Let’s eat some Sweets

50 42
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

The current pandemic has taught us a lot of things. It taught us how to spend our money wisely. Because many businesses were closed a lot of people also lost their respective jobs. But despite all of these circumstances, we stay stronger than what we were on the past years. This situation also allowed us to learn new skills and talents and some of these were used for our own advantage. My sister in law, who is a public school teacher learned how to bake a cake during those times. Even though she was busy in her online classes, she still find time to create and baked some yummy cakes which was posted on her facebook account. Later on, she had an additional extra income because a lot of people were ordering cakes from her. She was not alone though, a lot of people acquired new skills such us cooking, and baking during this trying times. Eventually they used these skills and earned by selling it online so that they can still sustained the needs of their family.

Anyway, let’s go back to my article topic. As I have mentioned earlier, I was inspired by my sister-in-law’s eagerness to learn new things while staying at home. Since we don’t have an oven yet, I learned that I can still make a cake without baking it. Steamer is the key. So in the next few days of ongoing lockdowns last year, I started watching youtube tutorials about steaming a cake. A big thanks to all these tutorials, I was encouraged to make one.

Moist Chocolate Cake

I decided to steam a moist chocolate cake for the New Year’s Celebration. But first I bought the basic materials needed to make one, like spatula, mixing bowl, measuring cups, and strainers. Then I bought the baking ingredients for my moist chocolate cake. When I got all the things needed, I started following all the basic steps from the tutorials I’ve on youtube channel. I can’t exactly remember the page where I’ve watched it, but if you want to give it a try too, you can just type “how to steam cake” on the search button. There will be a lot of tutorials you can find, but almost all of them were just the same. Just be careful on following the correct measurements of each ingredients so that you’ll be successful on your first try. So on the eve of New Year this year, I got to steam my first moist chocolate cake.

My first moist chocolate cake attempt on the eve on New Year’s celebration

Chocolate Cake Balls

Since my first chocolate cake was a success, I wanted to learn more on how to make easy desserts. It was only for family consumption but since Valentines was approaching, I tried making chocolate cake balls. Again, when you don’t know how to cook and make something, youtube is the key. I don’t like making things complicated, so I searched for the very easy to follow steps on the search button. I bought all the needed ingredients and followed every single step for my chocolate cake balls. I think it was a success too because my two boys keep asking for more. Ah too much sweets is bad for teeth so they drank a lot of water after consuming it.

Who wants some delicious cake balls?

Anniversary Cake

Ok so the next occasion on the list was our 9th wedding anniversary. We had a very simple celebration because I think by that time, there were positive cases recorded within our village. The homeowners association prohibited mass gathering for everyone’s sake. Of course we followed, so we celebrated our wedding anniversary this year in a very simple way. My husband cooked my favorite pancit and I also steamed our anniversary cake. Just a very simple one.

Our anniversary celebration wouldn’t be complete without a cake. Cheers to that!

Banana cupcake

Aside from cake, I also tried steaming a cupcake. And one of my favorite one is banana cupcake. Steaming banana cupcake was just like making puto. They almost had the same procedure but you have to add more minutes in steaming the banana cupcake for a great result. I usually make this when we have a leftover banana or when the banana is overripe already. The taste is much better when you used it. For extra sweetness you can add some chocolate chips.

Yummy Chocochip Banana Cupcakes. Grabbed this photo in one of my posts in noise.cash

Final Thoughts

In these modern times, we were all lucky because there were so many platforms we can reached out in order to attained new skills. We can even cooked our favourite dishes in no time, thanks for the online tutorials. It will definitely boosts our confidence in cooking and at the same time saves our money instead of buying it from the restaurant. I know we can’t make it perfect at first try, but if we keep on trying, success will surely come along.

_____________________________

That would be all for today. Sorry for making you hungry with my desserts. They said that when you spell stressed backward you’ll come up with desserts, so the best way to fight stressed was to eat desserts. Make sense right?😅

Before I end this up, please give some love to all these lovely souls. They were all amazing and great. 😍

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

Lead Image from Unsplash and the rest of the images were all mine.

11
$ 4.36
$ 3.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @iyanpol12
+ 9
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Ansarap nung mga cakes, favorite ko talaga yung chocolate cake.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too sis, masarap naman kasi noh, basta wag sobra at mahirap magkasakit🥰

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis, ang Sarap kasi pero may limitation din kasi minsan sumakit na yung ngipin ko dahil sa matamis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Naku ingat sis, kahit sa dentist mahirap magpaappointment, yung pinsan ni hubby dentist yun pero kelangan ahead of time magsabi ka na bago ka nya macheck sa sobrang dami din ng protocols na kelangan sundin bago sya makapagsimula

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank sis, hirap talaga mag pa appoint ngayon sis kahit sa mga clinic lang dito sa amin daming dapat sundin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seriously, I am drooling at those cakes. Moist cake is my favorite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh yes pretty, please. I want all of that hehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

If only you were near sis,😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i need them in my life..hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! when life is sweeter with chocolates

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Check

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you saved some of those cakes for us after making us hungry 😆 you have really learnt a lot from YouTube videos and now you can bake amazing cakes. They all look delicious

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you dear, unfortunately there was nothing left now😁 my kids liked it so much that they ate everything😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem ma'am. Just remember to save some for me next time you bake 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap Naman nyan. Sana ako din marunong magbake

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo naman sissy, kaya mo yan, madali na lang ngayon magbake search ka lang yt😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap naman nyan sis ,nag try din kaming mag bake kasamang ng pamangkin ni hubby ,pero ang result ay parang bingka yung cake namin🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

😂Natawa naman ako sis sa bibingka, pero kapag sinunod mo ung tamang measurement ng bawat ingredients makukuha mo din sya, first try pa lang naman, you can do it next time😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kahit sinunod namin hehe ,parang bibingka talaga😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Paktay! hahaha! mukhang sa oven na lang ang last hope mo sis, char! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Learning has become easier and it is very much easy to acquire a skill through the Internet.

You made a smart choice learning despite not having an oven, it shows how industrious and determined you are. You made nice cakes, I wish I could have a bite

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you George, 😊 Indeed the tutorials online did helped a lot. I also believe in the saying “If there’s a will, there is a way”. I really like to learn how to bake even before, if not for pandemic, we may now have an oven. Maybe I can buy it next time, and will make some yummy breads and cakes:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah sis you made me hungry, I love chocolate! beke nemen hehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure sis, ipalalamove ko na ba? 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pleaseeee

$ 0.00
2 years ago

next time sis, pag sinipag uli ako😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow, that is what lockdown did to you, you made use of time to learn new skills and for sure you acquired new traits too.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you sis, pandemic makes me crave for foods. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too. I learned to mixed milk tea and make kimchi 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ay ang sarap naman, gusto ko ng kimchi please😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Just wow! I could taste those images 😋 I think this pandemic taught me a different thing, it's to eat a lot. I don't know about cooking or baking I don't have any skills for that. I'm just good at eating. But I'm a good good food taster haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you😊 You just make me laugh with your last statements😂 My kids were my food taster during those times I made those sweet desserts, I’m glad they didn’t have toothache after eating a lot:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yummy, just like my partners niece a college student and home baker, nd talagamg daming umoorder

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ang swerte naman ni pamangkin bata pa lang madiskarte na, at least may fallback na sya after magcollege😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, ang galing nga:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, ang galing nga:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sis beke nemen pa share kung pano ginawa yung chocomoist hehehe

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sure sis, no problem now na ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Pwede mong gawin sa next mo na article sis hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay oo nga sis, thanks sa tip, next time😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sure, sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sarap naman nyan sis,parang ung pamangkin ni partner sis, college student and part time home bakers ng cake and cupcakes, dami lagi paorder:)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo nga sis, andaming gumaling magluto netong pandemic, in fairness naman kasi malaking tulong satin lalo at halos lahat nawalan ng hanapbuhay, at least marunong magsariling sikap:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dami ko comment kasi nag-error kanina haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ok lang sis, walang problema😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you see such delicious food, you want to eat it. Besides, the food looks beautiful. What you have made?you can make very beautiful. Share with me ok.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you, 😍 I’ll try to share the recipes next time, it’s very easy. If I can make it, I am sure you can too. ❤️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I thought I had tasted most chocolate, but here I'm seeing different types

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you very much dear for appreciating, it was just a simple one but it was really delicious:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago