"Cabbage with dried mushrooms"

16 41

Good day to you all and good mood my dear readers of read.cash.

I continue to publish recipes, menus,and other stuff,that solve one problem:"how to make sure that at home there is always a healthy, delicious homemade food, and you spend a minimum of time, effort and money.

I would like to thank my sponsors for their faith in me and their support.Thanks to you a lot of people found out about me and my content and became my friends.With sincere hope for further cooperation

I hope for further cooperation and respect to you🀝 Thank you! πŸ’

Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Today on a frosty morning I want to cook something hot.

In Ukraine this is a very popular first dish, so I decided to try it today. It turns out a very interesting soup.

It is a variation on the theme of soup puree, but without the blender. It comes out quite thick (as it should).

Childhood. The clearest, crunching snow underfoot, icicles on the well gate - sparkling, sweetish. Smoke from the chimneys - rising in columns straight up into the sky, slightly pinkish and dense. Wet mittens, hardened by the cold and sniffling nose. Ruddy cheeks, a torn button on a fur coat, snow-filled booties on biting boots, warm grandmother's hands unraveling a scarf, warmth from a large oven, tender and not scalding, to which it is so cozy to press cold fingers, crackling wood in the oven and the aroma of hot soup, which is already poured on a plate. There was no such thing as "I won't eat soup!" There was warmth, comfort, serenity, and joy. Besides a traditional grandmother's borscht with beans, we had a very tasty soup of sauerkraut, which was called "kapustnyak" in winter.

We made it in the "poor" version with millet and browned lard, and in the "rich" version with smoked ribs, sausages, and other pieces of meat.

And in memory of those days, we sometimes make grandma's soup. A little differently, but memories color it with the same pure tones - of the distant and happy days of childhood.

We will need:

Meat (pork is better, ribs are better, can be smoked). I had a piece of ribs, but without them - about 300-400 grams.

Dried wild mushrooms (or fresh) - a couple of clumps.

Fat - 50 grams.

Onion - medium.

Carrot - medium.

Sauerkraut - about 300-400 grams.

Fresh cabbage - 150-200 grams.

Millet - 2 tablespoons.

Freshly ground pepper

Salt

Allspice

Thyme

Dill dry

Allspice

Laurel leaf

Garlic

Two large potatoes

Ground turmeric - 1 teaspoon (it is not in the photo, I added it at the last moment for color).

This is all for two - two and a half liters of water.

Boil. We cut the meat into portions.

Put it in water and let it boil for about 5 minutes. Drain the first water, then throw the meat into a clay pot (cauldron, duck pot, who cooks in what in the oven? A clay pot is better, of course) and put it in the oven to simmer for two hours.

Soak the mushrooms for at least an hour.

Chop the lard into squares and melt the fat.

As the cracklings brown, add finely chopped onion.

Meanwhile, grate the carrots and add them to the onions.

Chop the sauerkraut in a blender, not into dust, but coarsely. Or pass it through a meat grinder, or finely chop it with a knife (the latter is for perverts, or masochists, whichever you prefer).

As the onions and carrots brown, add the cabbage, add water and start to stew all together.

Shred the fresh cabbage, too, and stew with the vegetables.

Soaked mushrooms are finely chopped and added to the vegetables, also to stew. We stew for 20 minutes, and now the meat has stewed in the oven, and it is time to add it. We do not drain the water from the mushrooms, but we strain it and add it together with the vegetables to the pot with the meat, since the water has evaporated quite well and it is necessary to add more water.

This is what we still need to add. Wash the millet in cold water until the water is clear.

Start putting all our soup in one bowl. We add everything (millet, ground pepper, allspice, thyme, dill, bayroot, turmeric, whole potatoes, stewed vegetables, mushroom water), except garlic and salt. Stir, taste for salt and a little salt (it should be unsalted, because we still have to stew the soup, and the water will evaporate).

Let's mix it (we throw the potatoes in) and put back in the oven for an hour and a half. To stew.

Five minutes before it's ready, take our pot out of the oven and taste for salt. Adjust if necessary. Back in the oven so that the salt is distributed wisely throughout the dish.

When ready, remove the potatoes, knead them, put them back in, and stir them in.

In the same place we add the garlic skipped through a press, stir again and let stand for about half an hour, or better for 24 hours.

Serve with sour cream.

It turned out quite original, tasty and nourishing. The millet gave the soup a sort of unconventional taste. But in general, I will tell you, it does not look like cabbage soup at all. It is an independent dish with its own character, taste, and charm.

I have a special attitude toward this dish: it includes my childhood, my grandmother's life, her warm old gentle hands, and this taste... And now I am a gray-haired woman, but I have the same attitude to this dish. I love kale, and my family eats it with great pleasure!Β  Β  Kapustnik is like a kind of borscht, only it has a different consistency, thicker.

I want to know your opinion.

If you are interested in my content,then I invite you to read my other articles:

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/chicken-on-the-can-80dc599a

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/tears-of-an-angel-6c1173b3

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/birds-milk-3271a840

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/winter-salad-or-olivier-f347a5e6

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/peaches-cb90e2fa

https://read.cash/@Belozoriana/hot-smoked-burbot-2086226a

11
$ 5.97
$ 3.66 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.06 from @Yana8414
$ 0.10 from @rebeysa85
+ 4
Sponsors of Belozoriana
empty
empty
empty

Comments

It looks tasty. Go, grow and glow are present on this recipe. Thus, it's healthy. Thank you for sharing this dish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love eating mushroom, sounds a very tasty and healthy recipe. Keep sharing my friend πŸ’–

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I pass the sauerkraut through a meat grinder and do not fry it. I prepare mashed potatoes in advance. But this, of course, takes longer. You can try something simpler, like in this recipe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This looks like a heart warming dish, a soup for the body and for the soul! It's nice to read the fond memories you have around your grandma and why this means so much to you. God bless you dear!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you, dear. I hope you are doing well, I read your short post, I hope you are not sick? I follow the news (about the Guinness record for the biggest orchestra) I keep my fingers crossed that it would be counted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You do? That's awesome!!! Sadly I am sick, my stomach is miss behaving 😒😒

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Don't eat cookies and juice alone, is that a meal? What kind of stomach can withstand that? You need to eat liquid soups, not necessarily fat. You can also eat porridge with skim milk, if you are on a diet. You should be comfortable in your body, not torture it. Get well dear, I know what you are worried about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I'm not eating cookies and juice, I've had soups and soft meals, also infusions and lots of liquid. Although I want cake!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading the title, I really thought "oh wow, finally a recipe that I can try" but the first ingrediant is like meat... hahahah 🀣🀣 I'm a vegetarian, so cant make this...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow this is a perfect one friend!😲🀀 Cabbage with dried mushrooms. First I love cabbage a lot then I love mushrooms too. I love it. I never try it once but I'm sure it's really delicious friend.🀀

I'm curious with the taste and I want to taste it. I'm craving right now because of this friend.πŸ₯° This is my first time seeing this kind of recipes and I amaze a lot.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I made it this afternoon. My husband was just delighted. It turns out that his grandmother used to make something like this, but no one has spoiled him like this in years.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're such a good wife maam. You make your husband happy.❀️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good morning 🌞. Your recipe sounds good. I think its very tasty. Bon appetit. We had frosty night too. Winter coming soon, we need to keep warm.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

With the advent of autumn and cold winter cabbage on our table is a frequent guest, I tried it with different mushrooms, and experimented with adding different ingredients. For example, I cooked it with both millet and pearl barley. Take note of this recipe, very tasty and useful)))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks, I have no doubt that it taste great. I definitely will note your recipe ☺️.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't made cabbage like this either. But since I fermented the cabbage with peppers, I didn't want to add I didn't add any more. Tasty, hearty. Kapustnyak with whatever it is is kapustnyak. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago