Not one, not two, but three

58 104
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Let's talk Japanese.

Baguio City is historical in that it is here where the Japanese forces made their final surrender against the Americans in September 1945.

There are now three torii here in the city. As per Wikipedia, torii is a symbol that you are now entering into a spiritual or sacred place. That is why you find them at the entrance of a shrine or within a shrine. They are found at the foot of mountains. We all know that mountains are said to be the place of the gods. That is why torii is a gateway to the sacred dwelling of gods.

The color red is said to be protection from evil but they were not always red for they were originally white. The introduction of paint aside from being symbolic, it is also practical for mercury can be found in paints making the torii lasts longer. Read more.

In addition, here in the city, torii is to commemorate peace that we have the Japanese people.

If you know more about torii and Japan in general, feel free to give your insights.

Here in Baguio City, there are three places so far that I know where you can find torii.

Botanical Garden

Aside from various plants and trees that you can see here, there are also different gardens like Japanese, Korean, Chinese and Thailand. The last time we were there, it was under renovation. There may be some other new things to be seen there soon.

Botanical Garden is located along Leonard Wood Road. You will pass by this one when you are on your way to The Mansion, Wright Park or Mines View. They also have a cafe here and souvenir shops.

This is the first place where I know a torii was set up. There was no torii then when we were kids. It was placed at the entrance of a tunnel. To where this tunnel goes to, I don't know. They say it exits somewhere in the city. This is a man-made cave with different chambers but nothing else to see.

The pond where the bridge is located is used to be full of koi and lotus flowers but because of the renovations going on, it was drained. I hope the fish are okay. This is a favorite spot for photographs then for Japanese-themed shot as it was the only torii then.

Sablan Viewdeck

This is located along Quirino Highway or more commonly known as Naguilian Road, one of the roads going in and out of Baguio City. This road takes you down to the lowlands and the beaches of La Union and to the Ilocos Regions.

From the view deck you can see sea of green mountains and you can glimpse Balili River and maybe Aringay River exiting to West Philippine Sea.

Placing a torii here is historical.

Philippines had been under Japanese occupation during the war. During that time, military camps were set up here. It is a great vantage point for you can see who is out there in the sea and who is coming up to the mountains. Read more.

It's a great location too for sunset viewing.

Mirador Hill Peace Memorial

This is the only torii with bell hanging on it. It was made out of a WWII bomb that was dropped on this hill. Good thing it didn't explode. Ringing the bell is like a greeting to the gods.

This is the latest attraction here in the city. It is located at Mirador Hill just beside Lourdes Grotto, another tourist attraction. Aside from the torii, there are other gardens also here that you can see - rock garden and bamboo garden. There are lots of developments still ongoing on this site no wonder the entrance fee to this place had marked up, double the price than when we first visited. We were there February of this year and then again last May.

The house behind the torii is the Jesuit villa and retreat house.

If you are lucky, sunsets here are amazing. Even on a foggy day like when we were there, it was still a mystical sight.

Of all the three, the one in Botanical Garden is the biggest. I think the one in Sablan and in Mirador are almost the same. What I like about the one in Botanical is its mystery. The plants, the tunnel, the trees give a vibe of something sinister even, like from a horror movie. I like the one at the Mirador Hill the most because of where it was built and it's better for picture taking. There are more torii in this site but the one where I had my photo taken was the best of all.

Do you have torii where you are? or a Japanese garden perhaps?

Japan is the country on top of my list that I wish to visit. If given the chance, I could even live there. There are so many things about Japan that I am fascinated by.

It had to take me a mystery article to finally come up with an idea with that to write. I have been checking my gallery and reading other articles here but nothing comes to mind.

Thank you all for your support. See you on the next blog.

*All contents are mine.

23
$ 18.77
$ 16.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @Pantera
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 17
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

Pero mas gusto ko yung sa Mirador lalo na sabi mo makikita sunset kahit foggy kung sswertihin. Hehe. Nung nakita ko picture naisip ko si Mjane88 sa noise.cash kasi sa kanya ako nakakita torii. Nalimutan ko na name ng retreat house namin noon sa Baguio nung high school pero yung pag akyat ng Lourdes Grotto nung around 2008 with family naman eh naaalala ko pa. Hahaha. Meron pa kami isang napuntahan nun yung may mga statue ng sundalo at tanks. Saan nga ba yun?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I really love Japanese culture.

If I would be given a chance to see those gates I would stand there in the middle of the night, then wait to see if there would be an Ayakashi that will come out in the Torii gate coming from the hidden realm.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's interesting. I think I would do that on the first torii facing the tunnels lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's just the result of watching too much anime. Hahaha! 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I've guessed as much :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha, I'm learning Japanese as well. I want to watch it without subtitles.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's awesome! I have tried learning Japanese through an app before but didn't pursue it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm still a beginner, though. I still have a ton of vocabulary to study.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's great that you started it. Keep going!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love Japanese anything! One of my top places to visit one day 💙

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You and me both! I hope one soon we can go there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also dream to visit Japan because of the animations and beautiful places. Puro hightech pa sa japan like may mga Robotics :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga e. Ganda na nga ng natural environment, ganda pa ng technology nila.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Unfortunately, we failed to drop by one of these areas when we went to Baguio three years ago. Thanks for this post.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There's always next time :D I hope by then the Mirador Hill is finished. I think it was last year the renovation of the place started.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganda naman dito. I also dream to visit Japan to see the cherry blossom and this one too goes to my list.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

There is a cherry blossom at the country club I think which we forgot to check when we were there. However, cherry blossoms are planted in Atok, Benguet and some were already blooming but not in full yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice. Soon I must get there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. I haven't been there yet.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I never wanted to go to Baguio before kasi sa news palaging may nahuhulugan ng mga bato lol but when we went there las 2019, I fell in love with the place! Andaming bulaklak na sa Baguio ko lang nakita and the strawberry ice cream kahit flavor of the road lang was so delicious. Now I miss Baguio!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Lagi may landslide dito lalo na sa mga roads kaya nakakatakot lalo na ngayon na tag ulan. Yun talaga ang concern dito e.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think there are torii at luneta in the botanical garden... But I'm not that sure since its been ages ago since i last visited there

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I haven't been there yet buy maybe soon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like Japan too. I want to visit there. Its a technology hub. And the passport of Japan is the strongest passport of the world which requires no visa to travel through out the world.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I didn't know about the passport thing. That's awesome!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dream ko din makapunta sa Japan. yung company ko dati binibigyan nila nang chance mga employee na makapunta sa Japan and train for one month and pag balik ma po promote agad..from operator to trainer, trainer to line leader.. ganern...pero di ako nagkachance kasi palipat lipat ako nang department

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sayang naman. Parang easy passport mo na sa promotion. Di bale balang araw makakavisit din tayo sa Japan. Wala nga lang promotion :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

claiming🙏🙏

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love all the pics, but you already know that! hehe. By your pics, I think I also love the most the Tori at the Mirador. I'd also love to visit Japan someday. Tokyo and also Kyoto. I don´t think I've seen a Tori like these before. I've been in the Japenese Garden in San Francisco, CA, but I don´t remember a Tori like these.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, I like the one in Mirador the most as well. There is another torii there but without the view that the other one offers but both of them has a bell. I'm not sure if they were made from the same bomb.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have been to Botanical Garden back in 2009. I used to visit Baguio multiple times a year but I got to visit Botanical only once.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mas maganda na siya ngayon, sir. Mas madami na makikita dun ngayon :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, I have been to Baguio once pero sa Burnham park lang ako nakapunta ehh Next time if ever makabalik punta ako sa lugar na Yan ❤️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Burnham kasi ang nasa centro lang kaya madali lang siya puntahan. Yun first at last the torii ang malapit lang din na puntahan from city center.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahh Okie .. kaya pala we are like lost Rin Kasi that time and the only place near and known is the burnham

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Come visit often so you'll familiarize yourself to the city :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Japan is also one of the places I wanted to visit soon. Anyways, ngayon ko lang nalaman ng use ng torii. Thank you for the info.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're welcome :) Dami talaga marami pa malaman about Japan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung 28th birthday ko punta Sana kami Baguio . Nakapagpabook na kami ng room accomodations tapos biglang nagkacovid hays

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Sayang naman. Sana talaga mawala na ang COVID na to.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wonder if the shape means something, I have seen them abroad, but not sure if there are any in the UK.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have not come across if there is a meaning to that, kuya. Share it here if you do have an answer to that :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

These are real good. It's funny and ironic that we live nearby but haven't even visited them🤣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! So go and visit them then :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We will for sure🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey, man, I'm glad you are on Read Cash. Very nice presentation, I've watched a couple of your YouTube vids too. Consider also a cointr.ee or giving the rest of your networks to follow you, like Twitter, Noise, etc. Best of Luck!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahh..just read this. I just uploaded another one :D I'll remember to do this for the next. Thanks!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Also, go to your sponsors on the menu below your username and accept mine!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks much! You rock!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You took very nice pictures to tell your story. I like to know from the mouths of tourists the stories they have lived in the places they have visited. I hope you get your wish to live in that country.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks so much! I try my best :) I really hope that I can visit Japan even for once.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aha! Another set of places to check out when going to baguio!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sometimes I feel like a tourist to this city for there are new things to discover and rediscover the old ones :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Good thing about it is you are an explorer. You end up seeing these places and you get to share with us. . . Mooooreee!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! Pay may nunal daw sa paa, mahilig daw yan mamasyal. E parehong paa ko may nunal. Kaya yan di mapakali haha!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

bwahahhaa kelangan laging merong bagong napupuntahan!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu kayat ko dita Mirador!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wen lalagipem nu makaumay ka ditoy ta uray isu panan tayo nga first hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago