It's a piece of cake

68 87

And it is. Baking a cake I mean. It's not a masterpiece and you cannot do much wrong. The great thing about cake is you can keep it simple with only a few ingredients (that way you can even call it "vegan' which sounds cool and more interesting than "a cake for the poor").

The classic cake (three pounders) is baked by using the same amount of ingredients if it comes to butter, sugar, flour, and eggs.

My grandmother was very precisely if it comes to ingredients and used scales. With scales, I started too but I do not care about a gram. At the time the cake was invented (and bread) people just gave it a try and did what felt good. You can see what it looks like and taste the dough. Experiences or (change of taste) tells you how much you need. With me, it is not as much sugar. This means I'll never make the original cake but it doesn't mean mine doesn't taste. For longer, it was the lack of ingredients that made me not bake a cake. Eggs for example. Quest what? You can perfectly bake a tasty cake by not using eggs.

Butter, real butter not margarine, is expensive. For longer, I didn't like a cake baked with real butter, the cake delivered by the bakery. It smells different and if it's cold the cake feels hard.

Banana bread is a cake with bananas.

These days I bake a cake with:

  • Sunflower oil (125 ml)

  • Sugar (250 grams)

  • Flour (300 grams)

  • Baking powder (coffee spoon)

  • A bit salt

  • Water

Eggs I only use if they are available (at most 4).

Instead of oil, I can use real butter (250 grams)

Oven temperature: 150Β°C - 180Β°C (mine only has heath at the bottom)

Baking time: 40 -75 minutes

How to make the dough:

Stir oil with sugar, add (eggs one by one) sugar, salt, flour, and baking flour to it. If the dough is too thick you add some water.

Once out of the oven let the cake rest for 10 minutes before you remove it from the mold.

Do you want to add some extra taste?

Extra or a different taste you will create if you change the ingredients.

  • Butter instead of oil

  • Vanilla sugar

  • Add fruit: 3 bananas or peaches, raisons, or mango.

  • Add lemon zest or lemon juice.

  • Use 4-6 tablespoon cocoa (the real one not the Nesquick fake chocolate powder.)

  • Cut the cake in layers and add marmalade or whipped cream.

Cake with lemon
Chocolate cake

I am a lazy cook which means I use baking powder in my mold. Instead, you can use butter and rub it all over the inside of your mold. Next, you put flour on it. Not too much just that it sticks in a thin layer to the butter. This helps to get the cake out of the mold.

Do not open the oven during the first 15-20 minutes. The cake "catches a cold". The draft will make it fall together.

How do you know your cake is ready?

It depends on the temperature of your oven and no oven is the same.

150Β°C is good for about one hour.

You can put a wooden stick in the middle of the cake and see if nothing sticks to it. If that's the case your cake is ready.

It depends on your personal taste and the (extra) ingredients of how the cake tastes if it's better to consume it cold or warm. You can eat it during your tea or coffee break or if you like have it for breakfast too.

A slice of cake tastes great with fruit, ice cream, marmalade, whipped cream, or just the way it is and it's easier made than bread.

#kittywu #cake #homecooking

42
$ 0.46
$ 0.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @marblely

Comments

Looks so delicious. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It was. We are fast cake eaters. A cake within a day. πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I can only eat cake if there is an occassion. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This looks so yummy. I love cakes. I try it at home. And also saying that your photography is so beautiful. πŸ’ž Thanks for share this recipe with us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just give it a try. Add all ingredients in a bowl. Taste the dough. Perhaps you like a bit more sugar or something else. Salt makes it taste better too. Good luck and share your experiences. πŸ’•πŸ€πŸ‘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will. Thanks for your advice. I try it at home and share my experience with you.πŸ’ž

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's delicious, I love to bake also when I was in manila. Thanks for sharing your homemade recipe 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. It's easy to make. These days my children do it frequently.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its really easy I can bake also cheesecake, big muffins, etc. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I gave up on the muffins. I do not like to go to that trouble. This is better and I can make the slice as big - uh thin - as I like. Better is two in the oven at the some time. It saves had. Cheesecake we love too. πŸ₯³

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh πŸ‘Œ, that's really better I agree with that 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your cake is looking delicious and also good in color. My sister often try to bake cake but not in micro oven, she try on the gas stove. The shape was not good but that was yummy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have no microwave and I doubt it's good for baking cakes. I have a gas stove too. A bad one but I can still bake with it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yep, on gas stove you can bake. And yours one is so nice!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It looks so tastyy! I wanna try baking it too. Considering that this is also very healthy. I would love to know more about your cooking!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your cake looks delicious, maybe I got to try this out. Probably i will need someone to help me out with the ingredients and mixing, then I got to use the oven myself. Hopefully it doesn't get burnt.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Want to try it at home. I hope i have an oven to do this haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The way you said "you can call it vegan instead of 'a cake for the poor' was priceless :D. And I love pastries, so I would really love to know how to bake.

That looks yummy. Well done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Do you own an oven? The rest is simple. Just put all the ingredients in a bowl, stir well, taste it, into the mold and the oven. I know some people use a pan suitable for the oven instead of these baking molds. You can use a pan too.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, hopefully I'll do it without needing a new kitchen

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am sure you can do it if I can with an oven trying to kill me (gas) and a temp rising over 300°C which nearly makes my oven explode 😬

$ 0.00
3 years ago

woww

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's delicious. Reading this article makes me crave for banana cake

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Grab the ingredients. all together in a bowl, stir, into the mold and oven and you have yours in an hour time. In the meantime you can do something else unless you have the same oven like I have and you need to check it every 10 minutes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh, great! Thanks for sharing :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

now with few ingredients a cake is made, and thank God that if, because some products are expensive, you can include the vanilla essence cake, I congratulate you, I wanted to make one.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Exactly. You can make a tasty one with only a few ingredients. If you add some cocoa you can skip nearly every ingredient. I made it without oil, without baking flour, with water instead milk, I partly added oats meal instead of flour etc. You just need to dare and try it out. Good luck.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like cakes but baking them is hard work it's rewarding at the end but its hard work if u get what I mean

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Too hard to bake and ejoy sometimes but cakes always tastes sweeter when shared among loved ones

$ 0.00
3 years ago

True and you can also bake with a loved one

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's one of my Favorites. I personally buy that in Palengke ( Market) here. πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Never tried to make it yourself? Or don't you own an oven? It's really not that hard.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Both 🀣. I dream to bake too but for it will remain in dream πŸ€—πŸ€—. Be safe 😘

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Didn't know you could bake- ahh that cake looks so good ;-; makes me crave a slice right now

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course I can bake. I can make cheese cake, butter cake, birthday pies and much more but I hardly do it these days. It's more fun if someone else eats it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Please give me cake. . . I would gladly attack it;;-;; i craveso much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I could send you one. You think it would arrive in a good condition? What a pitty we don't have the option to send it by computer.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I would love to be sent berry pies :" too bad that's so hard to do from the distance we have

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh!looks yummy is it chocolate banana bread?my hubby favorite...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The photo's show banana bread (photo header), chocolate cake and lemon cake.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow!Delicious...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yum! One of my favorite, when I saw the banana bread lead image, OMG! Drolling reaction.πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Start baking, it is really easy and so yummy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wooaahh, I hope I can bake some of those one day 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What stops you?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Don't have some tools and equipments to use hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's a pity. πŸ˜’

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm starving, oh please continue to feed us with this kind of articles. ❀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am not sure if I have much time for it. Once back home my connection is slow and photos will be a problem but I will try to share more recipes. Starving for hunger might not be helpful if you read about food. πŸ€”

$ 0.00
3 years ago

oh, don't be pressured feel free to post your articles at your most convenient time. I am just right here whenever you have a new update.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yummy πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My favorite..thanks for sharing.looks delicious.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you. πŸ’•

$ 0.00
3 years ago

THANK YOU FOR THE RECIPE!!❀️it looks delicious! im hoping that i can bake it soon😬

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow this is yummmie how I wish I can taste it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The cakes look so moist! I've always wondered what is the difference with using oil compared to butter. Muffin uses oil and I guess oil makes the cake denser or wetter? I would like to give this a try :) The other day, I saw a recipe that uses the same weight and ml for every ingredient - eggs, flour, butter and sugar. I am tempted to give that one a try. Thanks for sharing yours again :) One of these days..... <3

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Keep in mind oil or butter and eggs are what adds the fatty taste to it or call it taste if you like. Egg helps rise too but it is not necessary if you use bakingpowder. If you use too much egg it will taste more like egg like our (the Dutch) eggcakes (big flat cookies the size of a small plate) do. If you use oil the amount used is not as much as with butter. If it would be the same amount you taste oil. I once forgot the oil and even without it is possible to bake a cake but it is dryer.

If you use the same amount it is what they call a pounder cake. That cake will be heavy.

The kind of cake used for baking a pie (birthday cake) is mainly eggs (5) and hardly flour (about 100 grams). Let me know what you made.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The bread with jam and the one with cocoa look great.

$ 0.00
3 years ago