Remembering Typhoon Ondoy

46 35
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Hello everyone! How are you all? Honestly I was so busy for the past two days. There were a lot of inquiries for my little business because of the coming christmas season. The one I am telling about was my handmade felt crafts. If you want to know about it please click it here. So yeah, I need to finished it first, it’s kinda tiring, I mean my little hands was tired because I need to cut a lot of patterns and handstitched almost all of it. I am not complaining though, I am happy actually and looking for more satisfied clients in the future. Well anyway, I was thinking about what to write for today’s article, I was having a hard time of thinking what to write. Of course I am not having a writer’s block because obviously I am not a writer😅 I just love to share happenings in my life through writing😁. So today I am going to share to you my own experience during Typhoon Ondoy that happened exactly 12 years ago tomorrow.

Before we begin, let me greet these beautiful souls who never hesitated to give me their full trust and support. If you want to read more inspiring stories and articles you can just click their profile, and I promise you won’t regret it. And let me also take this opportunity to give thanks to my new sponsor @Freedom007 Blessed you more dear.

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

Typhoon Ondoy

On the day of September 26,2009, I woke up to a non stop raining. It was been announced by the weather forecaster that there would be a typhoon on that specific day. I don’t exactly remember what category typhoon Ondoy belongs to or how strong it was, but upon waking up, I just knew that the rain was pouring nonstop with some winds that was blowing hard outside the boarding house where I was staying. I didn’t mind though because I experienced a lot of typhoons since I was young. I prepared myself to go to work that time. I was working in SM Marikina which was just a walking distance from the boarding house. I was on closing shift so I left the house at around 12 in the afternoon. Since it was just nearby I got there earlier than my scheduled time. Because of the non stop raining, many closing shift employees went late and some reported they can’t go to work because there were no available public transportation. By this time, a lot of areas were flooded and that means a lot of vehicles cannot passed.

Image from Unsplash

Since a lot of closing shift were not able to go to work, morning shift employees were requested to stay until the mall closed. While on duty we’ve heard a lot of news about the flooding happening in Metro Manila, our place was included. The mall’s location was just beside Marikina River so a lot of us wasn’t surprised by the flood ongoing since Marikina River tend to reached high level of water whenever it rained hard and then subsided on its own. What really surprised and get us worried was the continuous rain because of the typhoon and that the level of water from Marikina River reached the highest level. There was no chance that we could get out of the building because the floodwaters already reached the basement of the mall, which only means flood was all over outside. Our branch manager then decided that everyone should stay inside and that no one was going home.

Stranded

The thought of staying inside the building premises was much better than going outside where there was no available public transportation that would take you home. Also the floods were everywhere from what we heard from the news most specially those who lived in the lower area. We also heard from some of the relatives that they evacuated to a higher place, because the flood water inside their homes were rising higher and higher. But being stranded inside gave us also anxiety on what’s going to happened next. It was scary too.

The rain continued to pour, and from what we’ve heard the flood water was still rising. It was only after midnight when the rain stopped. Oh by the way all the tenants and customers that time were also stranded in the building with us. When the rain stopped, some of my colleagues and I went to the mall area to see what’s going on outside through the glass windows of the mall. We can’t believe that the flood water was really that high. The top of the highest tree near the river looks like water lilies. We got back to the office and rested for a while while praying that flood will soon subside. And God eventually heard our prayers because in the morning the water began to subside and everyone inside the building were all safe.

Image from Unsplash

Aftermath

When the morning light showed up the next morning, my officemates and the rest of the employees went home. I, together with my two officemates walked home. One of them was my roommate and the other one is the owner of the house we were staying. It didn’t took us long to get home because as I have mentioned earlier the boarding house where I was staying was just walking distance from the mall I was working. The struggle was real when we reached the boarding house as there were a lot of thick muds all over the place. We can’t even open the door to get inside to see our things, we climbed up to the 3rd floor of the house using ladder. I was a little scared of heights but my adrenaline rush took over me. We managed to get inside the house and start recovering our things. Unfortunately the flood reached the second floor and some of my things were covered with mud and water. We started cleaning up all the dirty muds and flood water that went inside the house. It was really a sad day, but being safe and alive was all that mattered.

This was the actual photo the day after the storm. The yellow house was where I was staying.
This is me with my two officemates. As you can see from the picture we were all muddy, while still wearing our uniforms. Got this picture from my 2009 fb post.

__________________________________

What a major throwback we had there. It was one of the natural disaster that I will never forget in this lifetime. I am glad that even though I was stranded, there was a shelter and food for us. I remember a friend who was stranded inside the jeep and was only able to got home in the morning without any food at all. Anyway, how about you? Do you have any memorable experiences like mine? Please feel free to comment down below. I will greatly appreciate it.

Some of images used were from Unsplash

10
$ 4.58
$ 4.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @aj_u2
+ 3
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hello! I was planning on writing about our Ondoy experience then I saw your article. Nasa bahay lang kami pero terrifying na. I imagine nakakaloka talaga yung experience niyo dahil nasa labas kayo huhu.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hi! Oo nga eh, grabe yun noh? You can write your experiences about it naman, I am sure magkaiba man ung naranasan natin nung araw na yun pero yung trauma pareho lang. Thanks for dropping by😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very true! Buti na lang we're all safe. Welcome po! ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oo nga sis, I will read your article later, kain muna ako dinner, tara kain tayo:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aww. that typhoon became part of my chldhood na ..kasi nabaha kahi hanggang lagpas tuhod eh malapit kami sa ilog ... tas yung dalawang yero ng bahay namin tinangay ng hangin...pero thankful parin na safe kami...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Grabe talaga tong si Ondoy, andaming natrauma, kaya tuwing tumataas ang tubig Marikina naalala ko yan palagi, glad you were all safe:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes po ..pero andami ding nalunod na mga alagang hayop dito lalo na yung mga baka noon eh biglang tumaas yung tubig. Tas mga natumbang puno sa daan ..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga eh, grabe talaga, ung mga hindi binabahang lugar biglang binaha, sana lang wag na maulit, biglaan kasi un kaya ung mga tao hindi rin nakapaghanda

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parang kelan lang,yhanne no. Grabe din pala epekto ng ondoy jan sa inyo

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Totoo yan sis, actually lumaki ako sa bikol kung saan every year eh may bagyo, pero sa Manila ko na naranasan bahain, kakaloka di ba, konting ulan lang dito binabaha na, kaya kapag tuloy tuloy ang ulan magexpect ka nang puro baha ang nasa balita

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun ba sis? Mabuti nga't walang nangyaring masama sa inyo ng mga workmates mo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sinabi mo pa sis, buntis pa naman ako jan sis, 4 months preggy ako sa panganay ko jan, maliit kasi ako magbuntis kaya hindi halata😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala! God is good talaga sis no

$ 0.00
2 years ago

kaya nga eh,😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was in Cavite that time .. indang specifically. Di masyadong randam Kaya nagulat ako sa sa nakita ko sa tv. I texted my parents right away and told me that they're perfectly fine. I'm very thankful that the sect I belong to help alot to those who needed.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

grabe naman kasi un sis, biglang taas ung tubig, even ung mga lugar na hindi binabaha biglang binaha, Marikina was worst during that time, buong bayan lubog, pero ambilis din naman nakarecover pero yung trauma naiwan sa mga tao, specially yung mga nawalan ng mahal sa buhay😔

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's true.. Kaya di mo din tlaga masasabi buhay natin.. karamihan satin busy sa paghahanda pagtanda Yun pla di aabot..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, sinabi mo pa, nakakalungkot lang, kahit anong sikap mo if time mo na talaga wala tayo magagawa, kaya YOLO na motto ko sis😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never experienced a typhoon before, we don't have that in my country. Your workplace should have given a day off to the workers so they can stay at home and don't get caught in the typhoon

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Our country experienced typhoon every now and then, I guess because of our country’s location which is near the Pacific Ocean. Some were just ordinary one, but the one I’ve mentioned from my article was really bad. People didn’t expected the sudden flood that was why they were all unprepared. Anyway, I’m no longer working but if I remember it correctly I didn’t went to work after the typhoon 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your countries location which is near the ocean is definitely the cause of it. Typhoons can be really bad sometimes and it's better if everyone is indoors. It's good that you didn't go to work the next day, which gives you time to take care of things at home

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Taga marikina ka dn pala ses! I remember di talaga bahain area namin ts nagulat na lang kami nasa kalsada na ung tubig. Yung nagsilbing ghost town ang marikina, kahit humupa na ung baha kinabukasan walang mapagbilihan ng pagkain. Buti na lang may solar panel charger ung selpon ng tatay namin nung mga panahong un.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi sis! good morning! I used to live in Marikina with my relatives sa Concepcion, pero ngayon Caloocan na ako, oo nga grabe yang Ondoy na yan, imagine yung Provident Village no, lubog din, pero sa Parang di sya binaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nako kabahan n kmi dto kapag pati sa Parang nbha hahahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha! sinabi mo pa, lumipat agad ako sa pinsan ko jan sa Parang after ng Ondoy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohhh that was tragic. I was still living in Baguio back then. Puro landslides naman dun, sis :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hi sis! good morning!nkatulog na kagabi, oo nga no madalas din talaga landslides sa Baguio, ako naman sis lumaki sa Bikol, madalas bagyo din doon at may kasama pang pagbuga ng bulkan kakaloka

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh.. grabe yung experience nyu sis.. buti at nakapag picture pa kau..hehe

nasira ba mga gamit nyu after nito?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

hahaha! para may ebidensya alam mo naman tayong mga Pinoy, 😅 Bahay ng officemates ko yan sis, ung baba ng bahay nila computer shop ayun sira lahat By the way good morning sis!😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

baba ng bahay nila computer shop ayun sira lahat By the way good morni

aray sakit naman nun.sayang noh?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! I also have experience such in Lagos too but I don't think it was up to this

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Unfortunately our country encountered many typhoon every year, and this was just one of scariest we had because we didn’t expected the large flood within the city.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

nakakatakot talaga ang mga kalamidad pag ang kalikasan na ang naningil sis nagpapasalamat kami sa panginoon na Hindi kami nagkaroon dito ng grabeng makapinsala na bagyo sis

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo sis, ibang maningil ang Inang Kalikasan, nakakatakot talaga lalo at di natin alam kung kelan sya darating, kaya magdasal tayo palagi para may protection ni Lord😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naalala ko bigla yung bagyong yolanda :( Grabe din yun huhu. God has a plan talaga

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mas grabe yun sis, I feel sorry sa mga nawalan ng buhay noong araw na yun, taga doon ka ba sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Malayo Ate pero umabot pa din yung bagyo samin muntik na ako matege dahil dun hehe nakakatakot pa nun yung mga survivor na taga tacloban dati naglakad papunta samin which is napakalayo nun tapos nangangatok kaso yung iba nanakit na nawala na sa katinuan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg,kawawa talaga sila no, siguro ung mga nawala sa katinuan eh natrauma at pedeng nawalan ng kasama sa buhay, sana talaga wag na maulit un. At buti nakaligtas ka din😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ako lang mag isa nun sa bahay tas lakas sobra ng ulan nabagsakan bahay namin. Sobrang nakakatakot pag may nangangatok kahit wala akong ilaw sa loob di ako nagbubukas ng pinto

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Traumatic nga yun sissy, mabuti at malakas loob mo kahit mag isa ka lang

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't say malakas ang loob. Wala lang talaga akong choice dati hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe sis nagflashback din sa akin.. 5 months preggy ako sa panganay ko nun.. Mabuti nalang nakashift ako kasi di hamak na mas safe sa office..binaha din kami sa laguna pero mabuti nalang panggabi ang asawa ko kaya nasa bahay sya nung biglang tumaas yung tubig.. Tinaas nya sa lababo ang ref namin tapos ang dura box naman sa katre..tapos sinara nya ang buong bahay pati bintana para walang gamit ang makalabas.. Kita nya daw yung mga gamit namin nung sinilip nya paikot ikot sa loob.. Tapos ang ginawa nya, nag evacuate sya doon sa kapitbahay namin na may second floor..

Ako naman, sa office na natulog.. Kinabukasan na ako umuwi nung humupa na ang baha para siguradong may masasakyan.. Sa Ortigas kasi ako nagtatrabaho that time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

omg sis, buntis din ako jan, di ko na lang minention, maliit lang ako magbuntis pero 4 months preggy na ako jan, si jowa naman binaha sa lumang bahay nila, katabi nila creek kaya inabot ng baha, lutang din lahat ng gamit nila, pero in fairness nasave nya ung aso nilang inanod ng baha😅

Kaya tuwing tumataas ang tubig sa Marikina nagpaflashback lagi sakin ang nangyari noong Ondoy.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakatakot nga yun sis.. Andami daming namatay

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, may rumor pa nga noon na maraming natrap at namatay sa isang mall na malapit sa ilog, narinig mo na ba ung riverbanks, basag basag kasi ung salamin ng mall dahil pinasok ng tubig

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ou sis alam ko yung riverbanks parang malapit dun yung restobar dati nung ka officemate ko

$ 0.00
2 years ago