A Long Journey from Northern Ireland to England then Scotland Back to Northern Ireland

47 89
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Our car has broken down and we send it to the mechanic shop but we don't hear anything from it yet. It's not easy to have no car around although we still have the van that keeps us going. We look for cars in the market online, view some but didn't find a good one. We're only looking for a used car not brand new.

Most of our cars are from England or Wales. Why? Because it's cheaper and we get a better deal. So upon checking in eBay, my husband finally finds what he is looking for and it is in London. Upon negotiation and paying a deposit we got the car and ready to collect anytime. So we booked our flight for Monday, 24th of May from Belfast to London Heathrow.

The plan is to fly from Belfast to Heathrow then take a taxi to the place where we collect the car which is in Wembley. Then from there, we will have a long drive until we reach Larne in Scotland where we take the ferry back to Belfast.

Monday, 24 May 2021

It was a bright sunny day in Comber. Our flight is at 11:05 am, we arrive at the George Best airport at 10:30 am as we already checked in online.

Unbelievably there are no queues and it's because of the flying restrictions brought to us by the pandemic. I first checked if we need covid-test or the passenger locator form before the flight and glad we don't need to as it is a domestic flight. Mask is a Must.

Everything was smooth from boarding to landing. We had a good flight!

Take the taxi

We arrive at Heathrow Airport and unlike the bright sunny day in Belfast, it was raining pretty bad in London. Upon arrival, we take a taxi to take us to Wembley which is only about 10 minutes or so. I was shocked because we pay £55 for that taxi ride. It's very dear.

Got our Car

Reach the destination, full payment made, got the document for and we got our car, NO. it's a jeep! Why can't we just have a normal car like a family car? If it's not small like the Audi TT it's this big. But no matter what I can't complain about my husband's taste and choices as I'm one of them. Haha

The long drive has started

Ready for the long drive but we headed to get some food in the nearest Food Service up the road. And whoah, it's full! We had KFC as usual and I able to spot Krispy Kreme doughnuts that I haven't tasted for two years now. I brought it back home to my kids to enjoy.

After eating, we head back on the road. From England, we're heading to Blackpool as my husband promised to show me around the place as he been there many times and loves it! It was almost 5 hours of drive from Wembley to Blackpool. Glad we had some chocolates, crisps and drinks and music playing while on the road. We are enjoying the ride.

Touchdown Blackpool

Finally, after hours of sitting in the car, we can stretch our legs as we reached Blackpool! I love watching Strictly Come Dancing and love the Blackpool Episode. I can now see the famous Blackpool Tower.

And oh had pictured with it at the background. What a happy place it's like Disney Land for the kids. Plenty of amusement parks and rides, food stalls and the beach what a lovely place!

Blackpool is famous for:

  • Blackpool Tower

  • Pleasure Beach

  • Blackpool Illuminations

  • Blackpool Zoo

  • Sandcastle Water Park,

  • the Winter Gardens, and

  • the UK's only surviving first-generation tramway.

Because of the pandemic, businesses were hit pretty hard. You can see most of the hotels are closed and it wasn't like it was before. We had our dinner before we leave.

Back to the road again

I enjoyed Blackpool but it's time to say goodbye and head back on the road. Another 5 hours drive from Blackpool to Larne in Scotland. I booked the ferry halfway there. We leave Blackpool before 10 pm. During that time it's mostly big trucks, freight on the road. It's a bit scary when you get near it as it's massive. I was told not to sleep. So I told my husband I will sing then but told me not to. Haha. I still sing and do my karaoke just to keep him awake. lol

Nearly there

Finally, reach the Larne port and boarded on this majestic ship. But seeing the waves and how windy it is, I started getting nervous even I'm trying to calm my nerves as this isn't my first time. There are not many passengers and most of them are truck/freight/cargo drivers which what you expect at 4:00 am. It was a 2 hour sailing in the rough sea. I wasn't able to close my eyes because I can feel the constant rocking and swaying. I play sudoku to kill the time.

Finally

What a journey we had! Finally, we were back in Belfast and just an hour drive home I will be seeing my babies and get them ready for school before I have a good rest. And I did!

Oh! it was tiring but I had a lovely journey with my husband even it means I had a sore bum!

Thank you for reading.

18
$ 7.99
$ 7.06 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.20 from @D.B.Cooper
$ 0.10 from @MoreGainStrategies
+ 13
Sponsors of tired_momma
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tired_momma
2 years ago

Comments

Ate ang ganda ng jeep nila jan ah😂 ano nlang kaya tawag nilansa jeep natin dito sa pinas? Kariton? Hahaha at Yung taxi nila parang ang laki sa loob😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mganda naman sya madam.. Pang adventure 😁 Btw malamig always jan? Nka coat ka eh..sana all malamig 😢

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Naku madam sobra! Lalo na nung gabi, lakas pa ng loob ko magmilkshake nanginig ako ng todo paglabas.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, it really seems like you're in for a ride with your husband. Literally, in that case. 😂

I laughed out loud at this:

"But no matter what I can't complain about my husband's taste and choices as I'm one of them. Haha"

It seems like he likes the extraordinary. But with you, he made a lot better choice than with the cars. 😅

PS: "Pleasure Beach"?! That sounds very NSFW. 😅🙈

PPS: Are you also frightened of giant ships? 🙈

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Hahaha glad we share the same humour about that pleasure beach 🤣🤣🤣 I even ask will it give me a happy ending hahaha. But sad, it's all rides which I'm not into.

Giant ships? I thought were going to sink!!!! It scared me that last one. 🤮

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, that's funny that you also thought that pleasure beach is something naughty. 😅

I haven't been on one of these giant ships (or actually boats) ever, but when I was living in Seattle I once rode my bike to the harbor and came really close to an "abandoned" one and its size really frightened me. (It wasn't really abandoned. It was just sitting there with nobody closeby.)

I can't explain why it frightend me, but it may have been a mixture of being much bigger than I thought, strong winds and somehow nobody near. 🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wahhhh, inggit is me. Enjoy pa rin kayo madam kahit mapagod ee. Yan ung klase ng pagod na for sure dika madadala 🤩

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Truth!!! Basta kasama si mahal hahaha.. Next ka na ruffa!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Juwa mun sana madam 😕, beke nemen ung blue eyes jan 😕

$ 0.00
2 years ago

nakakainggit AHAHAHAHA soon sa korea ako

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Amen to that!!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Natawa ako sa "tastes and choices, as Im one of them" lol! Cool way to speed up understanding and extend more patience 😉 congrats to both of you! Cheers to more travels!

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha. Thank you Lyca bhe. And cheers to you too! ❤❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

wahh the new car looks really nice OwO was it a smooth ride on the car?

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Yes Hanz just too high when you're getting off 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ahh a tall car OnO maybe we're just too small for big cars 😅😅😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Long journey but you enjoyed it nman and you were able to send your kids in time.. congrats with a new jeep.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Thank you. Yes, I enjoyed it and make it on time. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha nothing like a nice road trip to break routine! CONGRATS on your new huge jeep. ;D

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Cheers love!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You really enjoyed your travel, and congratulations ma'am.

I've been meaning to ask, were you able to get the phone back from the car dealer that mistakenly drove off with it. I saw your post about it on Noisecash, but I haven't been able to follow up to know if it was resolved

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Oh thank you for asking. And yes was able to get it in the police station. The man the way he talks was rude but has a good heart to take it to the station for us to cllect. So thankful that we got it back as I will be in big trouble. Cheers love. Appreciate you asking. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad to hear that ma.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome sister.. Finally you have a car 😉 owh not a truck 😜. Just kidding.. Anyway you did not mentioned the total cost in the article i think so that we can have a idea later if near future able to buy a car.. Also you did not mentioned how many days you needed to come back on your town i think haha.. Ehh did not your kid with you? Did not seen them around.. As well tell us the performance Too.. Have a long ride 💖

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Haha thank you Review! Didn't think it will be that big. I just want a car not a jeep, not a truck lol. Not with the kids for they're in school. So it's a date with me and my husband haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ahah i think many days later you both get a free time to travel alone.. Anyway you know here car is more expensive than having a good house with 8 rooms🤦‍♂️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really? I didn't know that. What country? The car is cheap here. The insurance is very dear!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahaha i am from Bangladesh sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice to know! Have loads of Bangladesh friends here :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Do not you know Bangladeshi is spammer 🥱🥱 how they will stay longer here

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No, I mean here in my place. They own indian restaurant

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do not know from where you are sis😒

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Love your new car, rather jeep, heheh.. Parang ford ranger sya dito sis. And I think yan kinuha ni husband mo para kasya kayo lahat if magtravel kasama ang kids. And also, napakahaba ng travel nyo. But I think mukhang nag enjoy ka naman.. I also love long travels, nakakapagod pero worth it yun experience.

$ 1.00
2 years ago

Yey! Yes that's Ford Ranger! Pagod na pagod ako pag uwi kaya lang di rin nakapagpahinga ng mahaba dahil sa gawaing bahay at pagiging nanay pero rested well kagabi. Napakaworth it!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sis! Dream car namin yan kaya alam ko, hehehe.. Anyways happy for you and congrats sa new car nyo! ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salamat sis ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a long trip mam, i know its quite short but as i read your article,you still enjoy the trip,and ang ganda ng jeep nyo mam, ford wiltrak.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Thank you for checking it out! And yes really enjoy it too! ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

According to google, its a 2010 Ford Ranger. Hahhaa. Im not sure. Not fond of cars. It was a good travel. Good thing theres not much restriction there and its easier to travel. Here in PH theres a lot of required documents like med cert, travel authority, so on and so forth.

Thank you for sharing with us this wonderful journey.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

That's right Elli! It's a Ford Ranger, and @damelindz got it first. Restrictions have just been lifted that day luckily. I know it's not easy to travel now in the Philippines and wearing a face shield and facemask, I can't imagine it kasi any init init na saten tapos may face shield pa.

Thank you for your lovely comment! ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aw. Thanks Tired momma!!! Sobra. Hassle yung face shield tlg. Okay lng mag face mask pero yung face shield, abala masyado. Lalo na kapag nakalimutan.. hahaha. Kaloka tlg..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Jeep pala tawag sa Ford Wiltrak madam? Parang minaliit nila ang Ford ah 🙈 pero you surely had time for each other although you almost lost money because of the phone. Haha.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Kaloka talaga yung phone. Grabe kaba ko non dahil sa Binance account, thank God talaga at nakuha namn ulit. Ford Ranger madam, natatawa talaga at jeep ang tawag nila ediba jeep natin iba. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay oo. Ford Ranger pala. Hehe. Kaya nga, classic jip natin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am glad you had lovely journey with your husband dear.When,we travelled during pandemic time,it was the same.Hotels,restaurants,ships,everything is very empty.When,we were in London,it is also raining there.I think,there they do not know other weather,only rain hahah.

$ 0.20
2 years ago

Haha, I agree. I think they have their own clouds in there and the sun wasn't a friend. Blackpool because it's open now after lockdown then the crowd is back to visit but not as crowded as before. It's still early yet though. Thank you for lovely comment made me laugh lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Welcome dear! It is my pleasure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago