The Place You Don't Wanna Be At

51 75
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

What comes to your mind when you hear the word "hospital"? It doesn't sound like a happy place to me. I can only think of sickness and death. On the positive side "recovered" and "to be discharged" sounds very nice.

My mother-in-law is in the hospital again. I remember the last time that we took her is when she contracted Shingles and Ramsay Hunt Syndrome which I shared here in read.cash with you. Now this time, she got a bad chest infection. She's 89 and even a simple cold is tough for her age.

We called for an ambulance on Thursday night because Mum can hardly breathe. She's crying and it making her condition worst. When the ambulance came and did some assessment, they gave her salbutamol to open up her lungs so she can breathe. They gave her fluids through her veins as she had not eaten or drunk properly for two days. She's dehydrated. She didn't sleep either. That's why even though she don't like us calling the ambulance we didn't hesitate.

They took her to the hospital but it takes almost 24 hours to get her into the ward as most of the beds are occupied since the pandemic until now. My brother and sister-in-law were with her as my husband has worked and I cannot leave the kids.

Today we visited Mum in the hospital. This time we didn't get lost thanks to my bro-in-law who told us the best way to get into Mum's ward. Her breathing has improved but is still far from normal. She is is still being herself, look at her smile!

It is nice to see her. She's complaining about how bored she was. As you can see, she got a coke. I wonder what the doctor thinks of that. She doesn't drink water no matter what good words we put on it. She loves milk. I brought her orange juice as well as she's complaining that the hospital gave her blackcurrant just which she doesn't drink.

The thing about the hospital now is there are no more chairs for the visitors. I'm taking that's because they don't want anyone to stay up too long. I told my husband that we're going to bring our chair next time lol.

She asks about the kids and how we are all getting on. She wants to know when is she going home. We told her, that as soon as the doctor says so. She missed the kids and told me to show her hands to them. She said they should come and rescue her. She wants to go home she said.

We go home and we will see her again the next day. But before that, she told me one more thing to say to the kids and so I recorded it.

She knows that they are good at messing up the house.

I laugh at "Carry on if you like!" 🤣🤣🤣

Just tonight around 7 pm I received a call from the hospital. My Mum wants to talk to my husband but he's at work, it's the nurse. I talked to Mum, she sounds so sad and asked if anyone coming to see her today. I told Mum, we'd been there this afternoon and that her other son will be there tomorrow and bring her papers for her to read. That's dementia starting. We already noticed it before but it looks like it's progressing now.

Mum forgot that we've been there. As I'm writing this, I can't help but cry. In old age, I hope she will not forget much. But I know for a fact that this is just the start and my sister-in-law has already given me advice and support as she knows I'm doing my best to look after Mum. They will forget and will get grumpy in a snap but I love Mum so I will do my best.

Get well soon Mummy! We missed you in our home sweet home. I hope that you will be discharged soon and that your good health is restored the soonest.

And to YOU who's reading this please look after yourself! BECAUSE HOSPITAL IS NOT A PLACE YOU WANT TO BE AT.

Thank you for reading. Thank you in advance for your prayers and well wishes.

28
$ 4.42
$ 3.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
+ 16
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago

Comments

ohh dear, I was both sad while reading and glad to see your mother-in-law healthy. You are very good. I love you

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Speed recovery to granny. Old people need to treated with care and comfort because they have become like babies.

I also don't like visiting the hospital and I guess almost everyone doesn't. I hope I don't fall seriously ill or have any terminal disease that would make me stay in the hospital

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay I've never heard of shingles or ramsay hunt syndrome before, so it sounds so weird to me. Have to say its tough being old, the body system while being old can't fight off alot of things it could when one is young, it gets really difficult. Its nice that she's getting better, at least its comforting.

This is my first time here on your page, so its nice to meet you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mummy is still adorable despite her age....we'll keep praying for her fast recover momma so that she can go home and unite with the kids...for sure they both miss her already

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yes! Tia is crying too coz she missed Lola so much.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang close nila sa lola nila. Kaya as much as early days, showered them with the love they deserve, we never know kailan ang alis nila. Moms are God's presence too.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

She's so spirited and full of life. I can only imagine her getting used to the kids and being alone in the hospital, she would definitely be bored. Good to see her sense of humour back..I wish mama good health and strength. I pray she goes home to playing with Tia and Jigs again. Well done momma... God bless your heart. Was that your laughter I caught on that video? Hahaha so charming.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, dear. Mum still has her humour even in the hospital. But she complains a lot now even with other patients that can't mind their own business 🤣 Oh she's serious as she's nice but she also doesn't like to be told what to do. Thank you for your prayers and lol Mum will surely make you laugh as well. I'm the loud one. 😅

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Hahahaha I love your loud laughter there. Quite catchy. Hahaha most old people can be like that hahaha. I pray all goes well and she's released soon. It would lift her spirit even more.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Looking lively at 89! Pretty pa. May she get well soon.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, bhe!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

namiss ko tuloy Nanay ko,mga 92 siya nagsimulang nagiging makakalimutin

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Tumagal din pala age ng mama mo sis Alice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Not my mama sis. Moms mom

$ 0.00
1 year ago

From nagsimula ba, lumala? As in maraming nakalimutan?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I guess this is one of the reason why you are missing here. Everybody was looking for you even in noise.cash. We can see how closed you are to your mom-in-law and that's divine. May she live long and well and healthy. The kids make her enjoy her existence too. Sending healing...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Old age does come with a lot of baggages and I feel dementia is the worst of it. Nothing hurts more than seeing your loved one forget who you are and starts forgetting other things as well. I am glad your mother-in-law is beginning to get back herself, she does look happy in that picture

PS; that's the biggest can of coke I have seen in my life 😆

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you Kushy and lol she loves her Coke more than water. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😂😂😂😂 I like your mother in-law, she seems funny. Also, she sounds European. I wish her speedy recovery and hopes she gets well soon so she can be with the kids.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, Aimure. She's British and lol she got a good sense of humour.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your mum is so pretty and I love her voice. I Pray she gets well soon.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, my dear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hmmmm I wish her quick recovery because hospital is not a funny place to be And I hope she didn't forget the good side you guys shared

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Amen, Esthery, Amen!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I pray for her speedy recovery and pray she got discharged as soon as possible cos I can understand how much she must have missed the kids. You are really trying for mom and I pray you will eat the fruit of your labour and also be taken care of by your kids at old age too. She is so cute and funny in the video, I love the sound warning to the kids 🤣🤣🤣😍.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Hahaha, she knows well that they can mess the whole house in a hurry. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats good she is better now. I wish her quick recovery soon. But I Don't think coke would be good for her during illness.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I know dear but she insists she wants her coke so the son brought her it. Thank you, Farah.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ate ang Ramsay Hunt Syndrome ba yung nag kakaroon ng facial distortion yung prang natabingi? Mukhang ang happy ni mader sa picture. Kering keri pa.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Yes, same as kay Justin Bieber ngayon per kay nanay ay mild lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yon pala yong sakit na yan. We cast it away! Kagaya ng kay Justin, medyo malala yong sa kanya ano?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Everything will be alright ma'am. God is always with her. Ako ma'am may trauma ako if hospital na pag uusapan. Lagi kasi ako na coconfine dahil masakitin ako.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Naku, Ramona kaya lagi can't magextra ingat at palakasin mo immune mo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ansakit isipin na sa pagtanda ng nga magukang natin kalakip rin nila yung memoryang makakalimutan ka nila. Si dad 80 na, natatakot ako harapin yubg katotohanan lalo na kapag nakakausap ko sila

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Ang hirap noh? Tapos yung dapat magaadjust kasi kilala natin sila. Love natin sila. Kahit bigla bigla na lang magagalit dapat handa tayo mentally and emotionally. Tough.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sis ang ganda na ng ngiti ni mum. Sana magtuloy tuloy na sis ang paggaling niya. In Jesus name

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Amen, sis!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

as much as possible, i want to be stay away from hospital because that is not a good place to go. full of sadness, grief and self-pity. i hope your mom-in-law will be okay.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, Den. I'm with you on the description.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aww I get emotional while reading this. I hope mummy will be able to go home soon 😊

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, dear. Amen to that!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Old age is scary for me but the hospital is even a scarier place what can one do though? Our prayers are with you and your family hope mum gets better and pull through.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, Jumper. Hospital is a place we all hope we can go home with a smile on our faces rather than tears in our eyes and a broken heart.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Your lucky to have her sissy but they are more lucky to have you, mabait at maalaga ka kasi

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Binabalik ko lang din and kabutihan nila saken, di pa rin sapat. Sobrang mapagmahal samen ni Nanay kahit kailan di kami itinuring na iba kaht ibang lahi.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Old age is what everyone pray for but I don't see anything special about it than the pain and agony it brings on the children and the old one itself

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Something I'm pondering on as well. We all wish we are forever healthy but not a fact that we can't count on.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Seeing our loved once in the hospital is not bringing happiness in any way. I pray for quick recovery of your mother-in-law

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, Offset.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hospital is also a place I don't want to be. Get well to your mom po. Praying for her fast recovery.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Thank you, Jen! ❤

$ 0.00
1 year ago