They don't know

11 58
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

How to ask something if you never know what your mother will do? My mother is the boss of our home. My father doesn't earn money and she always tells him. "It's my money I do with it what I want." I am not sure if she gives dad pocket money but she gave me something. I thanked her and put it into my savings box. The bank gave it to me, it's red and the bank's name is written on it. I don't have a key only the bank has one. I told her after breakfast and after the house was cleaned about Wilma her birthday.

"Who is she", she asked while she studied the invitation.

"I know her from kindergarten."

She nodded. I think she knows the address. She knows all addresses because of the people who call her.

"What kind of present she likes?"

I didn't know what to say. I never talk to her really and didn't ask her. What if I asked, she told me and my mother refused to let me go? Wilma would feel unhappy because I promised to give her something.

"You can buy her a book, a book is always good."

She went to the official shop with me. I don't think Wilma plays with dolls or likes cars or likes to build a plane like a do. My mother shows me a book and I think it is a good one. I like to read it too. It's "A letter for the King". It's about a boy who travels alone and takes a letter to the king. It's a thick book with tiny letters.

"Today the new housekeepers will visit us, you can stay in your room."

I am fine with it my room isn't a bad place as long as she leaves me alone. She paid for the book and let it be wrapped by the shop. It looks like a good present I hope Wilma likes it. I cannot remember which reading group she joins.

Back home it's coffee time. I don't drink coffee but that doesn't matter I have tea. The bakery delivered the bread, cookies, chocolate, and pie. I don't like these cookies and pie but I still need the eat it. My mother stores all the sweet things in the second drawer of the antique cabinet. The bread goes to the kitchen. She has a large round Tupperware box where she saves the bread.
I don't see dad. Perhaps he is outside in the shed?

"You go now", she says," be quiet I call you if we know."

I have no idea what she means. What should they know? I try to remember if I asked her something but I can't remember. I really hope she didn't change her mind and tells me I cannot go to Wilma's party.

I sit on my knees on my bed and watch out of the window. I see people pass by and it's getting dark already. She didn't call me. Am I allowed to go to the bathroom? I listen at the bedroom door and carefully open it. The bathroom isn't far away, I can do it quickly. There are no voices, I cannot hear any. I run to the bathroom and do it quickly and run back to my room. I think it is bedtime and I better put my pajamas on. I cannot use the cream it smells terrible and is black. It makes me feel dirty and it doesn't cure me. No cream today, I promise myself, not today. Silently I got into my bed. The present is on the table. She didn't call me which means they don't know.

Saturday
September 26, 2020



A kid's diary

Party time

One cookie

Grandpa died

Breathlessness

#kittywu #diary #childhood

27
$ 0.34
$ 0.32 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @gertu13
Avatar for wakeupkitty
3 years ago

Comments

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope Wilma will like her gift! And I'm sure she will. One who makes money usually have the say in the house we have that kind of set up dear. X

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think she will. It is good to have your own books. Some children give books for a present. I think it is not the way it is with us in most families.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good thing you can go to the party. I never got to go to parties, they never let me. A book is a good gift! I hope you were able to go to Vilma's party.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Why you were never allowed to go to a party? Were they afraid you are the wrong food or because of the present? I think it is said and you have a party at home with your son. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

First of all, I think my father didn't want to spend on birthday gifts.

Second, I don't think he wanted the responsibility of taking me to the party and then coming to get me.

Third, she wouldn't realize what she was doing at the party and that was out of her control.

and finally he never allowed us to have friends, my brothers and me.

I started having friends when I got to high school and later in my nursing studies.

It was when I was a professional that I went to a birthday party for the first time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lovely write up! Beautiful one dear writer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

interesting stories about life, greetings

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you, greetings back.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope mother won't change her mind. Its good to be outside in another environment.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope so too. It isn't Wednesday yet. She might forget to take me over there too. 🤔 With her you never know. I hope nothing happens before that time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago