"Winter Salad or "Olivier"

12 58

Today is November 10th and I want to continue my cooking blog.Today I have a classic and delicious: "Winter Salad" or "Olivier".Call it what you want, but the taste will not change - so yummy! 👌 Why winter? Well, maybe because it is traditionally cooked in our country at New Year.And I make it not just for this holiday, but whenever you want or family will ask.I think you will love it.

At first I thought - well, why should this recipe be posted at all? But the reflex to take pictures of food has already kicked in. So I decided - and why not post it? Because it's a salad everyone who is good at what he can do. And it is problematic to call it "Olivier.

In foreign countries it is generally called "Russian" and also cooked in whichever way.

But in my childhood it was called "Winter Salad", and I could not stand it as much as I adore it now! And I've been cooking it for a long time and in different ways too. I used to make it mostly with boiled chicken and sometimes with boiled beef. No, it tasted good, but not "like my mom's." Then I added onions, then green onions, then apples, then I tried herbs and then garlic!

I'll tell you right away - if you want "that" Winter Salad, then get the hell out of the idea of garlic, onions, chicken, apples, and other mutt. Cook it the way Mom did, and you'll be happy!

It took me a long time to figure out the recipe for this salad... no... it tasted good, but it wasn't "that." I stubbornly tried not to put sausage in it, but suddenly, oh my goodness... someone finally poked me in the head and I realized that this was... the big secret...

And who actually tapped me? I'm sitting at my mom's ... and recently I stopped poring over the recipe for a delicious salad and gave myself up to my mother. And every time I asked her to make me an Olivier, please. For at that point I realized that all my attempts to make a perfect "Winter" have died away and I live a fool who has not conquered the recipe of this salad...

And so I'm sitting at my mom's, sluggishly picking at the salad with a fork and trying to figure out its secret... I asked my mom, "What did you put in it? Mom reads out a list of very duty. And suddenly... Eureka! I found a philosopher's stone, I realized that the secret of this salad in my totally avoided "doctor sausage"!

Ladies and gentlemen! If you don't want tasty and healthy food, but the same Winter Salad from your childhood, then let loose your chicken thighs and stock up on Doctor's Sausage and you'll be happy!

Ever since I opened that Pandora's Box, I've been making Winter's with ease. And it's the most delicious version I've ever had. And if I order it in restaurants, I set an indispensable condition: make it with sausage, and if you can't make it, then don't make it at all.

And then I said to my mother, "Mama, do you always cook with sausage? Why not with chicken? To which mom replied that yes, always with sausage, because it tastes better, like, what's the big deal? Nothing, Mom, it's just that my brain almost exploded in 20 years of trying to make this salad!

And that's what I was thinking about while I was boiling vegetables, chopping cucumbers and thinking, should I take a picture or not? 

True, there is another trick in this recipe - do not chop coarsely, the finer you chop, the tastier and more tender it will be. But you don't have to chop it too. Find the golden mean! But coarse is not as tasty as medium.

And one more thing - use fresh cucumber. You can have a salted cucumber if you don't have a fish. But at Zimniy, fresh cucumber sounds much fresher and more delicate, although pickled one doesn't spoil taste too much. Well, at least it doesn't affect it as drastically as the lack of sausage.

Also... A secret from my mom... put more eggs and fewer potatoes. All the secrets are out. Now let's cook!

So...

We need:

just that and nothing else!

No parsley and dill, onions and garlic, apples and shrimp!

A small can of green peas (soft).

Two medium cucumbers.

Doctor sausage (as much as your heart desires, but 200-300 grams minimum).

3 carrots. If not small, then one may be enough.

4 eggs,

2 small potatoes,

no sour mayonnaise. That's it! No need to get kinky. This is the tastiest Winter Salad I've ever had!

Boil carrots, potatoes and eggs until tender, cool.

The peas, then free from the grease. I do it this way. Open the jar with the ring attached to it, but do not open it. I turn it upside down, put it on a sink wing and let all that brine, that it hid inside, drain off.

Meanwhile, I peel the cucumber from the skin and chop in small cubes.The peas are stacked, the cucumbers are chopped, in a common container dumped.

Sausage also cut into small cubes.

And carrots... I don't cut them with a knife, I'm not going to lie, but with a special cutter I make them into these small cubes.

Eggs, too. But if you don't have a slicer, you use a knife, but what can you do?

Potatoes, too, in small cubes.

That's it. We mix it up and put mayonnaise on it!

Even my husband, a fan of all sorts of "winter" said it was delicious, though he was more accustomed to his mom's version, which is onion, garlic and ground pepper. It's not bad, but it adds a harshness to the Winter. And I remember it tender and delicate. That's exactly how it turns out with this version.

As for health food lovers, don't tell me anything about mayonnaise and sausage, I know everything about them, even that mayonnaise is homemade and sausage is made of real meat with a shelf life of two days, so I do not need lectures. I'm not here for the healthy, I'm here for the delicious!

Enjoy!

I want to thank my sponsors for their faith in me and their support.Thanks to you a lot of people found out about me and my content and became my friends.With sincere hope for further cooperation

Great to meet you🤝Oh very nice to be read on noice.cash too! Thank you! 💝

Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

If you are interested in my blog, you want to read my other articles:

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/soup-kharcho-f26577cc

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/herring-under-a-fur-coat-11600b12

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/birds-milk-dfe3a8c9

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/dont-ever-do-that-bd4feca5

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/fish-ear-cb2a2667?

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/hot-smoked-burbot-2086226a?

10
$ 3.29
$ 2.87 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.08 from @Yana8414
$ 0.05 from @Alther
+ 6
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Wow "cooking master" huh, I like it hopefully I can taste it, I think its delicious .But I'm more on sweet food, hehehe like fruit salad.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I can't help myself than to laugh while your content on this statement "As for health food lovers, don't tell me anything about mayonnaise and sausage, I know everything about them, even that mayonnaise is homemade and sausage is made of real meat with a shelf life of two days, so I do not need lectures. I'm not here for the healthy, I'm here for the delicious!" This is true sometime it good to spoil ourselves in a way that you are happy and taste delicious. Push It!..LOL

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Good experiment. The cucumber and potato is my fave. What country you are? Coz my norwegian friend also making salad but didnt used sausage. But you did yummylicious salad.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're right, there are many variations of this dish, I described my version, as they do in our country. I envy you a little, you have so many friends from different countries, it shows that you are kind and sociable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never eaten a salad with sausage and eggs. I will try to make your recipe, thanks for teaching us your mother's salad secrets. I hope it turned out tasty, just as it looks in the picture hahaha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm definitely trying to prepare mine but I'm not good at cooking but I will try this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I really like it I will try this, after . I love the way how you make

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My husband somehow had to get home after work for a long time, so I decided to whip up this salad before leaving work, and in the evening I bought canned peas in the store. Olivier is often on our menu. Thank you for not staying indifferent to my article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your so sweet

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We also have olive salad in our country and we say the same name, it was very interesting to make the secret of delicious olive salad, I have never put cucumber in it before, I will definitely try it, we grate the olive salad ingredients here, I also use sausage recently And I think it tastes a lot better than chicken, and I think sometimes it's better to eat tastier than healthier, you have to enjoy what you eat.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, you are as always responsive my friend! In my recipes, I also experiment, because it's not forbidden, after all, for myself))) Well, if they do my order, of course I stick to the recipe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The Winter Olivier salad is just perfect for a New Year's or Christmas feast, as it is so hearty and appetizing. It's all about the meat part of the dish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago