Freedom that I am grateful for

24 45
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Finally, I am down to my last prompt for this 30-day writing challenge and the topic is about freedom that I am grateful for. For a complete list of the prompt, you can check out this post by Jane.

This felt like two months in the making but I am just grateful that this is finally coming to an end.

Answering questions like this help to realize who you are. If you are not that good in self-analysis just like me, these questions help to know yourself better. You'll be surprised what you can find out.

So, on with the topic: Freedom that I am grateful for.

It would be the freedom to give.

I'm sure most of my Filipino friends are aware what happened last July 27, 2022, wherein an earthquake with a magnitude of 7 shook Luzon. I was sitting doing work when all of a sudden I heard a rumble coming from somewhere and it was drawing near. It's different from the noise that vehicles make as they pass by. It is a familiarity of something bad is about to happen. Then as quickly as I realized it was an earthquake, the ground shook.

For the first few seconds, I remained calm thinking it will pass. When it got to about 5 or more seconds, that is when I woke up my partner who was sleeping and ran outside. For a few seconds more, the ground shook while we were standing outside. At one point I thought it started to rain. My concern was the mattress and blankets that I put outside under the sun will be wet and I had the impulse to put them back inside the apartment. It turns out, the water droplets were from the pool of rainwater on the rooftop of the our unit.

There were a few neighbors who ran out to the street that time.

Our city was hit with a magnitude 6. After shakes were felt days after not just in our city where the last one was early this morning.

Thankfully, no harm was done in our unit except for some fallen decors but that's just it. No casualty or damage was reported from our neighborhood as well.

Our internet was down for a few minutes and when it was up, I logged on right away to social media and checked for updates and also checked news online.

So far, not great damage was reported in our city. Our town unfortunately reported a collapsed house with one casualty.

What's with the photo of money above, you might be asking.

Three days after the earthquake, everything was back to normal. I went out for my morning walk and luckily, found that peso bill lying on the ground. I immediately remembered the victim of earthquake from our town.

From what I read in a post online, the guy who died left behind his wife and 2-year-old kid and the guy was the only one that the family depends upon. They posted a GCASH number of the wife where you can send financial help.

I decided to send that money to that number instead. I will be a hypocrite if I said that I didn't need the money. Hell, I could use more than that. However, for now, I am okay. Our family is okay and there is no immediate need for finances for now.

We may not be financially stable but I am grateful that we are in a situation now where things are manageable. There are those who need immediate financial assistance more so let us help them.

We have the power to help. We have the power to share. I am grateful that I can do that.

My prayer always for you all is that may you be continually blessed so that you will be a blessing to others.

23
$ 1.98
$ 1.53 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 15
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Buti nalang pre at walang casualties jaan sa inyo...sobrang lakas na nang magnitude 6...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awee 🥺 this article is full of heart. I'm glad you are all fine there. 🙏

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad that your okay with your wife that day. Grvh ang Balita sa news at dinudurog puso ko huhuhu. Super bait nmn nitong c Lee😉.. at least naging useful yung 1k na napulot mo. Pag ako yun binigay ko sa pulubi na mkikita sa daan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You surely had amazing and wonderful heart kuya Lee. Very selfless and always think of other people first. May the Lord shower you with abundance.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You have a good heart, may God bless you with more blessings!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Earthquake is a really terrible event, thank God that nothing bad happened to you and your city. But I was really sad for that person's death. You did your best to give the money you found to the grieving family, thank you so much my friend.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We also felt the earthquake here but luckily there are no damages and casualties reported. It's just sad to know that there are places who are greatly affected by this natural disaster. Stay safe everyone!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is really good 😊. For me it's better to give than to receive cause the one who receive needs a helping hands which mean they are devoid in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thanks for follow in Twitter

$ 0.00
1 year ago

oh it can't be. I'm so sorry about the earthquake, dear. May the God be with you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bless your pure soul, Kuya. Glad to know you're safe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Glad that you are all safe po and that the rest of the affected people will be assisted. Good job for sharing that blessing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes. All of us need the money but we are more lucky than others somehow. Great job you send to it to the family of the earthquake's victim. God bless you more for doing that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awww. That's a great way to help huhu. Good job!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

always great to give a helping hand to people, the blessings are going to come might instant but you will see a reward for your kindness.. are you going in for a 30 day challenge for the new month? Happy new month

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Good job sir! They needed that more than you😘Godblessyou!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thumbs up with what you did, a lot of people desire money and even you need that too. BUT, you choose to give it to someone who needs the most, that's is an act of kindness that we need to spread.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Earth quake is really a terrible event, I remembered my first experience which is just only a shake and i was really scared and I thought life was coming to an end

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You're such a good person sir,c Lord na ang bahalang bumawi sayo at sa family mo,kahit ano mang hirap ng buhay huwag parin tayong makalimot gumawa ng tama at mabuti,I salute you po

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang bait niyo naman sir lee. Marami pa kayong matatanggap na blessings galing sa poong maykapal dahil sa kabutihan niyo po. Thanks to God because you are safe sir lee.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow, friend, rightly so I didn't see your articles very often, what a pity for everything you went through and what those people weighed, I hope everything is fine and they never have that bad time again.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan fake account yung pinopost sa FB..kya hesitant din ako. Unless yung galing sa organization tlga.. .pero tulong narin yun kung sino man mkakareceive nun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's awesome. It's better to give than to be on the receiving end. I'm glad you're all safe there.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yupp I read about the earthquake you faced. It' was really hard time that you faced. Our province is also facing a natural disasters now-a-days

$ 0.00
1 year ago