Cooking for a Mixed-Race Family

66 99
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

One of the most challenging part of being a stay at home Mom is thinking about what food to cook every single day. Well, I don't think just the stay at home Mom but for those who are in charge of cooking. Sometimes even your living solo you have to cook for yourself but ending up with pot noodles when you're being lazy.

And having an Asian/British family I usually cook two sets of the meal for all of us. That's if my husband refuses to eat rice. And although he loves rice, he only eats a certain dish with it like with the chicken pastel that I cook the last time or the chicken adobo.

Our table is always in a battle, potato vs rice. Mashed potato, champ, chips, fried potato he loves it while rice is life for me.

I can't just give up our Filipino food because it's just so good and I can't possibly be full without rice. While I can eat mashed potato and the rest, I still cook our food.

My husband since he gets used to Asian food I have no problem but still some food he will not eat that I love and we're totally fine with it. He always telling me I can eat or cook whatever I want even he can't bear the smell of garlic most of the time.

He will never eat seafood or carbonara. Well, sad about that. He'll never know what he's missing.

The kids can eat anything and they love seafood just like Mommy. And sometimes we have a little bit of everything in our plate.

ASIAN VS WHITE

Breakfast

We Filipinos, love heavy breakfast. Fried rice, egg and bacon or spam. Or

  • fried rice + dried fish

  • fried rice + corned beef

  • fried rice + hotdog

  • fried rice + tocino

Anything along with rice and egg!

British likes cereals and porridge or toast in the morning.

Snack

We Filipinos love spaghetti or noodles. I love to cook this for the kids. They love spaghetti meatballs.

This is it Pancit! Filipino Noodles. If you want to live longer eat this. (Old people always says)

British Loves Tomato Cheese Toast, French Toast or Pizza

I just made this tomato cheese today for our snack!

Dinner

Anything with rice!

British loves potatoes! Any way you cook it, they'll eat it.

Dessert

They love ice cream and jelly, custard or rice pudding. But I love my leche flan or crème brûlée. It's creamy and delicious.

It's very easy to make with just 4 ingredients: evaporated milk, condensed milk, egg and vanilla extract.

Yummy Leche!

But sometimes we also love takeaways. Chinese or Indian and I'm so happy that a new Filipino restaurant just opened near us and the first thing I ordered is this Seafood Palabok!

I never cook before. But then I have to learn and so I started watching YouTube and search for recipes and try to make a dish that is perfect for our mixed palates.

I have to keep my family happy by serving the food that they'll surely eat.

I love cooking now and will always be happy to cook for my family. Just when you don't know what to cook and you ask, "what do you want to eat"? And they answer anything, up to you.

Then me, Ok you're having rice! And here he comes with " I'm having chips!"

What a house!

Anyone who can relate to this? Please comment below.

P.S All photos are mine. I made it.

35
$ 1.49
$ 1.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Rutkowski
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 2
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
3 years ago

Comments

I imagine the hassleness by cooking and preparing two dishes at a time. I mean one dish is enougj especially if youre not that well off. But I too can't live without rice, wven sometime if we eat bread, i will still eat rice because bread can't really make me full haha.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

That's true! Rice is life. Are you busy this week?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yesss, Unli rice is better 😍. Uhm yes, been busy with something.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The question of what we will have for lunch is an eternal question that bothers all women, whether they trade or not. What you eat in the Philippines seems very tasty to me. We also occasionally prepare rice in several ways, but it seems to me that I don't know how to prepare it this well. As for our story about baklava, I haven't forgotten, but I'm waiting to "make" my husband make it in order to paint his way of making it.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Every day, that question of what are we having to eat is a cycle in my house 😆 I'm tired of it sometimes.

I only cook boiled rice that's it. Yes, the baklava! Give me a shout when you have it posted so I can see :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pizza looking really good, but the for me here is the dish with beans and potatoes, I'm pretty sure this is very tasty. In my country we have a similiar dish with beans like on that photo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Beans not for me. Didn't grow up eating it so it's very hard to like it. But glad you have similar dish! :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is admirable that you make 2 types of food for each meal, worth the redundancy lol, at home we all eat what is made and who does not like to prepare their own food 😅😅... But I understand you, I was without work for a while when I got married in 2002 and I was a full-time housewife, I spent it cleaning and watching recipes on TV or in magazines (I did not have internet in my new house and neither did smartphones exist) to be able to vary my food husband and on weekends we went out to eat or order food at home.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Some days I don't ask them what they want to eat, I just cook. If they eat, good. If not, check the pantry! 😅

I had so many terrible dishes that I myself couldn't eat when I'm starting cooking. I blame the YouTube for it lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

sometimes one comes across those "easy" recipes on youtube and they are a fraud hahahaha😅😂 it is preferable to see what is in the pantry and invent your own dish.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hindi naman ako ang laging nagluluto pero ako ang namamalengke, tapos bago ako lumayas mag tatanungan muna kami kung anong ulam ang bibilhin para lutuin, doon palang mahirap na mag decide, pare pareho nalang kasi nilukuto. Sawa na isda, sawa na sa manok tapos ang pork ang mahal bawal sa mami, baka ma high blood. Tapos sa gulay pahirapan din, minsan nga nayayamot ako kay mami pag natanong ko kung anong bibilhin ee, "Bahala kana " seriously ngali ngaling sagutin na wala namang hong tinda doon na bahala na ang name hahaha. Ang hirap kaya, tapos pag nag decide na if anong gustong bilhin na ulam pag dating naman sa palengke walang ganon na tinda, kaya ang ending kung anong ulam namin nong nakaraang araw ganoon ulit ngayon 🤦, haha. Mahirap talaga naku, buti nga magaling si mami ding gumawa ng ulam, ang tawag nya lagi ss ulam na niluluti nya is pacham, xperiment lang kasi hahaha, pero masarap naman ang result hihi

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Ayan isa pa Ryan pag bibili pahirapan pa ng bibilhin kanya kanya ng gusto. Magaling pang wag magtanong minsan, abay kung ayaw ay wag kakain hahaha..

Akoy pacham din abay nakakadali rin naman! 😂😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love to eat potatoes, great dishes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am delighted with your cooking. So many different meals on the table. It is very interesting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

two different meals! wow, a lot of work. looks like a buffet line or a restaurant...no wonder you're so tired!

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Don't tell me dear. Haha, it's washing the dishes after 😆 Do you cook Crypt?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

i do but my partner does most of it..i deal with dishes 😉

luckily we bought a dishwaher

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, that's great, and yes that's very nice of you to help! ✋

I can't be bothered with the dishwasher, I have no patience to wait lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

After a while you will create the fusion menus... with influences from both culture.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You're right! Haven't tried it yet. Good idea. Thanks to that P!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just feel like being invited to share the dishes with you guys. Lol...

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha you're invited! I hope we can share your food too 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

With pleasure

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There is always a huge challenge to decide everyday what to cook and every country has its own speciality and you portrayed it perfectly

$ 0.01
3 years ago

It's really hard to think about what's the next thing to cook if you're in chare of tge cooking. I was like that too, I'm in charge of the kitchen and what's annoying is when you did your best to cook something and they won't like it 🤦🏻‍♀️

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Huhu, I know that feeling. Especially if I cook a complicated dish that I spend time and effort preparing. The last time my brother complain told him to go make his own food! 😅

And I cook carbonara for the first time years ago like it's not easy but I tried my best only for him to say "I don't like white sauce pasta" I nearly cry lol.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aaaw that's really sad. Whenever I hear my family members complain about the food I cooked, I don't let them eat instead to give them a lesson hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Filipinos love right so much haha. I can't imagine myself just to eat cereal at breakfast. I will easily feel starved haha. And also potatoes as substitute for rice. Parang mhirap hehe. Though pareho lang naman silang Carbo. Buti namamanage nyo na mag kaiba kayo ng gusto when it comes to food no.

$ 0.01
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

It's not easy, cooking every day and we all have our preferences. I just cook but I will always have rice. Di talaga ako mabusog ng walang kanin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's true. It feels that something is missing in the meal

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

You're not just a wonderful writer, you're a professional photographer with exiting cooker. Wow, all food are so delicious. Specially "Leche" just excellent. I never ever try to cook anything, but this give me encourage.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thank you Jess for the complimeng my dear. You should try that leche flan! It's really a good dessert!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, the food in your pictures looks fantastic and very yummy. I believe you're an excellent chef. 👍

I can't believe that your husband doesn't like garlic. 😅🙈

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha, thank you they haven't complain so must taste ok 😅

Oh I love garlic in my dish so sad and very sad that he doesn't like the smell of it 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do understand that he does not like the smell on another person. 😅However, if he ate it, too, he would probably not be bothered by it that much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't understand what's wrong with that smell. It's perfume to my nose 😆 But definitely he's eating it. Cheers! 🤪

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha. 😁👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you busy busy? 🤔😝

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not right now. One of my flatmates had her birthday yesterday and we were up very late. I do not drink any alcohol, but I feel hung over just from having stayed up late drinking ginger water. 😂🙈

How are you doing today?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, I'm laughing with your ginger water. It truly gives you a hangover 😂

Well, the kids are off to school now. Just have to clean up so I'm doing well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I've just read your article about Tia. 😊 Very adorable.

Do you miss your children when they are in school? Or are you glad to have some time for yourself?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm having a party!!! 😂😂😂 But she leaves me all the mess to keep me on my toes. Three hours of peace! You will not know what it feels like. Not yet.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Only three hours? That is a very short time. Are school hours reduced due to the virus? Or is it always such a short time that your children are at school?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha I'm more on I can cook. Fried egg and noodles just lol.. It's especially fun in your kitchen, because you like different types of food.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We really have a different meals comapare to other country. As for me I love To eat whatever in our table, I can even eat human becauae we have no choice.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haruka welcome here in read.cash. I check your account and saw your posts. If that's a story you wrote or for real, we can talk. You can talk to me.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Love it They love ice cream and jelly, custard or rice pudding. But I love my leche flan or crème brûlée. It's creamy and delicious.

It's very easy to make with just 4 ingredients: evaporated milk, condensed milk, egg and vanilla extract.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

delicious dish

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's delicious 😋😋.. I would love to eat it 😍

$ 0.01
3 years ago

You have to cook it firs Neloy. Do you cook?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Usually i don't cook .. All of those stuffs did by my mom.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I never cook before too, at home my brothers and my mother is the cook.. Am more in making desserts every occasion. But when I started to work. I learned how to cook on my own..and here in HK, I learned how to cook Chinese foods. I like cooking, but sometimes it doesn't like me 🤣🤣 the tastes are fine for me but to others 🤣🤣

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Haha I'm more on I can cook. Fried egg and noodles just lol. And my Papa will always telling me, my cooking is "Pacham" Pachamba chamba lang! 🤣🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love experimenting too.. Pachamba dn ang lasa 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

And there's this all our dish almost same adobo, menudo, afritada, caldereta and I keep mixing it all up. One day I cook sinigang and put potato and my papa ask me if it's sinigang or nilaga and I got mad lol

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🤣🤣🤣 sinabi mo sna combo yun..Silaga 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I love to cook a lot, and I really spend a lot of time in the kitchen ... It's especially fun in your kitchen, because you like different types of food.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Marija dear, the only thing I haven't tried is baking. Do you bake? I would love to learn but I'm starting now with cookies and can't even perfect it so I'm bit frustrated.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I bake food, I make bread, and phenomenal cakes where the crust is baked, I make rolls...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmmmm. Feeling hungry after reading this. All of your food is my favorite. Can I have one? 😅

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Send me your address, hopefully my broomstick 🧹 can deliver. 😅 Take a pick @ms.tipper!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahahahaha i hope too. Hays delicious food. Maybe the other time.

$ 0.00
3 years ago