Asian Restaurant in the Heart of Medieval Village

43 84
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago
Topics: Travel

"There is more than meets the eye."

Last month we visited the medieval village of Dunster. It was cloudy at that time and my photo cannot justify the beauty of that street alone. I can tell you that just standing there can take you back in time.

We are enjoying our walk and it gets more exciting as when we are walking down the village my husband saw the Philippines Flag outside one of the shops.

The place is called "Born Appetite" where you can enjoy a traditional tea room and offer delicious Asian meals.

My husband was so delighted that he can only think of "tocino". Funny enough he rushed to get inside and looked forward to having Filipino food. It's as if I don't cook such. But I understand, that we never had any Filipino food for a week at that time so we are craving authentic rice.

Here's the menu:

We didn't have much time to eat at that time and tocino should be prepared overnight at least so we put our order for the next day. I'm very happy to meet my kabayan here. Ate Mia, the Filipina owner said she can make tocino for my husband. She's a lovely woman and very accomodating.

The next day I'm so excited. After a long walk in the castle while my husband is nowhere to be found. We eat at Born Appetite without him. I'm starving and so are the kids.

Ate Mia said she cooked Bulalo for us and tocino then I also ordered Pansit for Tia.

Bulalo

Taste like home! Don't ask me where is the rice for we had two.

Sabaw pa lang, grabe ansarap!

Pansit

And Tia loves her pansit. It only looks like a small serving but we have to share this with the three of us and still have some leftovers.

The pork is so crispy! High blood is waving.

Tocino

Jigz had tocino and rice not just one but two. Sweet pork, my husband's favourite. Only he's not here.

It's so good!!! This is authentic Filipino food. We're lucky to be here.

The ambience looks good too. Imagine having your tea here with your friends.

They also have wide selections of west country gins. They make their own gin aswell!

You can also browse their craft shop. There are plenty to choose from. Many souvenir items.

This is an all-in-one shop. And it's definitely more than meets the eye as it reaches into my belly too! Haha. Oh, I'm a happy Momma. And my husband came after. And had his tocino. Oh, he loves it! But you know that he need to order chips with it lol.

Do you want to see the bill? Charaan!

It's worth it.

Thank you for reading.

28
$ 6.63
$ 6.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 14
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
1 year ago
Topics: Travel

Comments

Masarap tlga sis kapag lutong pinoy. Hahanap hanapin ang lasa

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow!I am happy for you na nakakita kayo ng Shop like this. I can imagine your excitement. Ang sarap tingnan!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nkakamiss b pinoy food madam? Miss na miss ko na

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Madam kahit kumain ka ng pinoy food at wala ka sa Pinas parang hindi pa rin yun yung lasa. Pero eto sarap sarap!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The Ticino looks like rice. You guys really have a nice time. I feel like flying there to enjoy the taste of those mouth watering looking food. Anyway, we are also bless with different varieties of local delicacies here in Nigeria.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kahapon lang ako gusto kumain ng Bulalo ma'am tas ngayon nakakita ako ng pic ng Bulalo. Nagutom tuloy ako ma'am.🀀 Sarap kasi ng Bulalo.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Around 3k pesos din bill niyo madam. Grabe 😬 pero for sure nag enjoy naman kayo sa Pinoy food. Hehe

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Sabi ko sayo grabe mga presyo dito madam maloloka ka kung icoconvert mo lahat at yung ice cream na yun ay napakaliit na cup lang huh ilang subuan lang 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatakam bulalo(灬º‿º灬)β™‘

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Naku grabe sinimot ko yan bhe at napakalinamnam!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That meal was very expensive! I had to compare the price of soft drinks to the one in my country and it's over x10 (regular sprite and coke sells for around £0.3 over here). I'm not surprised that it's very expensive, the environment and the quality of the meal makes it all worth it 😁

PS: I keep scrolling back to look at that pancit, I would love to have a taste of that!

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Oh you should try that Pancit! Do you have any similar dish with that type of noodles?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We do have something similar here but I have gotten tired of the taste πŸ˜† I want something new

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang kyut ng craft shop nila.... And the food you must have missed eating Pinoy food cooked by others .yummm... And why does the village seemed like it spewed out of a story book?

$ 0.05
1 year ago

It's just that out of nowhere and we're looking forward eating rice and you see Filipino food made you feel so lucky.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yess hirap makita ng Filipino food out there

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You definitely seem to have a wonderful time with family enjoying your own country food, a walk, the all in one shop. Kids should have had more fun than elders.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Everyone should have fun 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I really wonder how you guys enjoy meals of a local Chinese restaurant? We have them also here in Nigeria but it's usually a very difficult thing to allow such meals pass through my goiter despite how yummy they appear. All the same, it's nice you has some fun

$ 0.05
1 year ago

This is a Filipino dish. And lol I can understand as my husband say the same most of the time 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pwede ka pala kumain dyan ate kapag namimiss mo yung ibang Filipino foods hehe.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Sa England pa ito bhe pero meron din naman dito mga Filipino resto kaya lang dadayuhin mo talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And sarap ng pansit ate! Hehe ang galing at authentic Filipino food dahil pinoy din ang owner. Nakakatuwa tlgang may fusion na ng pagkapinoy si hubby mo po at kiddos.

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Ay bhe grabe yung pansit!!!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahah sarap nga tingnan taz sa reaction nyo pa haha. Nagcacrave tuloy nako

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Grabe ang sahog ng pansit ate hehe mapapadami talaga kain ko pag ganyan. Tsaka yung tocino fave ko din yun e hehe

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Inulam ko na nga rin sa kanin bhe. 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The bulalo and the Tocino food is coming into my eye, I'm salivating already, Just kidding though. In my country here, we either grind tomatoes πŸ… or slice them into food while cooking. But we don't eat them raw.

Your husband is a responsible man which takes care of his entire home

$ 0.05
1 year ago

I wonder why, but we grow up eating raw tomatoes and we always have it as a side dish. We see some differences now but it's always good no matter how we eat it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Though it make the dish look so unique, due to how fresh that tomatoes πŸ… is

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes sis, super affordable ans I believe you, the look on the picture it means masarap talaga!! Buti na lang may mga Filipino nag tayo NG resto sa Ibat Ibang bansa, naiiwasan ang homesickness kahit pa pano.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

And if I go to an Asian restaurant, I always look for goat or beef meat. Have you ever try it..? Imagine if that payment system was transacted through Bitcoin Cash, it would be great, nah..? πŸ˜€

$ 0.00
1 year ago

ung ibang nasa ibang bansa na piinoy natutuwa rin kapag nakakakita ng pinoy food kasi nakkaamiss daw

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I would definitely want to have tea there with my friends..lol, and food are already mouth watering.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahhhh madam ung pancit at tocino huehue. Me want!!! Grabi kakagutom ay 🀀

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wherever you go, sarap talaga ng pagkaing pinoy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This place looks so cool and peaceful. I love a place like this and I would love to try out these delicacies.

Momma, which one is "Miscellaneous"? Is that the tip or tax?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow Ang sarap Naman Ng foods. Mamiss mo talaga mga pagkaing Pinoy sis and happy ako Kasi nakakain kayo kahit Wala kayo sa pinas.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aweee. Ang sarap ng pancit. I like that your hubby loves Filipino food.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mouth watering foods you had, sounds you enjoyed with your family dear πŸ’–

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Anything with good food dear! 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Napalunok lang ako sa mga meals na inorder mo ateee huhu nakakagutom!

$ 0.05
1 year ago

Naku bhe lalo kung presyong pinoy to ay talagang mapapaunli rice ka!

$ 0.00
1 year ago