A Snake in the dream.

21 38
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

This inspiration of today's article was gotten from an article written by @Ellen-he about: https://read.cash/@Ellen-he/control-your-dreams-while-you-sleep-and-enjoy-living-in-them-14d19afe

Well, in my article, i would like to talk about the spiritual inclinations associated with dreams and nightmares in my parts of the world.

Thank you πŸ™

Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty

Where I come from, dreams are often believed to have some spiritual undertones that gives the premonition or warning signs about what might happen to an individual or someone close in the nearest future.

A pleasant dream is always believed to mean that something pleasing would happen in the near future while a troubled dream generally means trouble. But most people are unaware of the fact that dreams could have indirect meanings, especially odd dreams that sometimes could be difficult to explain. Ofcourse, I am also aware that there are some very learned folks who strongly believe that dreams and nightmares have absolutely nothing to do with reality.

I remember those days when I was in high school, My mom usually spend the early hours of the nights discussing with a neighbor or a friend in the sitting room before the arrival of my dad.

No need to mention that the women that comes visiting always bring sizzling topics for discussion. Most times, I pretend to be concentrating on an assignment while I listen to such interesting conversation of grown Women with rapt attention.

There was this particular evening when a woman who was still single at the time came to see Mom for the usual gossip. Looking at her face, I saw that she was much more younger then my mother but she looked quite sad.

While pretending to be watching TV, I overheard the younger lady complaining to my mom that she had been having some terrible nightmares for a long time now. According to her story, There was this particular snake that was always chasing her in her dreams. She usually experience this bizarre nightmare atleast twice in a month.

This constant nightmares had been causing her a lot of worries and emotional stress. Seeing a dangerous and ferocious snake chasing one in a dream would definitely mean a bad omen about a pending danger in the future. Needless to say, she had prayed and fasted,but the nightmares just kept coming . She also had some pastors who assisted her in praying against such evils, but to no avail.

Finally, she had the dream again, and this time around,the snake had finally bitten her before she woke up with a scream.

At this point, she was advised to seek the assistance of a "wise man " who had been blessed with the knowledge of interpretation of dreams. After consultations, The wise man assured her that the situation is not as bad as it seemed. Infact it meant well.

The old man told her that there was a young man who had being madly in love with her and also wanted to marry her. The young lady confirmed this to be true. The old man also told her that she doesn't love him as much and wasn't willing to accept his marriage proposal. The young lady was definitely surprised by this revelation about her personal life and she confirmed this to be true too.

Obviously, it follows that the snake in the dream had been the gentleman who had been chasing after her in reality. And now that she had been bitten by the snake, the old man confirmed that the young man had already gotten her pregnant in real life.

She didn't believe this at first, so she went for a pregnancy test which turned out positive. At this point, she had no choice than to accept the young man's proposal since she was already carrying his child. Recently, when I asked my Mom, I was told that the couple already have three children and they are living comfortably as the young man is really doing well financially. The young lady obviously didn't wanted to marry him at that time because he was still unemployed.

Apart from the story above, I have heard from two reliable sources that a snake in the dream does not necessarily mean there's a danger lurking in the corner. It could mean alot of things instead.

Whereas, both sources agreed that seeing a cow or a herd in the dream signifies a really precarious situation ahead. How ironic this may sound since it's often thought that snakes are more dangerous than cattle in real life.

In my culture, it's also believed that having a very beautiful woman or a very handsome man appear to you in a dream could bring serious bad luck to the future, especially if you have never seen that face anywhere before. Even though such faces could be very pleasing to see in real life.

Therefore, since we don't know the interpretation of these things, it is better for us to commit these strange dreams to the hands of our creator. We were told by our elders that it is very unwise to reveal such dreams to the people around you. This is because it is believed that some people are not as ordinary as they might look. If you are fond of telling such things to others, chances are that you might probably reveal some important secrets of your future to a person who possesses psychic powers that no one else knows about. That person may not show open hatred towards you but might have a strong dislike for you. It means that they person might be able to undo some good things that might happen to you in the future after getting to know about it. He or she could also persuade you to deviate from a promising path you have embarked on. .....Pls pardon me if I sound silly,but here in Africa, it is believed that there are alot of wolves in sheep clothing around us and one can't be too careful.

We were also told by our elders that it's not even advisable to reveal your dreams to a pastor or imam. They might not be blessed with the gift of sight and would definitely interprete your dreams literally. Thereby, praying against something they don't understand.

Sometimes, a strange or terrible dream could take up to five to six months before it becomes manifest in our life. So, it's necessary to keep on praying against any impending danger to be averted from our lives and that of our loved ones. Some of these nightmares could look so real you know.

After an uncomfortable dream, we are advised to pray thus: " Lord, give me what ever good there is in this dream and reverse the evil that would come along with it ". It is also important that we pray at night before going to bed, because prayers definitelyshield us against evils.

******************************

My special thanks goes out to @FashTioluwa for considering me worthy of his sponsorship. I really appreciate the previledge and God bless 😁

Thank you for staying with me πŸ™πŸ™

13
$ 1.95
$ 1.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Lucifer01
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
+ 11
Sponsors of Bilqees
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Bilqees
2 years ago

Comments

This is a deep navigation about dreams. Dreaming and interpretation is one thing I've come to take personal on my own. Most times I don't bother on the interpretation of my dreams as I don't want to hear the "their part of interpretation", so I keep it to myself and pray for His will to be done (GOOD will).

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly dear. There's no need to worry too much when one can always pray

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeahs, that's itπŸ‘Œ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a dream that must be! And true what you said, praying before bed is good. And clearing the mind of fears too :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true dear. Praying before bed time helps alot.. some night mares could be so real

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The dream is the product of our subconscious mind, so I think that the future we see in the dream is our deep analysis of the happenings in life, as well as the science explains that seeing a nightmare that pushes you to wake up is that your body was in an uncomfortable position or that it's in danger, so your brain’s way to alert you about this is nighmares, anyway Every time I see a dream, I tell it to my mother, because she knows some of the meanings and interpretations of dreams lol and I find it interesting

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree with yiur analysis dewr. If we think about something or someone too much, chances are that they might appear in our dreams

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never had that dreams

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've seen snakes in my dreams many times but it is simply reflective of my fear of snakes in real life, Something the English call Ophidiophobia. There was a time in my; life when I used to freeze on seeing snakes and got scared on seeing pictures of snakes even on my smartphone.

If I go to a spiritual person, they may end up giving the dream a different meaning.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol. Exactly. We have seen and heard alot of cases where spiritual folks gives a attributes an impending disaster as coming from a grandmother or mother-in-law due to the wrong interpretation of a harmless dream. Lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Bilqees, you have written a very interesting article. I totally agree with you. Dreams can sometimes make sense. And not every bad dream has a bad meaning. For example, in our culture, it is said that if a woman dreams that she is dead, her life will be extended. It is also said in our culture that if you want a dream not to be interpreted and not realized, share it with others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow. This is really amazing. Maybe it's possible they sharing the dream with others would go a long way to decrease it's potency I guess. Thanks alot dear once again πŸ€—

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You have done well again with your write up, always enjoying reading from you, for real, to me, dreams are things that are to happen in the future a message, just like the one of cow, with is kinda a bad luck, I don't dream that much, and most time I do forget, but the ones I remember, and I told my parent, they call come to pass, I even became scared of having dream, one Sunday morning, I dream our neighborhood was being robbed, my mom was going to see what was going on, I asked her not to but she did, I woke up and told my parent about it as we prepare for church, before we got to church, we were rob on our way, my sis lost her bag and phone with money, my sister that was walking with my mommy behind us at 6am

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So sorry about the occurrence. Thank God no one was hurt o. When dreams like to this happen, it is most important to pray and ask those around us to pray very well too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure... Now I pray on every dream I have, and pray before sleeping..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I always do pray before going to sleep coz its only my weapon to fight my bad dreams,I always dreamed a snake and tgey said someone will betrayed on me ,I don't know ,there many times I dreamed that I loss my two front teeth and they said it was not good coz someone I lo e might gone,I just prayed that those dreamed don't have any meaning.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oh dear. I heard about such dreams that include losing of teeth and they are really unpleasant. But just as you have rightly put, that's where prayers are important. Take care

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Not all spiritual leaders are blessed with the gift of interpretation of dreams, some could even interpret it wrongly. There was a story of a girl who dreamt and in the dream she got her pen missed, when a spiritual leader heard of it, he concluded that she won't finish school. Now she had finished schooling, had even gotten Job.

It's better when we have a terrifying dream, we pray to God our maker, He will hear us.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's the best thing for us to do, mr kenth

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree with you, prayer before going to bed is the best weapon against a bad sleep even against nightmares with bad omens.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly Ma'am, the importance of prayer in our life can never be overemphasized. Jesus started with prayer and ended with prayer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago