People disappoints us but what will you do about it?

38 59
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

I just finished watching season 2 of The Witcher. Movies and series have great lessons you can learn from if you pay attention.

There was one part there where it said that the monsters in humankind come in every form no matter what is your status, what race, religion, gender. I kept repeating myself when I saw that we create monsters with the way we treat others be it in words or in deeds.

This takes me to the company that my brother works. You know when you are young, fresh from school, ready to be out in the world, land your first job. You have that ideal kind of thinking especially what you have learned in school.

You have been taught and studied about wrong practices that one should not do. There is what you call ethics, professionalism in every job which should be followed.

My brother was offered a job in a big company. They have had projects scattered in the country and one is ongoing right now in our city to which my brother works for. It looks promising when a friend who works there offered it to him. He is offering is position to my brother for he will be assigned to another area where they have a new project. He was tasked by his bosses to find a replacement. He was kind enough to think of my brother who just graduated.

Of course he didn't tell every detail, just what the job entails.

Just few days in his job and he already noticed a lot of malpractices that the company is doing. Their bosses know but they didn't give much thought about it. A lot of anomalies and discrepancies from construction to the payment of contractors and laborers. It seems every week there were new contractors coming in because either their compensation is delayed or they were not being paid rightfully so. I asked him why they did not complain if they knew about these malpractices but he said that the owners have strong political connections.

Before the company's Christmas party last week, their bosses asked for donations from other companies that supposedly should be raffled and to be given away to whoever is the lucky winner. Brand new appliances were brought to the site coming from various donors. Everyone saw these items being delivered and the exciting is kept building and building as more and more arrived.

Come the day of the party, all those items were gone to the disappointment of everyone. They checked the CCTV footage installed in that room where these appliances were kept for safekeeping. Lo and behold, they saw the owners taking those all away. Where did they bring them? Only they can guess. One of the old employees there said that that is the habit of these owners. There was one party that there were also brand new appliances delivered but on the day of the party, what was given to the winners were used items.

My brother was dismayed with what is happening with the company. He had high hopes when he first started but it quickly came crashing down. He said he'll just finish this month and then leave. He is not yet paid fully and he is just waiting for his pay that is if he can tolerate working there.

Disappointments will always happen. That's why we have to guard ourselves by not hoping so much, expecting great things from others. Do not easily trust. Whatever others do, learn from them. You have the choice to be like them or not. Will you cave in or stand your ground and uphold your beliefs?

21
$ 13.21
$ 11.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.05 from @Jane
$ 0.15 from @FarmGirl
+ 17
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Disappointments will always happen, but your brother is a good men and he has integrity. Walking away from a company with shady owners is the right thing to do.

I saw season 2 of Witcher, but I didn’t really remember much from season 1, so I’m rewatching it now before moving on to season 2.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That happens to me too that's why I'd rather wait for more seasons to be finished then binge watch rather than waiting for the next.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. It's how I watched all the Star Trek ever made :) Then still had to wait for Piccard series 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Its really disappointing what the owners did,good that your brother decided to leave and not become like them

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is unfair of the company owner. Well, we need to be prepared for any fuck up or disappointment. People will definitely disappoint us and we should not be surprised.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's right. Expect it even from those we thought we will not expect.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is so sad. I would leave too if I were in the shoes of your brother. I prefer my sanity because my conscience will haunt me if I stay knowing something within is off

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Until now they would contact him every now and then if he wants to sign some papers with fee of course but he declines always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad your brother doesn't compromise his principles in life. Kudos to him🥂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! tomorrow I will watch this movie because I haven't watched it yet, I'll start season 1

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you did :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is just wrong what the owners are doing I mean stealing from people like that ..just try and make sure you brother is safe working for them .. because they are alot of bad people in this world.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Agree. That is plain theft and nothing more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We may be hit but it should never change who we are and what we represent… this was touching we must be ready to face any form of twist.. I have the season 2 downloaded I’m going to see it during the holiday

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you enjoyed watching The Witcher :D

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is really sad when you have high hopes for a company just to find out they have moral or integrity issues. It happened to us too. I just hope your brother will make a wise decision on the matter.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

He left the company. That's the best decision :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sorry to hear what your brother went through. As a fresher his expectations should have crashed on what he saw. As a youngster he must be motivated bcos this will only benefit the company's growth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

His disappointment was really felt at that time when he was relaying what happened.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May something better is awaiting....All is well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best thing to do is to stay away from these people. You never know when they will be judged and the innocent may fall for having let everything happen normally.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree 100%.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

....

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yun o! Ang ganda :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That is one of the big problems with corruption, they have bought the politicians to do whatever they want, let's hope that these constructions remain standing, it is not going to become a catastrophe. The best thing your brother can do is to look for a serious company that is really representative.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope he will find such serious company. Right now, he is back to reviewing for his licensure exam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nkakadisappoint tlga, wlng ethics and professionalism nga. Imbes na maging mas mahubog ung pinag-aralan e lalo lng mabahiran ng d maganda. Best is to leave na kesa mahawa p xa sa kalokohan ng kumpanya

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Nakakawalang gana nga naman pag ganun.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Check ko man dayta.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wen go hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also watched the first episode of the Witcher but couldn’t advance forward. Anyways it’s so sad to hear about how people act based on their selfish interest and hereby promoting corruption.

Good one your brother decided to leave.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So much corruption everywhere but we have to keep searching where there is few to none.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What the owner of the company doing is not good. Hays, I feel sorry for those people who work for them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwtss...so in short, budolero ang owner..nasaan ang konsensya nya para kujin yung mga items na para sa party..nakakaloka..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In a world full of disappointments, the best thing to do is to limit our expectations and live life to the fullest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Human being will always act as human. That's why it's better not to expect too much from them. I haven't seen Witcher 2. I need to add it to my to watch list.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch! That's kinda sad. I remember also about our friend ask my partner if my partner want to be his position because he's going to be hired in a government agency. But I am the one who keeps asking the detail until I found a loophole so I told my partner not to accept. That's really sad because we trust and then as time pass you will see the malpractice and sometimes you don't have a choice but to endure especially if you have nothing to go.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Still watching it. Henry Cavil as Witcher is just awesome. Well you said it right. Let's hope less & have less expectations from people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago