Cheers to the weekend!

47 98
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

It's another weekend! How do you plan to spend your weekend?

Note that these are excerpts from blogs that I have posted in other sites (click here, here here and here. Check me out here for more) I am not in anyway affiliated to these brands nor am I an expert on these things. Also, I am not encouraging you to drink.

These were pre-pandemic times where there were no restrictions and we have more freedom to visit places without worry.

Baguio Craft Brewery

Baguio Craft Brewery is said to be the first craft brewery here in the City of Pines. This is the only place that I have tried craft beer so I have nothing to compare it with.

Stepping into the counter, it gives off a vibe like you are part of the brewery process itself. During my first visit, there were big barrels in front of the counter and also piles of sacks of things they use to make beer I believe. I have only been here twice but I see no barrels or sacks the second time.

The dining/drinking area is located up one floor of the counter. Now, there is another counter on the dining area and a place where a band or singer sets whereas before there were none, just a place to eat and drink.

This is located on a hill such that it is overlooking the city and the mountain ranges of the Cordilleras. The best time to come here is at nighttime when you get a view of all of the lights - like stars fallen from the sky. We came here at dark the first time so we had that kind of experience.

The names of these beers are fancy, witty and funny (Foly Huck, Balls Out, Lawyer's Throatcutter) and some are named after a local deity (Kabunyan).

Looking at the menu, words and terms and descriptions are jargon to me. What is ABV? IBU? IPA? And where should I start when it is your first time? Ale? Pilsner? And there is a fruit beer?

We just let our taste buds do the talking. When there is no time to get technical or Google for terms, the best bet is to go for the best seller. According to the crew who assisted us, Zigzagger is their best seller. She was patient to entertain and answer our queries. That is one plus point for this place. The crew are accommodating and professional. They welcome you with warmth.

The beer tastes sweet and earthy. There is that freshness, a bit of bitterness and then the kick as the alcohol enters your system. I say it is a drink enjoyable sip by sip. If you gulp or drink Zigzagger in a rush, then you will walk in a zigzag after.

This is my second time here in Baguio Craft Brewery. I still have yet to try their other beers. I do not drink as often as before though so it might take some time before I come back here as the drinks are a bit pricey. This is located away from the noise of the city so it is a great place to spend some time with friends and family while enjoying your beer or just dine in. The atmosphere is pleasant and inviting. They decorated the dining area with real plants so you still get that Baguio feel of greenery and freshness while breathing in the fresh air and enjoying the view .

Complete your visit to city by going to Baguio Craft Brewery located at 4 Ben Palispis Hwy, km 4, Baguio City.

Bistro Lokal

We went for dinner at Bistro Lokal and also to try their beer. I chose on the menu a bottle of Blonde Ale. We ordered drinks while waiting for our food.

I poured the beer too quickly that I spilled it. Too excited I guess. But once it settled, it has nice suds. It has a lovely amber color. It was not chilled so they gave me a glass with ice.

It is light and smooth with an earthy taste and a sour taste to it. I tasted it both with ice and without but I still prefer it chilled.

On the bottle, the ingredients are water, malt, hops and other ingredients. I wonder what the "other ingredients" are as it says on the bottle. It has an ABV of 5% "packed with the flavors and aromas of Citra and Mosaic hops."

Bistro Lokal is a nice place to be. It has limited seating but the ambiance is warm and welcoming. It even has a view of the road below. They serve local dishes getting their ingredients from local farmers and traders.

Bistro Lokal is located at 307 Upper Magsaysay Avenue just across Baguio Central University.

Hoka Brew

We have been to Hoka a lot of times but have never tried their craft beers so now we are back with just the purpose of trying not one but two beers.

Bulul, also termed tinagtaggu, symbolizes the Ifugao rice god. These are carvings from wood or stone and are used to guard the fields.

We tried their Trigo and Martial Law. We planned on drinking one glass each but ended up availing of their buy one take one promo.

I am not a craft beer expert so bear with my description.

Trigo has a nice light gold color and the taste is light as well. It has a hint of pine in taste and smell.

Martial Law on the other hand has that copper-like hue. It tastes stronger than the Trigo. It has a citric, bitter taste with a bit of woody, rusty smell. It is more foamy than Trigo. I like this better in terms of taste.

Both are something new to the senses and both have smooth finish. Both are enjoyable to drink and savor sip by sip.

Hoka Brew is located at The Podium Boutique Hotel along Marcos Highway, Baguio City, just a few steps away from Bag-Iw Steakhouse.

Bag-Iw Steakhouse

For a rainy night, it calls for good food, good music and a beer. For that, we decided to visit Bag-Iw Steakhouse.

Bag-Iw is located at Marcos Highway or Ben Palispis Highway. It is some 4 km from the city proper. We took a cab going there. Taking the a jeepney plying this route is an option as well. You can take jeepneys going to Central Bakakeng, Sto. Tomas or Balacbac.

Bag-Iw is another name of Baguio City and that is where the name of the restaurant got its name.

Entering the place gives off a warm and homey vibe already. They livened up the place with woven fabric of the Cordilleras matched by woven table mats. Hanging by the ceiling are spears and drums and gongs. They also used sticks to accentuate walls and poles. Bamboos were used on the ceiling as well. Wine racks line up one wall.

They serve different kinds of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages from beers to wine to hard liquor. They serve also breakfast, lunch and dinner.

While waiting for our order, we had a sip of Pale Pilsen and Cerveza Negra both products of San Miguel.

Since it was a Saturday night, there is a performer entertaining us with good old music. There were only few of us customers but we had fun joining in the singing. What a way to enjoy your meal.

We stayed a little longer after eating enjoying the last sips of our alcoholic fuel while listening and singing along with the singer.

If you want to enjoy good music, food and beer, come to Bag-Iw located at 174 MM Gara Building, Bakakeng Central, Marcos Highway, Baguio City the same building where Casa Bel Inn and 7/11 is located. Pre-pandemic, they are open from 8:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m.

The Outlook Steak & Grill

One notable place to chill is The Outlook Steak & Grill. This is in Grand Sierra Pines. This is separate from the hotel's building. They serve new and traditional American cuisine and steakhouses.

Situated in the midst of once was a more forested area, The Outlook is one of the places I enjoy because of it being surrounded with trees. The place was glass walled and some parts are glass roofed such that it gives a 360 view of the environment.

The atmosphere is bright, airy and relaxing with all the greens around and the cool breeze. What's more, it's away from the bustle and hustle of the city making it is somewhat peaceful.

The Outlook is located at the second and third floors and took advantage of the environment. On the first floor they have a pool table for hire. Fee is per hour for you to play. Their bar is located in this floor too and this is where their counter is located. Their bar has some display of liquor but not much. The upper floor is for dining only.

It is recommended to choose outdoor seating when the weather is good.

One particular thing I like about this is their art gallery. It houses works of national artists like Fernando Amorsolo Carlos Botong Francisco and local artists as well.

It is a place for family, friends and for your partner to spend time and relax. The food may not be the best but it's a place to be closer with nature.

The Outlook Steak & Grill is located at 43 North Outlook Drive, Baguio City. To get there, ride jeepneys bound for Baguio to Mines View and asked to be dropped at The Outlook or Sierra Pines. You can also take taxi instead.

The city is open for tourists who were fully vaccinated. Try visiting these places if you get the chance to come to the city. Always remember to drink moderately. Baguio City is about 3.5 hours drive from Manila.

Thanks for dropping by! Wherever you are, stay safe.

*All contents and photos are mine

20
$ 24.13
$ 23.20 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.15 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.10 from @bbghitte
+ 11
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
2 years ago

Comments

I remembered that Hoka Brew in Kiki. Namiss ko tuloy lasa ng alak dahil dito. Hahaha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Haha! Try mo na ulit :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakaka-sad. 4x na ata ako nakapunta sa Baguio sa buong buhay ko pero puro mall lang napuntahan ko tsaka tourist spots. Haha. Sad life. Dami pala pwede puntahan eh bakit nga ba di namin pinupuntahan noon? XD Pero di pa uso mga Instagrammable places noon so baka kaya. :P

Gusto ko try yung ZIgzagger kasi matamis!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. Ngayon kahit saan sulok meron ka na pwede puntahan. Nakakatuwa din in a way kasi nabibigyan ng livelihood ang mga tao dito. Kaya explore mo din jan sa inyo. For sure marami pwede puntahan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually ang lapit ko sa Maginhawa pero bihira ako mamasyal sa mga cafes and such dito. Lol. Pailan-ilan pa lang napuntahan ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hays, I miss Baguio. I fell in love with the place after going there and I promise that I will go back again. Thank you for sharing as I gained another knowledge of where to go in case my family decided to go there again.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope you can come back when things are better although we are now open for tourists. If you are fully vaccinated, you don't need to be tested. Just register online and go to the triage.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

After reading this I just want to go to grab a beer. Hehe. It seems these are good places to hang out. I especially liked the description you made of The Outlook Steak & Grill surrounded by nature. And the names of the beers from Baguio Craft Brewery. I'm curious about how can a beer named Lawyer's Throatcutter could taste. And the Holy Fuck sounds fun. LOL

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lol! They came up with creative names to their beers. Come and let's go for a glass :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe someday, who knows! Have a nice day!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Someday if i find myself around there, i will surely drop by one if these places to have a nice time.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I highly recommend it and suggest you go there afternoon or at night but any time is happy time :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This was awesome kuya, IPA India Pale Ale is usually a safe bet to start. I did like the sound of Foly Huck ๐Ÿคฃ So all in all, yet more reasons to visit!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I almost tried Foly Huck too lol! If we will go back there again, I might tried that but I have to try the first one I drank to compare. I hope I will not be drunk by then :D :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

haha I so would try it just because of that name ! Definitely need to have a beer with you one day kuya in between visiting the wet markets, have a magical rest of your Sunday!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Sounds like a great plan! :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

galing saan mo naipost tong mga blogs sir..sa bit ba or iba? daming pwedeng pasyalan talaga jan sa baguio...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually I never have a chance to visit other places and try to experience and taste all of those, I hope someday I can stand with own my feet and do what I really want to do, and go wherever I want <:

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wohhh!๐Ÿ˜ฏ That's a lot of drinks tho. Its good to visit some other time..hahaha๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

These were months apart for I'm not really that of a drinker :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ohhsss..hahahah๐Ÿ˜… As you say.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers ๐Ÿป๐Ÿฅ‚๐Ÿป๐Ÿฅ‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Cheers! Have a great weekend :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Basaek damdama ta apanak pabiometrics national id. Gimas met ata kape en.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hehe. Wen la. Ingat ka. Mamin ano kunak ag pa ID ngem malipatan met hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

adu adu tao hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wanna visit "The Outlook steak and grill". I think maganda jan pang unwind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sama!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That on Hoka reminded me of mixed drinks we used to have 2 decades ago :D One of my friends studied bartending and she used to prepare colorful drinks such as those.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That sounds fun! Did she make it her profession?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It really was :) Unfortunately, she didn't. But still mixes drinks on ocassions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ah, I see. At least she has the knowledge :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reading your article makes me wanna visit those places you have mentioned and taste all the beers. Haha.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Writing this makes me want to go drinking too lol!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha lezzgo. Charot ๐Ÿ˜†

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ooooh.. places to visit. Thank you! Will pass this one out to friends. Fun craft beer tasting experience. I only had one time chance and it was online.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's my first time to try craft beer. It's nice for they have distinct taste and tastes better. Mahal nga lang talaga hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hmm. Iniisip ko yan. I think if it is local brew and minsan lang naman, go na.hehe...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo din. Pero di na naulit yan hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha... Next time na lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I get hooked while reading this hehez i guess you like beer than hard? Just a guess. I will visit there someday :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Back in the day, I like hard ones :D I dislike beer but I guess as you grow older your preferences change :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoy reading all those stuffs๐Ÿ˜Š. And I will visit those when the right time comes.๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Let's hope that that time will come soon :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totally miss those times of going wherever we fancied and socialing.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Indeed lots of things we have missed out since pandemic. I hope soon we can be more free to do what we want to do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hope this happens sooner rather than later.

$ 0.00
2 years ago