What a shame, what a shame!

8 30
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Personal, Story, Life, Blog, ...

We have all gone through extremely embarrassing moments in our lives, moments when we said "I'll take this to my grave" or "God, what have I done? I don't want to be seen" Well, today I will tell you about one of the most shameful moments I have experienced.

Sunday, February 27th

Hello my dear and kind friend of read.cash, I hope you are feeling very well today in this day so cloudy and cold, although we are in the dry season, the sky wants everything to be cloudy...

Tell me friend, have you ever had an embarrassing moment? Well, I have and I'm not the only one, I have found and read two articles of embarrassing things that have happened to other people and they have published it on read.cash, so I have decided to talk about an embarrassing moment thanks to them haha the first one I read was from @ARTicLEE you can find it here, and the second one I read was from @Fyangzee24 you can find it here

Story before the moment of shame

As you know if you read my articles I am a music teacher and I used to work in an academy. At first I was teaching music language and electric bass, then I started teaching piano lessons. So well, as musicians we participate in different events or we create events for the parents to see all the progress of the child.

We do a concert where the children play, enjoy themselves, take pictures, etc, etc. All this takes a lot of preparation, from choosing the themes according to the celebration (Valentine's Day, Mother's Day, Father's Day, Children's Day, Teacher's Day, Musician's Day, Christmas, etc, etc, etc). After choosing very well the themes, the tonality, the musicians, the singers and all that, we also choose themes to be interpreted by the teachers and themes for some teachers to accompany the students, so far so good.

How long does this preparation take?

Between choosing songs, making arrangements, doing the sheet music, knowing what equipment is needed for the concert, fixing the instruments if they have a fault or changing the strings on the guitar, replacing or fixing cables that make noise, knowing if we will use a stage, where the event will be held, will there be lights, will they lend us the sound or do we have to provide it? We have to study very well which children are going to participate, then teach them the songs, see normal classes, rehearsal days with the children, rehearsal days with the teachers, between all that we can spend a whole month to organize the concert well, but something always happens. .. It is inevitable, but it usually happens with the representatives, who do not want to take their children to the academy, to the classes or to the rehearsals but they want them to participate in the concert, it is crazy, isn't it?

What happened to me?

I really don't know, I just hope not too many people noticed. At that time I was no longer teaching electric bass, all the students had left the country, so there were no electric bass students, but all the songs need that instrument, so I had to learn about 20 songs by heart on the electric bass, apart from teaching these same songs to my piano students and collaborating with guitar, singing and cuatro in case a student didn't know the song well, so I had to know what all the instruments would do.

We were in November, so the songs we were practicing were for Christmas, what a difficult time, the music is a bit complex... Because I was so saturated, the boss decided that some teachers who knew how to play the bass would help me with the songs, that is, that they would also play the bass in different songs and not only I. There were only three other teachers who knew how to play the bass. There were only three more teachers who knew how to play the bass among those were my couple, a drum teacher and a guitar teacher, perfect, now instead of playing 20 songs I only had to play 5, but the songs of the teachers were missing which were 4 songs, in which I would play the bass because I was the former teacher of this instrument. In total I played 9 songs...

Day of the event

The day progressed really well, we arrived at 1pm to set up the stage, the sound, the lights, arrange the chairs, test the sound, wait for the children, arrange where they should sit, where their parents would be, and all that, so that the event would be at 6pm.

The children were called at 4:30pm to give everyone a chance to arrive.

6pm

The event started well, my couple, another teacher and I are always the ones in charge of accommodating all the kids and knowing what song is coming, who is going to play, organizing and helping the kids to get on the stage, all the logistics are done by us, the other teachers don't collaborate. So that's fine, we've been doing that for years. My mind is in many places because I have to be aware of the kids when I'm not playing, but if I'm playing a song I still have to be aware of all the kids, the ones that are playing, the ones that are coming, the ones that are running around. So in one of those moments my head exploded....

What a shame!

I don't really know what happened, I was playing normally, when suddenly my mind went blank and I froze, I heard the sound technician behind me say:

"I can't hear the electric bass, I can't hear the electric bass! Is the instrument damaged? Is the cable damaged? Is the amplifier damaged? What's going on?" he said in desperation.

There was only one thing going through my mind....

"What am I doing? What chord is coming? What are we playing? Does the audience realize I can't move?"

Until my brain responded, my hands started to move and I remembered what song it was and where I was going, it was really about 15 or 20 seconds that I stopped playing but I felt like it had been an eternity, I felt like I was going to die.

When I got off the stage and went to help the kids, I didn't have a song to play but within 2 more songs, my couple took advantage of the time we were together and said to me:

"What happened to you, why did you stop playing?"

I said.

"I don't know, I guess my brain thought it was the best time to stop working."

The other songs went well, I didn't make a mistake, I didn't get lost and my brain didn't go blank again. I was very sad, I just hope they didn't notice it so much hahaha that the parents were only looking out for their kids and not me.

Thank you very much for reaching the end of my article dear reader, I hope you had some fun with my embarrassing moment, and if it wasn't enough you can read what happened to ARTicLEE and Fyangzee24. You can also comment on an embarrassing moment or make an article about your most embarrassing moment and tag us.

Remember you can also read the posts of my kind and adoring sponsors and leave them a love-filled comment. Thank you for once again reading one of my articles.

Sponsors of ArteFM
empty
empty
empty

See you in the next article!  

All content is original

Greetings from Venezuela

10
$ 5.77
$ 5.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Frankmart
$ 0.05 from @Unity
+ 2
Avatar for ArteFM
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Diary, Personal, Story, Life, Blog, ...

Comments

Hola @ArteFM me tomaré el atrevimiento de escribir en español porque leí que eres de venezuela al igual que yo. Momentos de tipo "tragame tierra" creo que todos hemos tenido. Pero hay varios que no se si quiero revelar jajaja lo que si te digo es que bueno pasé LA VERGUENZA del año en muchos de esos momentos. Saludos!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hay muchos Venezolanos en esta página jajaja. Puedes escoger el que te de menos vergüenza, eso fue lo que hice, también he tenido momentos realmente vergonzosos, tuve que pensar mucho, hasta que elegí hablar de este. Saludos, puedes escribirme en español sin problemas :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is possible that only the musicians realize these details, people generally go unnoticed, others will think that the piece is like that or has an arrangement, haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, the most common thing is that the public doesn't realize it, but as a musician you do, and it's a shame hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My dear friend, it was a very interesting experience, you are right, sometimes our brains lock up when we do something. But usually those who are not professional in the field of music do not understand the flaws of the work, this mistake has grown in your mind, while the listeners certainly didn't understand.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was really very nervous because I had to be aware of many things, my brain just blocked what I was doing, it was very embarrassing, but it gives you more experiences.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That really a shame indeed . I have a shame story it all about when they lied against me that I stolen my teachers money my mom didn't believe me that I did not do that ,the shame lasted for more than a week . So happy you are a music teacher , I really loved music I prefer to learn saxophone but I only have few experience in it . I am pretty sure you know more about piano because I heard about you taking of chord

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh your story is really shameful and sad, it's wrong that they do that kind of lies.

The first instrument I played was the oboe, then electric bass, guitar, piano and so on little by little. I don't play saxophone but my father-in-law is a great saxophone player.

$ 0.00
2 years ago