Story Without Electricity And a Blast From The Past

30 50
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Electricity has been a major problem all over my country for more or less the past 3 weeks. The government had said that there was a problem with the national grid, but it had already been taken care of only for me to read on twitter yesterday that there is a new problem with the national grid. Although, electricity in my vicinity was back to normal last week Tuesday, I could still hear the cry of other people both on the News, social media and of course, read.cash.

Just when I was starting to enjoy the stability of power supply, a windy rain decided to blow my enjoyment into thin air (I mean this literally and metaphorically). On Wednesday this week, the sound of the wind blowing against everything it could had woken me up from my beauty sleep, didn't need a fortuneteller to tell me what will come next, so I had to get up to close the window. It didn't take long before the rain started beating its droplets against everything outside.

Just when the breeze had started blowing, the electricity supply went off, but it didn't matter, as the rain would bring with it the coolness I the light had taken away. So, I went back to sleep and woke up about two hours later. I had expected the light to come back before or just after it had stopped raining. Much to my disappointment and shock, it didn't. I went out later in the evening with my cousin to the supermarket to buy some groceries and was shocked to see that there was light in the the area, but not at the house. i would expect anything that affects us affects every area around.

Up till this moment, electrical power had not been restored. I heard that the distribution pole carrying current to the estate had fallen down because of the rain on Wednesday morning. I wonder how long it takes to fix that sort of problem. It is the weekend and I sincerely am not expecting power to be restored before Monday as technicians of the distribution company usually don't work on weekends.

Since Wednesday, we have been running on generator. My problem with this is that we can't run the generator all through the night as there is a community law against it. For 'security' reasons, all generator must be turned off at midnight. This is when the torture starts. Even if I open the window it seems all the breeze outside made a pact to not enter the house, like it is a forbidden to blow into the house. To further compound the heat of the night, the musical vampires come out of their hiding to feast and dine on me. Nature and circumstances had provided all they needed.

I can categorically say I haven't had a decent night sleep since Wednesday. Lack of sleeps makes me cranky, I woke up this morning with a headache and up till this moment, my head is banging. I don't know if it is the effects of the mosquito bites I have been exposed to the last three nights or the lack of good sleep. W

As I went out this evening to buy fuel for the generator, I had met one of my secondary school (high school) classmates. Not just my classmate, he was my seatmate in class until he dropped out of school. It was a pleasant surprise more so because he called me what he used to call me many years ago 'Mathematician'. I was overwhelmed with sentimental nostalgia, he asked if I was schooling and as I answered YES, he gave a reaction of affirmation, as though he'd be disappointed had I answered otherwise. I think the last time I saw him was about 10 years ago, but it was good to see him today. He hadn't changed much and I suppose I haven't too because he recognized me when he saw me.

We exchanged numbers immediately, as it seemed he was in a hurry to return to his workshop. I suspected a customer was waiting for him there. He promised to call me and direct me to see his workplace, so we can catch up. As I walked back home, I reminisced about about the circumstances behind his dropping out of school.

As my seatmate, he used to be absent from school a lot, so I asked him one day why he absents himself from school so much. He opened up and told me he lives with his uncle who is a mechanic and from the things he didn't say, I supposed he wasn't so keen on school, so he had to learn his uncle's trade. I think that was the reason he was staying with him in the first place. I remember telling him that it is better if he focused on one and leave the other. I was glad to see he was doing good, and has even setup his own workshop. A pleasant blast from the past.

Thank You For Reading 🖤🖤

14
$ 2.39
$ 1.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.51 from @TheGuy
$ 0.05 from @GarrethGrey07
+ 11
Sponsors of Aimure
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Aimure
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Without electricity nowadays its tough to stay and do work.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, it really is

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's nice to run into an old friend. Sorry about the light issue. Although, I don't get the connection between generators and security

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you Daria. I also don't understand the connection

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry about the heat and mosquito bites you pass through during the night, I hope that panging headache has stopped. I can totally relate to the issue of an heavy rain disrupting the power supply of a particular area. I do hope they get it fixed soon

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, the headache is gone, thank you very much.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That power grid dey always get problem, it collapses almost every week. A heavy rain also fell over here on Wednesday morning and it has been doing so everyday, but luckily for us they still bring light 🌚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

The thing don tire me. Other people get light, we no get

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Now that one is the worst 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Life without electricity is very difficult nowadays and if it's summer season then more, can't enjoy even a peaceful sleep. We had a transformer failure yesterday and with one day of no electricity,I felt like hell. I can't imagine how you people are coping. Gladly it came back in the morning. Stil one night was enough to make me realise how important electricity is part of our life and can effect the functioning of daily lives of people.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly, it is difficult. Thanks to generator that has been our saving grace ever since

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello Mathematician :) It's sad to hear the discomfort without the electricity. It can be really challenging. I hope it will be restored soonest

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hehehe, Hi to you farmGirl. I hope power is restored soon too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The high heat and power outages are a very annoying combination, it is still cold here but when summer comes we will experience the same

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I wish there was cold here, I very much prefer that to the heat we have now

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol.i don't think there's anything more painful when you see that others have light but your house doesn't. The feeling is different

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree o, Nothing is as painful as that

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahala dey oo. I haven't seen light with my two eyes for the past two days. I thought it was only us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wahala really dey. LoL. Na general thing o

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is really hard to live a day without electricity, specially if the weather is hot and there's mosquitoes. I have experience it many times when we were still living in the apartment. One's the electricity got turned off it will be back after three days or more. It's quite hard to sleep during the night, plus mosquitoes won't let you sleep. However I hope that issue would be fixed so soon in your area.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks GarrethGrey. I hope it is fixed soon too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I guess this explains it all. I have been wondering why there wasn't any light in my area for a couple days now, didn't know it had something to do with the national grid.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That couls also be a sell story though. I assume you're Nigerian too?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I Am. I joined read.cash yesterday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm sorry to hear this Aimure. It's really hard when the power is out. Even me that's what I've hated the most especially in my work. It's always have electricity. My day will be ruin if there's no an electricity.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for sympathizing with me Ramona, I very much appreciate it. Electricity is very important

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I empathize with your discomfort my friend, but as a writer, I absolutely raved over your poetic language. Musical vampires, that's definitely a new one, and I love it! Back in the day I called mosquitoes my evening symphony. lol! I hope the electricity is restored to your home and estate so that you can return to normal life and have access to the amenities that you need. I know all too well what it feels like to be stuck in a warm house with no fan or a/c because the power is out and there's no end in sight in terms of when it's gonna be restored. Take care and be safe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks Trifecta. Evening symphony is a new one hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That was sad. I knew exactly what it feels like to have a shortage in power electricity and brownout for days and even weeks. You still have lack of sleep, then sleep in the afternoon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I find it difficult to nap during the day because of noise and daylight. Even if I do, it is usually for a short time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago