PHOTOBLOG: Chat and Brew

37 52
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I mentioned the other day that after failing our apartment hunting, we had our lunch at a new place in the neighborhood.

Chat and Brew is co-owned by a friend. I saw him posting about it one time. I was curious why would he do that for he never promotes stuff like that. I then asked him about it if he owned it and he confirmed so I jokingly asked him to take me there and have coffee. He doesn't work and live here in the city but they do have a family home just a few blocks from where our unit is.

Every time I take this route on my walks, I always pass by the building where the cafe is. I was hoping they will open early so I could at least try whatever is on their menu.

The ambiance of the place is pleasant as it has lots of windows letting in lots of natural light. The wooden tables that look like burnt and wood-like wall paints give that warmth to the place. The chairs look comfy enough. However, these are catered for average heights not for taller ones. One can sit by the bar or you can opt to sit outside where there are stools and you get to have an amazing view of the city.

What is most noticeable are the succulents and plants that you can see displayed on the tables and every corner of the place and much more outside. This is surely a delight to the so-called plantito/plantita/plant-whatever.

The plants seem to be of the same varieties. I'm not really well versed in that field for they almost look the same to me. I really should be paying more attention what is what. One is for certain. They liven up the place more.

They do have a lot of choices on their menu. To name a few, they have rice meals, noodles/pasta, cakes, fries, nachos, sandwiches, coffee and other hot and cold beverages. They seem to have everything.

Looking at their menu, we decided for Pancit (stir fried noodles) with Kinagang, Chicken Sisig and Tako-Etag.

We started off with their brewed coffee which is free.

They do have some books in one corner and a Hangman game. I was more interested in the books for I am familiar with the authors, authors that I really like for I have read some of their works.

While waiting for our orders, I tried reading that book by Robert Ludlum but nothing is coming to mind. So I took more photos instead. It was not long before our orders arrived. The coffee is warm that's why I was able to drink two cups by the time our orders came.

Pancit Guisado and Chicken Sisig
Tako-Etag
Chicken Sisig

I asked the girl who served us what is Kinagang and she said smoked meat. I Googled and there is another Kinagang dish in Sorsogon. Here in the Cordilleras, every region has its own term for smoked meat or sun dried meat and Kinagang is a term from Sadanga.

Bits of this Kinagang is mixed in the Pancit Guisado and it is also what is inside the Tako-Etag.

I like how the Pancit was cooked although I would have preferred more veggies. You can really taste the smokiness in bits of meat.

The Chicken Sisig is tender and cooked well. It comes with rice but I just ate a portion of the rice and my partner ate the rest. I ate most of the Pancit and Tako-Etag.

I guess Tako-Etag was inspired by Takoyaki. I have never tried Takoyaki. You can order that starting with 6 pcs as the minimum. I don't find Tako-Etag to my liking though. Aside from the smoky flavor that you can get from the Etag, there is nothing more to it that I could say I want to order that again.

The Pancit and Chicken tasted too salty to my taste. I will probably request for lesser saltiness next time and that will just be perfect.

I am interested in their desserts, sandwiches and other food so we will be back for sure.

I did inform the owner about the saltiness of some of the food and she said that they will adjust that next time. We had a bit of a chat regarding my friend who is her business partner and then we paid and left.

It would be interesting to go back there at a different time of the day like sunset or when it's dark and see a different view.

So you all on my next blog!

21
$ 8.34
$ 7.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Talecharm
$ 0.06 from @MD_Tibro
+ 19
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

That's a nice outing for a view to feed the eyes and coffee to wet the throat. I just admit, your camera is superb 📸

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hola amigo, me gusta el Post esos platos se ven muy buenos, de verdada abre el apetitoy ese paisaje se ve muy bonito, buen lugar.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the ambiance, Kuya! Lagi talaga ako naaamaze sa shots mooo! At ginutom ako sa pancit guisado haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang ganda nga ng ambience! Gusto ko dyan, parang ang cozy lang. Ganun..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ou maganda siya. Mejo di lang masyado un mga tables and chairs pag sa matatangkad hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yung lagayan coconut shell. Ang native naman tapos nakatipid pa sa hugasin. Maganda nga siguro kapag pumunta jan ng dapit hapon or gabi para makita yung city lights

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga e. Napaka natural un ginamit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I was reading this post, what caught my attention more is the fact that you have such a great talent in photography. Each of the photo has so much feels in it, I love it. You made each of them look astounding.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's so kind of you! I appreciate you too :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I love that display of succulents. They're not all the same, but I am also not familiar with all their names, just call them collectively succulents ;)

Beautiful view from that place too 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I used to call them cactus/cacti in general :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bet na bet ko yung lalagyan ng dish, coconut shell looks so unique. 😻😹 I am sure the dishes are yummy!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All these food!. Aah, now I'm salivating to just have one bite. They all look sumptuous and yummy. "Pancit gusado and chicken sisig looks so yummy." What country is this?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is from the Philippines. You should try Filipino dishes if you have the chance ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Every day I see an article about food and there is always something new. Seems there is a lot of food in your country which I am guessing is the Philippines. Or is it that they just come with different names and form?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your guess is right :) Dishes may vary from region to region. As we all know, people can get creative with food and add their personal touch so even if it has the same name, there are more or less differences because it depends on the one who cooks.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Would lodge a case on you. You made me hungry. 🥺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol! Come on over and I'll treat you to a meal.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unique ang lagayan ng foods ah.. zoom ko talaga Lee hehehe. Ang sarap ng sisig with pancit pa yum yummm. Fave ko din yang takoyaki ksi puro veges eh.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bao ung lagayan? Maganda ung place, maganda ung naraise nyo ung concern nyo sa foods para magawa na nila ng ayos

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou simple pero napaka natural.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nagugutom na naman ako dahil ditooo...coffee!!!!!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung una ko pang kita sa picture ng Tako-Etag, nasabi ko talaga na parang Takoyaki sir Lee. Ang sarap ng mga foods sir lee tyaka ang ganda ng view sa labas. Napaka peaceful and refreshing. Super worth it pag pupunta diyan sir lee. 😊❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou sulit talaga punta doon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww a g cool, nasa bao sha ano 😍 very very nice. And ang ganda talaga ng view tas ang foods omg 🤤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Gusto ko mga ganyan na simple lang hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Simple pero rock no haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang cool ng nilagay nila sa bao ng niyog as substitute to ceramics hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Very sustainable :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can be a great endorser Clee! I can't help it but be amaze I'm all your shots. I haven't tried chicken sisig I mostly eat pork sisig but I bet that's delicious as in the photo

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Promote natin ng free para sa ekonomiya ng Pilipinas :D It's a great help for businesses that we promote them. It's a huge help in marketing their business.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sa benguet ba loc neto kuys? O iba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dito lang sa Baguio yan :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waiiiiit... Are you the one taking those photos?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yup :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago