourself :D I think she has taught you the lesson of being practical and how to spend wisely. Too bad about the hawker in the end. I hope the oranges were okay :D :D

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true sire.... Just one or two of them got damaged and I had to pay for tuem. Thank God it wasn't glass wares

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your articles are always lovely. And yes! That market experience is something else, I can relate with my full chest. One can't even stare or admire something in peace. They would just assume that you want to buy it. What about those igbo boys that would throw their second hand clothes on you as you're passing... They'll keep throwing and shouting, singing out their song and having so much fun as customers surrounds them while trying to select befitting wears.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. I didn't want to mention ibo boys in the article 🀭, But we all know that they are the traders they go the extra mile to court and convince a customer to come take a look at what they have got.. I really admire their zeal and determination towards their businesses.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading your articles always make me feel like i am reading a novel by Chimamanda or Buchi Eme. what an interesting turn out of events avoiding one problem to enter another. Wahala truly no dey finish

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Awwww. Thanks so much dear Aimure. πŸ€—πŸ€—.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When I was akid I'd love to be with my mom when she went to the town or market ,since we are living at country side,I 'd love to go town alwaya but my mom did'nt want me to go with her coz I keep asking anything to buyπŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol. That's why kids always love to go out with their Mom. There would definitely be goodies 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago