Bedtime Stories my Kids Love

24 33
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Do you remember the nights when your parent or guardian would often read you a book before you fall out to sleep? Well me, I don’t. Probably because my parents separated when I was young and I grew up in the care of my grandmother. My parents got back together when I was in grade three, and that’s when they had my youngest brother. They live for a couple of years and then finally separated for good. Looks like forever doesn’t exist with them. Well it was much better than being together but had an endless misunderstanding. So going back to my first question, since I didn’t got the chance to to heard any bedtime stories at night when I was still a kid, I promise myself that my kids would definitely hear one every night.

Reading bedtime stories to my kids was fun. They love it when I am into character while I was reading the story to them. That was why whenever we were at the mall, we would always drop by at book sale or any bookstore and I let them chose the books that they want. There were so many books to chose from, but books from Adarna House publishing has a great stories specially for little children. Let me share to you some of my kids all time favourite storybooks we bought from the bookstore a few years back. The stories were in Tagalog but some had an english translation. I will share a brief summary of each story and the moral lesson from it. So let’s begin.

Si Ching na takot sa dilim ( Ching a boy who is afraid of the dark)

The story is about a boy who was really afraid of the dark. He would always thought that when its dark ghosts, and other scary creatures would attack him that was why he always carried a flashlight with him. The story ends very well because he was able to conquered his fear. This was my 1st son’s favorite story, because just like Ching he was also very afraid of the dark when he was still young. He was inspired on how the boy Ching was able to overcome his fears.

May Higante sa Aming bahay (There’s a giant inside our house)

The story is about a father who’s coming home after working overseas for a very long time. Matt Matt is the youngest son in the family and it’s gonna be the first time he will see this giant in person. He only saw him in the picture, and seeing him bigger than the picture makes him scared of him. The story ends up with Matt Matt realising that the giant in their house was no other than his father. My youngest son loves this story a lot, that he always requested this story from time to time. I think he can relate well with Matt Matt as their father was also working overseas.

Si Pilong patago tago ( Pilong, the boy who loves hiding)

This story is about a boy named Pilong. Pilong is a one naughty boy who loves to hide. He likes to prank everyone in the family by hiding to them a lot. Until one day his prank gone wrong. The moral story of the lesson was that, pranking is good but don’t overdo it for it might comes back to you.

Ang Barumbadong Bus ( A Arrogant Bus)

When I was in my last year of college I was working as a part time teacher aide in a private kindergarten school. That was where I heard about this story. One of the teachers read this story to her class and it became my favourite too. Years later, when I saw one on the bookstore I bought it instantly to share it with my kids. Ok to give you a brief summary of the story, this is about a bus named Kas. He was not afraid of everything and run as fast as he could that was why passengers were scared of him. Everyone was trying to stopped him but he didn’t listened. And because of his stubbornness something bad happened to him. The moral lesson of the story was being too proud of yourself will never do something good to you. We should stay grounded no matter how high we reached the top. Because being boastful will definitely destroy you in the end.

Final Thoughts

Reading a bedtime story to our kids has a lot of benefits to our young ones. This will develops their imagination and curiosity about a certain things. It will also teach them a lot of moral lesson they will be needed in growing up. And most of all it’s a great bonding moments between the children and parents or guardians.

_____________________________

How about you? Do you have any favourite story back then? What it is? Can you still remember it? You can write it down below and I will be waiting for your response.

Thank you very much to everyone who’ve reached this far. I am so much grateful for taking your most precious time to read this. And let me end this one by saying thank you to these beautiful souls for giving me their full trusts and support. If you want to read more inspiring stories, you can check their profiles too.😍

Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty

Lead Image Used was from unsplash and the rest of the photos were mine.

13
$ 5.10
$ 4.80 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.05 from @Momentswithmatti
+ 7
Sponsors of yhanne
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for yhanne
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I don't remembed my parents reading us any books before bedtime but we have bible devotionals instead eaely morning and that's what i remember

I hope to also train matti to love reading... right now, he is not very interested with books...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't remember them reading story books but I remember they will sing to us before going to sleep. I am planning to do the same with Prince. Right now, I sing to him as he fall asleep.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow ang swerte naman ni bebe Prince, and your lucky as well sis at naranasan mong mahele bago matulog😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My parents didn't buy us story books, but they also shares some real story to us from their own experiences. Special our father, he has a lot of stories to share. And one of my favorite was their own love story with my mom. How did they meet and all the challenges they face together but ended up with a happy forever.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow sis, I would love to hear such stories like that too. Nothing beats the real story from the people we look up to.😍

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang favorite ng eldest ko sis ay Caps For Sale :) Baby pa si bunso ko so wala pang preference :)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Cocomelon ang gusto ni bunso, ung kapitbahay namin sis englisero dahil sa kakapanuod nun, halos lahat na ata ng bata ngayon eh advance, mas may accent pa magsalita kesa sakin

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha sinabi mo pa sis. Yung eldest ko Englishera kaya hayun iyak sa mga modules nya. Sana mas matuto na sya ng Tagalog ngayon kasi Grade 2 na sya.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Honestly, I don't experienced this with my parents. Busy yung mama ko sa work yung papa ko naman busy sa tindahan namin noon. Pero good thing I have my cousin na nagbabantay sakin noon.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You must be very close to that cousin of yours. Hindi man natin naranasan noong mga bata pa tayo at least we can still do it with our kids or future kids.:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I love those folklores and bedtime stories. Kahit ngayon, gustong gusto ko pa din silang basahin hehe.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Mga kwentung kababalaghan ba sis, naku madami sa probinsya namin nyan, noong bata ako di man uso ang storybooks, sagana naman sa ganyang kwento, ung tipong matutulog ka na lang tapos yan ang ikwekwento sayo, so kesa marinig pa, matutulog ka na lang😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't hear bed time stories before, maybe becuase I didn't see nor ho,d my parents, but my grandparents grandparents told us scary stories before like creatures hiding on darkness and their experiences during childhood that's why now I'm not afraid of dark and paranormal entities. I also want to tell stories to my children in the future, if and only if I got children.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww sorry to hear about your parents. Well at least your grandparents were there to raise you, at totoo yan puro kwentong nakakatakot ang maririnig mo sa kanila.😅 Secure your future first before having a family, enjoy life and later on when you are fully ready you can have yours too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Bedtime stories are loved by all children. I also have a baby. He never sleeps without hearing the story. Now it has become my habit.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That’s good to know.😍 I miss reading it to my boys because they’ve grown up now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakamiss yung ganyan na stories sis no. I remember may nagbebenta nyan sa school tag 20 ang isa

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo nga, magaganda yung stories na yan for kids, mura pa tinatabi ko tsaka nakabalot para di masira ang cover, kaya lang ngayon di na masyado napapansin ng aking dalawang bagets, more on gadgets na kasi

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Galing mo naman magtago at mag alaga ng gamit sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ewan ko ba sis, maypagkasenti kasi ako, tsaka I was hoping for another baby, malay mo naman. hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ayyy we will hope for that sis, why not

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kung di lang talaga pandemic baka nasundan na, syempre mejo di na bumabata kaya if ever God will bless us another one sobrang ingat talaga, pero naman sis, mahal magpaospital ngayon kya baka hindi na rin. Change of mind na,😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay oo sis, tiwala lang. Ito talagang pandemic na to eh hahaha panira

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kaya nga sis noh, andaming plano ang napako, char!

$ 0.00
2 years ago