Don't help her up!

17 52
Avatar for Balikis
1 year ago

We can't help everyone, but everyone can help someone.

Ronald Reagan

The above statement poses a question, why?.

Why shouldn't I help her?

Why should I let her be when I could have helped?

The below short true-life event will give more glimpse into the statement made.

I left work early today for a friend's place after she called me on urgent matters.

After going on and on with the discussion we finally concluded.

I am a counselor which she knows which is why she called me.

The matter tabled was settled and I was neutral, not picking a side whatsoever.

After our discussions, I attempted to stand up to go home.

Her son came in that instant with his little sister who was a year and some weeks old. He ran toward me and hugged me tightly and I returned the kind gesture with lots of pecks.

I gave him money to get things out since I wasn't able to get him any when coming.

He left to get things for himself and his baby sister leaving me, his mom, and baby sister alone in the sitting room.

I carried the baby and played with her for a while and put her down when she wanted to pick something up from a far end.

The baby's legs were still a bit wobbling so she kept falling, I picked her up the first two times and was about to do that again when she fell.

Her mother's words stop me from moving forward.

No! Don't pick her up.

I turned and my brain questioned, why?.

I believe everyone is entitled to their opinion so I didn't judge.

Why?

She said and I quote.

"You don't have to pick her up every time she falls."

I gave her a questioning look, urging her to speak more on it.

Then she continued.

"Picking her up while she falls at all times will make her lenient and stop her from trying to stand herself. She needs to know she can stand without needing anyone's help at all times."

Looking at life.

Our parents won't be there for us at all times, so they prepared us for the gradual process unknowingly for our adulthood.

We've all passed through this stage while growing up, and we've had our mothers look away sometimes, leaving us to rise ourselves.

No one told us about adult life, but in a way, they prepared us for it.

A mother looking away while her baby falls while trying to walk sometimes doesn't mean she doesn't like her baby but in a way, she is preparing her for adulthood.

We've all passed through the process that's why we can face life situations times without anyone helping.

But sometimes, we let the tears fall in the darkness because we have no one to help.

They are certain people we are sure of who can help us out if they want to but they just don't do it.

When a baby hits her butt on the floor while chasing something she rises and continues with the chase.

That's why we get to rise with a determined soul to chase after what we want.

We can't be brave all the time because even the bravest of hearts cries the most.

Then comes our parents to raise us or our friends during those times.

Life in its mercies may be kind sometimes and sends us people to be with us when we lost it all. But sometimes we are unfortunate to experience it alone.

That's why we must always be kind towards people, you never know if you are the one life has chosen to help someone up. Maybe not with funds or connections but with your words.

My friend's statement sounded absurd at first then I found reason in it and I laughed.

Don't raise her up

What's your thought on this?

Though I knew why she said that, I perfectly understood the deep meaning of it.

But what about you? What deep meaning do you have to this?

Or do you think it absurd?.

Or what other addition do you have to this?

Here I come again to the end and a new beginning to another article.

Till when next we meet either in yours or mine.

Peace be unto those who crave it and more to those who chase it away.

You can check up on my last article https://read.cash/@Balikis/friends-ef4df9c4

Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to everyone who took their time to have this read, I appreciate you all, and more appreciation for my sponsors for their love and continuous support.

Thanks for reading and stay safe.

Photo source: Unsplash

Date:22 June 2022.

Writer: Balikis.

9
$ 0.18
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
$ 0.03 from @FashTioluwa
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 5
Sponsors of Balikis
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Balikis
1 year ago

Comments

Yeah that's true most times you have to let them stand in order to build courage and boldness in them for them to be able to withstand any test or trials of life.

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Yes, friend, we have to let them stand to build-up courage and boldness.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My dear Balikis, I think your friend is absolutely right. What kind of person our child will become in the future, all depends on how we treat them as a child. By treating him as a child, we can make him a strong and independent person in the future, or vice versa, make him a weak, cowardly and dependent person, that always needs our help.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Very well Ellen I love the words said. Thanks for the additional words as always.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Well, the truth is that our parent have been preparing us for adulthood even without us knowing and the explanation she gave is sense making only if the child life isn't in any form of danger.

Me as an adult, I have fallen, looking for who will pick me up o

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, they had. Don't worry dear, I'm here to pick you up

$ 0.00
1 year ago

☺😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is indeed a very valid lesson when a baby falls, the mother will say don't look at her, don't tell her sorry, just pretend like you didn't see it and you might think that she's just saying it but the truth is that when you look at the baby, she might start to cry but when the baby sees that no one saw her, she will get up and continue.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes! That's is true, our mothers have said that to us. I love your response.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, I really what that story behind the word. Trying to help her up all the time will definitely make her think help would always come at all times and she will feel relaxed to do that little thing that she can do by herself. So much sense in that, I love it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks, I'm glad you did.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah there is a deep meaning behind that line, parents tend not to care their child but the truth is they care and what they did is for the best only for her child not can be used for the future l..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes you are correct they care for us but they want us to learn. Thanks for stopping by friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're very welcome my friend :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€—πŸ€—

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seems like this article is sending a message to me directly. There are time in life when we will be faced with challenge and in the process we might fall, we just have to pick up the inner strength in us to stand again . What's the mother said about the baby is just the reality of life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it is indeed the reality of life. It sends a message to us all dear Mary. I'm glad you learned something from it. Thanks

$ 0.00
1 year ago