"I tried so hard...in the end, it doesn't even matter"

22 36
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

'90s kids would know where the title came from.

Music is the escape for most of us, if not all.

You will come to a point in your life where you are with the world or against it. There is no in between. Mostly, that is during your teenage years. You are old enough but not enough to do what you want to do. You feel restricted and confined.

You want to challenge everything and everyone. I know you can all relate. Maybe some of you have come to that point sooner or later.

With so much angst, anger and lots of emotions that you can't express, you find ways to release those.

For me, it was through music.

Back then, radio is still the thing. There was internet but boy, oh boy, how pricey they were. It was dial up then, not fiber, not as quick and fast as they are now. It was more or less PHP60.00 per hour back then (around USD1.50). As a student, that is really expensive. There were no smartphones although we do have ipods and other players back then. Cassette tapes are still a thing too. CDs are pricey.

Because we couldn't acquire music as easily as now with just a click of a button, we get to enjoy music more.

That's when I came across Linkin Park. I first heard them on the radio. They were new. They were fresh. They are a combination of everything which was refreshing. I instantly fell in love with their music. The voice of one of the lead vocals, Chester, was easy to listen to and his range is incredible!

Plus, the lyrics of their songs echo the emotions I am bottling inside me.

I bought song hits (those magazines with lyrics and chords of the latest hits and some info about some artists) just to get to learn more about their songs.

I did collect some of their albums in cassette tapes and played those over and over again. I find comfort in a way knowing that I was not the only one feeling what I felt then. Someone understands. Someone relates to me. I am not alone.

So in a sense, Linkin Park became a part of my life. It helped me out of my darkest episodes.

It was a big blow when Chester took his like in 2017. It felt like a part of me died with him.

I playing some songs in YouTube the other day when when this video was played. This is a tribute to Chester. Artists from different bands came to sing Linkin Park songs.

While it was a nice tribute, you get to appreciate more the voice of Chester for only he can give justice to the songs of LP. I'm not saying the artists who sang in his place where that bad but it was cringey at times. There were still some good ones.

What hit me the most was the crowd singing along. That created such an impact. I wish I was there singing along with them.

When I have learned about Chester's death, there was a whole new meaning to all the songs and they way he sang them. It's like a personal cry for help from him.

We really don't know how others suffer and struggle. Please check on your loved ones and friends. Be kind to others all the time. Be more understanding and be more patient. Empathize with them. Mental health is as important as physical health.

Also, don't be afraid to reach out and talk to others. Hey, you can talk to me, too. Just buy me unlimited coffee :D

17
$ 5.05
$ 4.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @mommykim
$ 0.10 from @dziefem
+ 11
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I've listened to a lot of Linkin Park songs, but I'm not a follower. However, it is reasonable with a gesture or a word of encouragement you can save a life or sink it. To chat with you I have to bring tons of coffee, the talk will be very good and long.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I'm pretty sure I'll learn a lot from you :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just from the title alone, i knew it will be about personal attachment to the lyrics, as a batang 90's linkin park was one of my favorites also while growing up. Adding to it the personal life experiences of chester that's why the lyrics are so catchy. When chester died a part of most 90' who are grown men now died. Nag trend pa nga yun sa fb na memes "kunin nyo na kpop lord, ibalik nyo lang si chester". 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lol at the meme although we don't wish ill to others :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, that was just a meme though haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Linkin Park's music is not my usual type, but I do like one of their songs from around year 2000. No idea of the title ;)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They sort of mellowed during the last years before Chester's death.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can still remember how the world turned dark when Chester died. I mean I only get to know him from the news of his death but I am enjoying their songs even before knowing him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Linkin Parks songs mean a lot to everyone and it even serves as their comfort song, including me. Kaya nga they're one of my fave bands

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm really a fan of LP and even other artist...it's like they're pertaining to their selves when they're making their songs especially the meaning of it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Linkin Park: In the end! I love that song

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We must be mindful talaga sa mga bibitawang salita and always be kind, it's free anyway. Unlimited coffee lang ba, kuya?? Sure. Hahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Tara haha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is so true...we don't know each others struggles. One harsh word from someone could be the end of life for another...

Cheers with coffee! I'm sipping on mine now :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You know dear, this was going to be my next contents title and you wrote. Same feelings. Chester was a gem. That single is now playing the full music in my mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not have any idea about Pop music because we have our own regional music and billions of songs.. and reaching people is very important before it is too late

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ouch, nice tribute. I sang with the article's title, I'm not familiar with the band but I remember the song. I used to listen in a radio even in my elem days. Sad how some people are not as empathetic as they should.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was pleased to learn that you use music as an emotional outlet. I agree with you at the end where you comment that mental health is as important as physical health. Totally agree about the unlimited coffee, we play in the same band!.. hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mental health is a serious issue and I hope more people will be open about it. 90s music s one of the bests :) And I like listening to the radio before, nostalgic lol.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I heard about Chester's death when my schoolmate told me about it. He was an LP fan and he told me how sad he was of the said news. It was a sad moment for all the LP fans indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes that's true sir lee. We don't know the other people struggles that's why we must be careful with our actions and words instead we should gave our love and care for everybody. We should mind the others. Helping each other is the key.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also have heard many albums of linkin park but in 2013-14 after that I stopped listening to this band and yes I can relate that now people listen to the music online but there was time when we used to have a bulk of cassette tapes for music and films etc.

$ 0.00
2 years ago