Тo be wise, to be smart...

20 47
Avatar for tatatatira
3 years ago
Topics: Education

“Pain encourages a person to think. Thought makes a man wise. Wisdom makes life bearable. ” John Patrick

How many times do you find yourself in a hopeless situation, do you think that you need someone wiser who would know exactly how to solve a given problem with the least damage and consequences ?! Often the ancients would say "the one on the hill sees better than the one under the hill". So you don't have to be hasty. Wait for the dust to settle and the passions calm down, make a plan and solve the problem. 


Smart perception of a situation or problem enables smart action, and the best way to avoid the trap of excessive emotional input and hasty actions is "ileism" - a side view.

How someone will decide to react in an important situation depends primarily on how they perceive it, that is, understand and evaluate it. What we can call "wise action" stems from previous "wise thinking."

The wise differ from the others precisely in the "breadth" and "depth" of the picture they have of a given situation or problem. When we say “breadth” we mean that they perceive a situation or problem taking into account many more elements, a broader context, than others do. When we say "depth", it means that they are trying to see the consequences of their own actions for themselves and others. In addition to the possible short-term consequences, they try to predict those that are more distant in time. It's like when a chess player thinks five moves in advance. This "broader and deeper" view of the situation or problem helps them to better assess which actions would have negative consequences and which would be useful.


The error of overestimated importance

If wisdom is related to "breadth and depth", its opposite is related to the "narrowness" and "shallowness" of thinking, and then of acting. The most common reason why people lose the "breadth" of perception is their unpleasant emotions. As it is known, they appear when a person assesses that something important is happening to him, and the more he assesses that it is more important, the stronger his feelings are. Unpleasant feelings are an internal signal that there is a problem, and that signal requires other mental functions to focus on the task of solving an important problem.

Thus, the nature of unpleasant feelings is such that it directs a person's consciousness to a problem that he has assessed as important. In affect, that is, very strong feelings, the focus of consciousness can be in the form of "narrowing of consciousness" when a person completely mentally writes off other aspects of the situation and the consequences of their actions, so that he does what he will, when he "expands and deepens" understanding , feel sorry.

This leads us to another characteristic of wise people, and that is that based on a good assessment of what is happening and what could happen, they better assess how important what is really happening is. In other words, they do not make the mistake of overestimating the situation, which is why their emotions are more moderate, in accordance with the assessment, so that their mental processes are not disturbed by overly strong emotions. And when they judge that they are too excited, knowing that strong emotions have a bad effect on the assessment, they postpone their decision according to the principle: Morning is smarter than evening.


Relocation to the "third person"

It is known that wisdom is attributed to older people. This is completely correct because living life is a kind of constant learning, gaining knowledge, experience, getting to know yourself and others, realizing how important things really are, etc. While this is probably statistically true, it does not mean that all the elderly are wise and that all the young are the opposite.

The question that arises is whether there is a way to increase the level of wisdom in younger people as well. It has been shown that a fairly simple mental technique can be a significant step in that direction. The point is that when people think about the problems that plague them, they start thinking about themselves in the third person. This means that instead of thinking or saying: This and that happened to me, they say: To Him, this and that happened to her. This technique also has a name, ileism, which originated from the Latin Ille, he or that.


What happens when someone starts thinking about themselves and the events in their life using a third person? For example, during an argument with a partner, the person is in his experience of the situation and is mostly aware of the partner and his actions. When, after an argument, he mentally "moves out of himself" and sees the given argument "from the side" from the so-called meta-perspective, "seeing" him and her arguing, the person becomes much more objective because he sees much more than he can when he sees " from myself ”. In addition, seeing "from the side" allows her to distance herself from her emotions in a given situation. That is why this simple technique helps her to "expand the picture" and to better understand the problem, which will positively affect her further actions.


Research has shown that those who think and talk about their life situations in this way for four weeks really increase their wisdom index. That is why school-age children should be taught ileism.


The photos used in this article are taken from the site www.google.com

Source: Zoran Milivojević, Formule življenja, "Treniranje mudrosti", Beograd 2019.



14
$ 3.89
$ 3.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of tatatatira
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for tatatatira
3 years ago
Topics: Education

Comments

As Hermann Hesse said "Yesterday I was smart. That's why I wanted to change the world. Today I'm wise. That's why I'm changing myself." Good article, thank you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As Hermann Hesse said "Yesterday I was smart. That's why I wanted to change the world. Today I'm wise. That's why I'm changing myself." Good article, thank you.

I'm glad you liked my work. Thanks :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wisdom is acquired over the years, so it was always worth listening to people older than themselves, they say they are not smarter than us, they are just wiser :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That they have more experience so they are wiser.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We can't always be smart and wise, it all depends on the situation, at least that's how it is with me ... but the older I get, the wiser I become

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course. Wisdom is gained through experience. Although it is wise to seek advice from someone you trust sometimes and a solution to half the problem;)

Of course. Wisdom is gained through experience. Although it is wise to seek advice from someone you trust sometimes and a solution to half the problem;)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You definitely need to wait a bit, cool your head and never react emotionally, because then the person has a narrowed consciousness and does something that makes him regret it. These techniques are good.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What our ancestors say "morning is smarter than evening"

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I solve my own problems. The only counselor is my sister.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It all comes with maturity of course with a lot of experience behind it. That is the point of adults to solve their own problems.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As the saying goes: What doesn't kill you, makes you stronger.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

he doesn't kill once, twice, but the third one kills you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Many people said to me that I am smart but if I am wise enough? I dont think so because if un unsolvable problem arises I ask others if they advice me to solve it easily.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Many people said to me that I am smart but if I am wise enough? I dont think so because if un unsolvable problem arises I ask others if they advice me to solve it easily.

Welcome Purebeauty , only a stupid man relies only on his own strength. The wise learn from someone else's experience, less damage ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Be strong enough to be alone, wise enough to recognize when you need help, and brave enough to ask for it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Be strong enough to be alone, wise enough to recognize when you need help, and brave enough to ask for it.

It's real happiness when you have support in life and you don't damage some situations, it's easy to swallow such things in a group, but 90% of situations I solved on my own and it shot at me that I didn't know how I stayed alive.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also had a very difficult childhood, but as a person goes through some difficult moments, he becomes wiser and stronger.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I also had a very difficult childhood, but as a person goes through some difficult moments, he becomes wiser and stronger.

Of course, he is stronger, although I would call that condition rather adapted, because I will never be able to get used to the bad and I am never strong. The only thing I have is the desire to know when something bad will happen to me so that I can mentally prepare for that moment, but then it would not be life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

In some situations, we cannot make the right decisions, because we may be in some emotional imbalance ... But then, if there is a possibility for that, we will wait for things to settle down. As for ileism, I didn't try to see things that way, and that seems very interesting to me! I'm going to have to apply this kind of problem-solving ...

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didn't try to see things that way, and that seems very interesting to me! I'm going to have to apply this kind of problem-solving ...

Apart from my childhood, although I was a big problem for my parents at that time due to my poor health, my whole life was full of difficult and tragic situations. On one occasion, while chatting with friends, I realized that from so many difficult moments, I no longer know how to behave in beautiful events. My brain is so programmed to stress and multitasking that it will take me a long time to relax.

$ 0.00
3 years ago