A visit to Bulanao Public Market

46 71
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

For more about our visit in Tabuk City, you can check it here.

From Mt. Talama where we had a view of the sunrise, we headed to the shop of my brother's schoolmate. Unfortunately, there was a death in the family so she had to go back home where her family is.

We had coffee and donuts. I was pleased that their coffee is drip coffee and it is locally sourced. I was asking my companions to place one foot around the table but some were not up to it.

Anyways, we finished our coffees and donuts and then headed to the public market. My only agenda: Kalinga coffee.

We also have to buy fish and other stuff for our breakfast, more like brunch since coffees and donuts were enough.

My other who lives there accompanied us to the market as well.

Upon entering the market, the strong aroma of coffee is already in the air. Sacks of coffee are displayed in most of the stalls that we passed. I felt like I'm in cloud nine already. The aroma alone set me in a good mood. Aside from coffee, tobacco is another product that can be seen here.

But first, breakfast.

The fish section or the wet market is located towards the back part of the market, at least from where we entered. There are various entrances to the market.

Not all the stalls are opened yet. Unlike in our city that by this time all stalls are open and it's a busy market.

Live tilapia fish can be seen in big thick plastic basins. I was not able to picture the whole thing but placed above the basin is a pail with holes in it where water goes out. The vendor will then use a dipper to get water from the basin and put it back in the pail. I noticed all the vendors do that. I'm sure there's a reason behind it but I forgot to ask. Maybe to imitate flowing water? I can only assume.

There was also frozen squid placed on top of a chair. The vendor said it was just delivered that's why it's still frozen.

I also saw this sign. It roughly states that the market is the livelihood of the people. I think there was an issue about developers and those who own lots in the market. It seems like a mall is to be built here.

I was not sure how much was the fish for I was busy taking photos. It was my companions to bought most of the stuff. I was asked to buy oil and fish paste. The plan is to fry the fish and then add onions and tomatoes. Then chili will be cooked in fish paste. All that will be eaten with rice of course.

I bought two bottles of cooking oil for PHP40.00 a piece and then a bottle of fish paste which costs PHP60.00. From this stall that I bought those from, they do have coffee too but we decided to buy from another stall.

These are different kinds of smoked pork which is a common product sold in the markets of the Cordilleras. Mostly those sold in our market are displayed in the open and not packed.

Wines, dried fish, legumes, coconut oil and sticky rice can also be seen in the market. I posted these photos in my social media account and my sister commented that we should have bought legumes. I do love legumes myself but at that time, I was not really focused on that for the power of coffee is strong.

We bought 4 kilos of this powdered coffee at PHP200.00 a kilo. I only bought one kilo. My other brother bought one as a gift to his girlfriend. My cousin bought one as a gift to his mom and our friend bought one to bring home. My other brother didn't buy because he doesn't like this one and would prefer the not powdered like this. We couldn't find any other coffee sellers who has a different form of coffee. The vendor said that these were freshly delivered.

These are rice delicacies that were just delivered to a stall across where we bought the coffee. I bought some of those. I forgot the particulars but all in all it was under PHP200.00. These are made from sticky rice. The vendor had no time yet to display them properly when I bought some.

We then headed home to our cousins with our purchases.

If you are in hive, join the Market Friday Community and post once a week about your local market or anything where you spent your money.

34
$ 7.32
$ 6.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Idksamad7869
$ 0.06 from @TheGuy
+ 25
Sponsors of ARTicLEE
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ARTicLEE
1 year ago

Comments

Wow my friend, I love to go around such markets and buy a variety of goods that are sold in them. I really enjoyed seeing these photos. The smell of coffee in the air, the food, the pork, the fish, and the coffee and the donuts you ate were all very exciting. The way you cooked those fish that you said was very interesting, I think those fish will be very tasty and delicious.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Tasty fish indeed for they are fresh :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Parang mas mura ying isda at tuyo jan compare dito sa amin.Anyway ang ganda nnan jan at ang sarap naman ng kakanin na binili nyo🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Akala ko mahal na to hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pre ba't ang mura nang mga paninda niyo jan...yung tuyo dito 200-300 per kilo na dito samin tapos yung mga vegetable ang mura huhuh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Akala ko nga mahal na yun e hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

naku mura na yan compare mo sa city nako $$ masyado

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sabagay pero city na yan hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amigo, muy buen Post, me parecio muy organizado, con lo relatado y la organización de las imagenes, me parecío, como si estuviera en compras, hay bastante variedades.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

All these pictures and we didn't see your face. Don't think I have ever seen it.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm not that comfortable showing my face lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That is understandable

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This article was spectacular, first the information you have provided, second the images have enchanted me, while you recounted each piece I was imagining that it was I who was doing You buy them because you have shown everything.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for appreciating. Glad you liked it ;)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The market seems to have vast collections of items. I like to buy live "tilapia," which is generally available close to our home.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Fresh food is always a better choice :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

One thing I so much admire is your snaps and Camera. So beautiful! This market reminds me of days I used to visit market to get food stuffs. You guys had a good market tour👍

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It's a small market yet seems to have it all :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang organize naman ng palengke nila, di katulad dito siksikan hahaha! Kahapon pa ung kape na yan, parang gusto ko din bumili😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Bili na haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I dunno the market looks interesting nd clean, or u r the one who pro at photograph😂 i think the 2nd option.. Nd the market looks complete too🙈

Nd that oil, i thought it was machine oil😂🤣

$ 0.01
1 year ago

There are machine oils there too :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow thats so complete there🙈

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Is that tabacco sa isang picture? I remembe rmy father used improvised cigar, you know duhat leaves and tabacco..

and parang ang sarap mamalengke ng gulay sa market niyo

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yup. In our family, many chew or smoke tobacco :D

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gusto ko din yung kapeeee. Hahaha. Yun talaga una kong bibilhin dyan, last time may inuwi yung tita, yung ilalaga siya tapos need to strain tapos lagyan konti sugar or milk. Hihi

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lika na kape na tayo habang mainit pa hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmm, mall I think it's better the way it is, that mall thing would make lots of people jobless there and I am pretty sure none will be allowed to sell near the mall anything.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That is the main concern and we all know what happens when big establishments kill local businesses.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This ain't fair at all. A situation like this have happened in my city before. A very important market was sold by corrupt officialsand "developed"into a Mall and majority of the traders were displaced. For Godsake there are more than enough lands that need development, why w market?

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Right? I'm okay with rehabilitation and improving it but to displace businesses there? That's not fair.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is a good and detailed description of your experience at the market

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you. I try to be as detailed as possible.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung kapeee talaga yung bumida kasi naamoy ko yung tapang HAHAHAHAHA juskoo adik na ako sa kape talaga.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kape na tayo lol!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those drinks in 12th frame have got my attention!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I was unable to check on those more closely for I happened to see them as we were exiting so I just took a photo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba tlga ang aroma ng kape, katuwa naman sako sako eh

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Kung pwede nga lang isang sako bilhin e haha! Kaso un binili ko na 1 kilo, habang tumatagal parang humihina un potency nya.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bka ndi na bago😀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Local markets are so fun to visit because we can literally get everything from them and imagine passing through that coffee shops, I do that so often in my place and it's amazing

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's right. Good thing we went to the market :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang linis ng market and I don't like the idea of having a mall there as it will definitely affect the livelihood of many vendors. Nakakalungkot lang. Kapatid nyo po si sis Jaytee right? Paki-hi na lang ako sa kanya :) -Si Jasglaybam po to.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Friend ko si Jaytee hehe. Sige sabihin ko :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And ganda Jan Lee. Heaven huhuhu. Yung oil ang mura

$ 0.01
1 year ago